Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hostel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The bathroom
Good price. The facilities are in high quality, especially for the bathroom, it is very clean and comfortable. But it is located quite far from city centre, need to take public transport, since the fee for transport in London is quite expensive, the budget will be higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dearborn, United States of America

Close to tube station

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location (close to tube station) Clean bathrooms Privacy curtains Lockable drawers under beds
Cons: Timered room lights
Location: Swiss Cottage Station
Stayed here for 4 nights in a 12-bed room. Seems like housekeeping is constantly cleaning the bathroom and they are SUPER CLEAN! I love the fact that beds have privacy curtains! There is a lounge, restaurant and bar with decent breakfast for $4.50. You can buy all the basic needs at the front desk (shampoo, body wash, locks for drawers, power outlet adapters). You can exchange your tower for a new one as often as you'd like. It's very close to Swiss Cottage tube station (5 min walk) As far as hostels go it really doesn't get much better than this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Keep listening the walking sound from up floor, can't sleep. Some staffs arent helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but really expensive

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The breakfast is not included and the kitchen is so small that it's hard to really use it. There is too discrepancy between cost and comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for taking time to write your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you failed to enjoy your stay with us. Breakfast is £4.50 for an all you can eat buffet and hot drinks. The cost is mentioned on Expedia website. Our beds are all provided with curtains,bed lights and personal lockers for your belongings. Free ear plugs are available at reception on demand which is open 24/7 . We look forward to seeing you again soon and wish you all the best. Reception and Management Team - Palmers Lodge
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Telford, England

Cheap and you get what you pay for

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The curtains surround beds
Cons: More plugs by bedside
Location: Easy to get to town centre. Plenty supermakets and coffee shops nearby.
Stayed in 28 bed dorm. Decent set up with private 'cabins' wit curtains around single beds. Not enough plugs. Communal lounge a bit dreary. Showers okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hi Eric, Thank you for this good feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Few extensions are displayed a bit everywhere in the room and generally closed to everyone's bed. Our 24/7 reception can also help you finding it and/or go get a new one. Please don't hesitate next to ask. We all hope to see you again next time in London and hope you had a safe trip back home ! Palmers Lodge Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri, USA

Friendly staff and very clean!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Bathrooms are cleaned every few hours. Nice!
Location: Close to a metro station, Nando's, McDonalds, pharmacies...
This was my first time staying at a hostel. I was impressed with the staff! They are friendly and very helpful. Being a hostel, you have to be prepared for some noise in your room from roomies coming and going and snoring, but bring good ear plugs or your ipod and you'll be fine. Oh, and bring an eye mask, people can turn on the lights in the middle of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wish it was closer

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Wish it was closer to London but is a short tube ride away. Rooms are ok mine was on the third floor so the heat got pretty bad with no a/c. Also my rude neighbor kept me awake all night with lights and crinkling bags. Didn't do breakfast but I'm sure it's fine. The mansion is pretty and for the price it was fine
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Hard to find

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The hostel isn't very well marked. This is especially unhelpful because no taxi drivers had ever heard of the place. The food was good, if a little bare bones for the price. The outlets in the common room are very low to the ground. If you're a foreigner and need an outlet adapter, you might not be able to use them. There are no outlets in the dorms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place in good location!

Posted Jun 1, 2016
This is a fantastic hostel, with welcoming friendly and helpful staff and great facilities. Brilliant location too! Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA USA

Friendly, helpful staff; clean, tidy, lodging.

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Cons: There is a small restaurant but hours may vary from what is posted -- it was closed the night I wanted dinner so I went out in the nearby neighborhood
The things you need-- a clean, safe place to stay. Helpful staff, a couple of different spaces to hangout in the evening. Easy access to public trans, nearby restaurants and small stores.