Ratings based on 4,343 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Great rates for central location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Finish on lower rate rooms.
Location: 1 minute walk from Gloucester Road Station, 5/10 from South Kensington station. Central location for many London attractions.
With a great rate that is highly competitive against other hotels in the area, this is a great find. Although the room I was in (219) had clearly been missed from renovation works, it was perfectly comfortable. Issues of chipped tiles in the bathroom, shoddy plasterwork and a shower that was far too low for the average man, this was all outweighed by the proximity to Gloucester Road station and the room rates. I had an issue with my heating (not working) on night one, which was duly fixed by maintenance when raised with reception for my second night. All in all, a pleasant stay and a very good sleep in a comfortable, clean bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Short but comfortable stay.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
A short stay of which the front desk staff helped alleviate a challenge to my stay in London. It was appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Staff unable to help but were polite. Engineer very nice, polite.
Cons: Rooms are in need of a makeover. Lots of faulty equipment (I was in room 650).
Storm Doris meant I had to stay an extra night in London (trains cancelled). Booked through Expedia. When in room found the TV didn't work. Engineer did his best to resolve fault but unable to (really nice guy). Complained to staff and was told all rooms were booked and no compensation possible because I had booked through Expedia and not directly with them. Later on that night noisy in-room air conditioning unit kept switching on and off randomly (off button not working). In the morning the shower temperature couldn't be adjusted...scalding hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Cons: heat in the bedroom to be quite oppressive. It's subjective, but just too warm! The widows are not double-glazed so it can be noisy from the road
Location: The hotel is less than a minute's walk from Gloucester Road Tube so you're connected to all of London. Location is really excellent.
This is a great hotel, very convenient (one stop from Museums at Kensignton etc). The room for comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Good location close to Gloucester tube station

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: better duvets
Location: It is within easy distance to the whole tourist attractions
I chose the hotel because I stayed there on two previous occasions and had a good experience. This time the room was not very good ( dated/old/lots of dust) ( room 325) The bathroom however was clean. TV did not work . Duvet was very thin so felt cold during the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle,UK

Great hotel - close to central London.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location is good, hotel was clean.
Cons: The bathroom could do with an update / the shower could be replaced with a much better one!
Location: Hotel is just off Gloucester Road down from South Kensington. You can walk to the Natural History Museum and V&A. There is a 24 hour supermarket.
Stayed here for 2 nights - the location is good just off Gloucester Road tube station served by Circle and Piccadilly line - you can be in London in 10-20 minutes. Upon arriving at the hotel, the service was fast and the staff were friendly and welcoming. My room was a standard double and it was just what I needed. Rates were not stupidly expensive despite booking just a week before travel. The room was very clean and quite comfortable. I had no problems or issues during my stay - everything was smooth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: Consider freshening up the common rooms, halls, etc.
Location: Sits right on the Glouster Road tube station and an easy walk to many pubs and shops. When I'm in London I always try to stay in Kensington.
The staff is exceptional; extremely attentive and very accommodating. The hotel is well cared for but could use a refresh. There is a fine line between charming and threadbare. My room was clean but extremely small...bordering on claustrophobic, but comfortable nonetheless. One thing that was missing was a clock. I never realized how not having a clock became an issue. All in all my stay was wonderful and I would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The staff, Bugis Street, attention from Housekeeping and Concierge.
Cons: Building in serious need of refreshing.
Location: Great location.
Hotel is a bit tired and looking rather worn out, however, great front desk and Concierge staff, and excellent service from Housekeeping made the stay a pleasure. Exceptional attention from David on Concierge, and Carmen in Housekeeping, deserve mention, as well as good food in Bugis Street. I will be back soon !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

good location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Nice lobby. Rooms are a bit shabby even the renovated ones. The carpet was dirty otherwise clean room. Location is great. Wright next to Gloucester Road station and close to museums and Hyde Park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

On the site of a flat I lived in in the 1960s!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location and ease of travel
Cons: The bedrooms need updating and upgrading
Location: Next to Gloucester Road tube, excellent for Knightsbridge, the Museums & Royal Albert Hall.
An enjoyable stay on the site of a former flat in London. The hotel rooms are tired and quite utilitarian compared to the impression of the lobby. All the staff were charming and friendly, especially in the bar.