Ratings based on 955 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ghana

Average Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Closeness to train and bus stations
Cons: The room facilities, Internet access to the rooms
Location: It is an excellent location very close to bus and train stattions
Room was small and I was put in the Basement room. Stairs were too steep. There was no internet access from the rooom. Had to sit at reception for internet access. Reception was just too small
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The room was far too smaller than photographs on the booking site. The staff members are friendly enough but the ladies' fashions are a bit too casual for hotel staff. That made it a bit difficult to tell who's staff and who's guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than I thought.

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Good value for the price, good location, polite staff. Ok for backpackers and young people who sleep well and need little space.
Cons: Cleaning under and around the bed, I think it wasn't cleaned because the room was so small you could not move the bed around. Too noisy at night.
Location: Location is busy but convenient. Easy walk to Bayswater Station.
I booked this hotel in advance with a New Year discount. Later I looked at the reviews and was horrified to see that some said there were bedbugs and mice. I realised my booking was no cancellable and non-refundable. I then realised the reviews I looked at were a year old and the recent reviews were much better so decided to go anyway and if I saw any bugs book in somewhere else. I even bought a bed bug net to cover myself in bed. When I arrived the girl on reception was polite, I was on first floor so did not have to face lots of stairs as other reviews suggested. The room was very small but for the price I paid I did not expect bigger, the bed had a nice cover and was comfortable; but it was pushed up against the wall and when I peered down the side next to the window there was dirt on the skirting boards and radiator. Didn't look like anyone hoovered under the bed. On the bright side the loo flushed fine, the shower was clean ,worked and had good hot water. There was soap and clean towels and a kettle with coffee and tea. There is no wifi in bedrooms but did not expect that at the price. The TV was flat screen and on wall - it didn't work at first but when I managed to get it working had lots of channels. Seemed such a quiet road but it was very noisy at night, so not good if you have trouble sleeping. The breakfast had good coffee, but not great food, but then this is a very cheap hotel. They gave me my £20 deposit back straightaway when I checked out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournmouth

Good location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Clean, quiet and friendly hotel. Good location, close to tube stations, restaurants and shops. Would stay here again if I return to London.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tatty rooms

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Typical old central london space. Tatty carpet floors Broken showers Minimal toiletries Cleaning staff useless
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A night in Notting Hill

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Very close, presentable, well priced. A decent breakfast.
Cons: I tried to get on the internet and all I could find was a pay service.
Location: Portobello Market, Notting Hill. A cool area.
I was there for a friend's birthday party. The hotel was very close to the venue and well priced. The lady on reception was very pleasant on my arrival. I was given room 408, on the top floor. No lift but good for the legs! A clean room with shower, coffee maker. A very comfortable single bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Value for money!

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Bayswater is nearest tube.
Good location but hard to find. Princes Square is in bits and it's at the end of a road the opposite side of which is Leincester Sq. Small room, single really, with a double bed against the wall. Not much room but OK. Warm and bathroom OK. Didn't fancy breakfast. Very cheap for London and would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
by Priscilla

no lift

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
I like the hotel, very central, always clean and staff very nice..comfy bed and clean sheets..would go to the palace court again for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants.

Handy area

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Basic and dated/shabby, but clean sheets, warm, hot water, staff OK. Good location.