Ratings based on 2,336 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T, UK

Reasonably priced bed for the night

Posted May 26, 2017
If all you want is somewhere to sleeep with fab transport links in central London that doesn't cost the earth, this is perfect. 10 mins walk from Paddington, 2 minutes walk from Bayswater station. No frills or luxuries but tidy rooms and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

A night's stay at Phoenix Hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness, food, close proximity to tube station (Bayswater), comfortable bed.
Cons: Quieter room doors to muffle the sounds of inconsiderate door-closing guests!
Location: Close to tube station & shops. Also, Kensington Park is well worth a visit.
The room I had suited my needs (a simple bed for the night) perfectly. It was compact, clean and comfortable.The continental breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. My only slight gripe was the noise from other doors closing late in the evening along the corridor; more a criticism of other humans' thoughtlessness rather than of any criticism of the hotel itself. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to any visitor to London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted May 21, 2017
Our group stayed for 2 nights and found the location to be great to walk to all the sights of central London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Location location

Posted May 5, 2017
Nice hotel in a great location. Tube and restaurants nearby. For the price The Phoenix is a good choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.Very clean.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness of the room, location.
Cons: Luggage tags/tickets.
Location: Queensway station (9 min) to take a tube on the Central line. Bayswater station - District/Circle. Groceries, stores nearby. Visit Kensington Garden
I had an excellent stay at this hotel even though I could not avail of the continental breakfast due to my work schedule. The single room was perfectly clean with all amenities in working order. I stayed for 5 nights. The staff were pleasant and accommodating and allowed me to leave the luggage on the day of department. The only caveat was that I was not offered a ticket and, in this way, may have accidentally picked up someone else's luggage. I had no issue to report and had an excellent stay at really good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice hotel. Good location close to Hyde Park.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Room and bed a little small. Bathroom very modern and clean but again, quite small. But then so was the bill!
Location: Close to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace and a fairly short walk to Marble Arch and Oxford Street. Real mixture of restaurants and pubs.
Quick and easy check in. Small room but good value. Nice clean facility, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very g position for tube train for london sights

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: everything, except room could have been larger, but still reasonable
Cons: i did not like having to pay expedia all up front, with no cancellation possible
Location: its London!! tube trains within 150 yards
all very good results for hotel what else can I say
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from stourbridge

great location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Excellent location! Hyde Park a short walk away.
The hotel is situated in a very pleasant location, close to shops, restaurants and just a short walk to the underground. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. We shall certainly return to this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Great value for money, and an excellent location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, free wifi, location.
Cons: Better temperature regulation in the room
Location: Brilliant location -- as others have noted, near two tube stops (Bayswater is closest; Queensway just 100m further). Wide variety of restaurants near.
We enjoyed our eight-night stay at the Phoenix! As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are small but it's London... The breakfast had enough variety to please both of our tastes, the shower was good and the room was comfortable and clean. The only drawback was that we were on the second floor, and had the window open to keep the room cool at night, and I could hear noise from the street at all hours. (Btw, odd that the nearest pharmacy was sold out of ear plugs... coincidence??) But overall, the staff were helpful and knowledgeable, and we enjoyed our stay. We would return if we're in town again any time soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A gem for people "in the know"

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I stay at this hotel every time I am in London (a couple of times a year), and never fail to be impressed. The rooms are a little small, but this is usual for the mid-price hotels that have been created in London's Victorian-era town houses. Everything is well maintained, with updated ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast (included) offers a full range of options -- lots of fresh, healthy choices. Staff are always friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little out of the way, but only five minutes walk from Bayswater underground station. It is easy to get from there to any place you want to go in London. The main thoroughfare, which runs just a block-and-a-half away, has numerous small, relatively inexpensive restaurants (many that offer foods of various ethnic traditions). The hotel is popular, with people "in the know," especially (it seems to me) from Europe.