Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great location, and a warm welcome.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Stayed here for 4 nights with my 71 year old mother, twin room on the first floor as requested due to mum's limited mobility. Lady on reception (possibly the owner) was very welcoming each day and evening, as were any other staff we came across. We came back to a clean room with fresh towels and toiletries each evening and also tea,coffee etc had been topped up. I chose Mina House due to its location 5 minute stroll to Paddington underground (circle line got us all over the city) and a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park with mum in her (mobile throne) wheelchair. As for previous people's reviews nowhere can please everyone, just check out the reviews from hotel across the road or the one right next to Paddington train station !!!! For us it was a clean bed to sleep in, hot water,fresh towels etc all for a great price and a perfect location to explore London for the first time. We will be back next year for another adventure and would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Mina Couldn't Be Meaner

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Steep narrow 3 flights stairs with heavy cases and no help. No guidance. Very small room. Shower overflowed. No TV controller, kettle or hairdryer. Early check out, even when arrived at 11 pm. Stay at Hilton next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Boss, Hotel Management
Sorry that we didn't meet you expectations. Thank you for your response. We will take your thoughts into account and will take action.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Decent place, good location

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Location: location to Paddington Station
We stayed here because of it's proximity to Paddington Station and it was VERY convenient for that. It was a modest facility with good staff. The room was adequate in size but the mattress was REALLY lacking. The hallways were pretty tight to maneuvor and there is not lift to the upper floors. If you are staying on the upper floors you better hope you packed light. All in all I would say a 2.8 to 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manly, NSW, Australia

Well positioned hotel, with friendly staff.

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Clean, everything worked, fast and efficient wifi connection. Friendly staff.
Cons: Refrigerator in the room and shelf in the bathroom for toiletries.
Location: Proximity to two tube stations. Plenty of shops at Paddington station. Close to Kensington Gardens. Great way to start to day walking in the park.
I found the room to be small but clean and functional. Great shower although bathroom lacked a cabinet or shelf for toiletries. Wifi was important for me to do business and unlike many other hotels in the UK I found the connection fast. It was easy to log on for the duration of my stay rather than being constantly thrown out as is often the case elsewhere. The bed was comfortable and the room had a small desk and plenty of clothes hanging space. There was no small refrigerator though and given they don't provide breakfast meant that you couldn't store milk if you wanted to buy your own muesli or cereal for a longer stay and eat it in the room. Overall though, the room was functional and clean and reasonably priced for the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Interesting....

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Wi-Fi, good cleaner
Cons: Some basic repairs and a lick of paint. Re-tune televisions so access to standard FREE channels is possible.
Nice location, a hive of activity but single glazed windows meant very little sleep, take ear plugs! The bin men come around 5am and as there are lots of cheap B&B's around being woken up with people wheeling suitcases to the train station is common. The cleaner was great, clean towels everyday, (although the towels were very thin and not even a bucket of fabric softener could save them). The shower door was broken and fell off the runners, to get in and out I had to squeeze through a gap, just in case you are wondering if I am a bit on the large size I'm not, I'm a size 6-8 and rather petite. The bed was comfortable and sheets clean, the room was freezing however, so on the 3rd night I phoned reception and they sent an electric heater up, (reception was next door so to go there I would have had to go out of my building on the street and to the next house). For the location and price it was good, the staff were lovely, I felt safe there and it was quainter than a Travelodge. No ITV or channel 4 on the TV, various stations missing and the weather seemed to decide which ones were viewable so don't expect to get quality viewing; fortunately I only wanted to check the news but managed to do so on my laptop thanks to the free Wi-Fi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price!

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Went there for New Year's Eve! Very welcoming on arrival but didn't like the fact we had to wait 1hr and a half to get into our room due to the swipe cards being a bit dodgy and didn't feel safe with the doors!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The last place on the world

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Please avoid this hotel as is not what you are looking for. There is no Wifi, staff is really bad and the rooms are awfull.
2 out of 5
by Vernsta from London, UK

Shocking

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Pros: Shower
Cons: Everything else
Location: Near Lancaster Gate Tube, good central location.
Room in the basement with mould, broken light fittings and smelt like a wet dog. Bleached out patches of carpet were a bit strange. The beds were clean, but knackered. On the plus side the shower was excellent, but after a terrible nights sleep its a small recompense.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 21, 2013
Pros: Nice bed
Cons: Going to the reception for wifi
Location: Excellent
Fine for a couple of nights. Not recommendable for business, but great if youre on a budget and doing the tourist thing. NO WIFI in rooms, pain in the butt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Coleraine, UK

Good for an overnight stay

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: Excellent rooms
Cons: No breakfast!
Location: Convenient to main stations
Very clean room with all comforts provided - as we arrived toward the end of the evening coming into a reception where the ceiling was down in the corridor was a shock! In the light of the next day it came clear that there were ongoing renevations so not an issue - but otherwise good. I had thought that my booking was for a bed + breakfast and a little taken back to be told this was a room only charge? Otherwise good and convenient and staff most obliging.