Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Love cation
Location: Pubs, restaurants, Portobello Road markets, coffee shops, Hyde Park, Mayfair, the West End.
The Portobello Road Notting Hill area has a real community feel to it within a much larger city. The hotel is ideally located to enjoy this vibe and has a great combination of pub and hotel amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

OK stay

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Handy for tube
Cons: Double glazing and wall heater in bathroom
Location: 5 min walk from Ladbroke Grove tube. We had our morning run along the canal which was nice instead of busy roads as is the case in london.
Handy for the tube - 5 min walk from Ladbroke Grove. Pleasant staff and check-in was quick and informative. Room was lovely and clean and the bedding and towels were lovely too. The decor was pleasant and looked quite freshly done. Breakfast was continental and adequate. Bathroom had walk-in shower no bath, but did have a heated towel rail. Coffee making machine in room and kettle available on request. No radiators but wall heater in bedroom only. The hotel is located above a bistro/bar and the was quite a lot of noise from downstairs with the music playing until about 11.30 on the friday night. It is also on a busy main road and the windows are not double glazed. On the friday night there was a large group of people on the pavement below our room - not sure if they were smokers or a group of kids. So not a great stay if you are wanting to get off to sleep before 11.30 - take your earplugs. I wouldn't stay again as it was noisy due to lack of double glazing and its location, also I can imagine the bathroom is cold in the winter with no radiator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lnndon

Pleasant hotel with lovely staff

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The simple touches, especially the Nespresso machine in the room and the warm, cosy bed. The tapas for lunch in the bar downstairs were lovely!
Cons: The hot water in the shower didn't heat up to my desired temperature - but I like it quite hot
Location: Right near Notting Hill and Portobello and close to a bus stop. I was able to also easily walk to Westfield Shopping Centre in Shepherds Bush
I stayed for one night and it was a lovely respite from the city without being too far away from the action or public transport. The staff were welcoming and friendly. I arrived early and they were very hospitable while I waited for my room to be ready. The room was tastefull decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable and luxurious. I would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, wonderful food, lovely room.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Super choice for central London. I stay here whenever I have spare time...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

A bit underwhelming

Posted Jul 23, 2016
An Ok B&B but not the boutique hotel its prices suggest. Small rooms, the most uncomfortable lumpy bed I've stayed in in recent times, scalding/freezing mixer shower and a hard boiled egg/toast/croissant for breakfast. Clean and adequate but not worth the price compared to other similar hotels in London.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach, CA

Interesting neighborhood, but not 4 star.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Good restaurants. Portobello Road Market on Saturdays.
The good was the neighborhood had some good restaurants and you had the sense that you were in an area where people actually lived. London is hectic in the touristy areas and this was much more pleasant. It is maybe 3 blocks or so to the Ladbroke Grove Station and maybe 20 to Nottinghill, Holland and another station the name of which I forget. Everyone working there was nice and tried to be helpful. But given the description of a 4 star hotel, improvements need to be made. We had 2 different classes of rooms as we extended our stay 2x. The first was the 2nd least expensive. Of course, London being so expensive it was small but sufficient for the 2 of us. We didn't come to London to hang out in a hotel room. The 2nd time we extended we had to move to a still smaller room. The shower was like a motorhome. Not only small but the shower head was in the wrong place. You had to be basically against the wall. It was only for 3 days and easier to put up with it then move. There was essentially no lobby, someone was at the desk only part of the day but if you called someone was there to help. Never tried late at night so don't know if anyone is available then. Also, the only toiletries were shampoo, conditioner and body wash. No even cap or lotion. It's over a pub, there's no elevator and you have to walk up steps to get to reception and then to rooms. Breakfast was continental but you could get a soft boiled egg. It certainly wasn't a bad experience, we would probably not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All the comforts of home

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean and comfortable.
Cons: I would not change anything.
Location: Portobello Market, a variety of resturants and close to the Tube Station.
The staff was very nice and made sure we were taken care of. The hotel is conveniently located to the Tube Station and a short walk to the Portobello Market. The Bistro located at the hotel was wonderful. The food was good and they offered a great variety. This will be my top pick for any return visits to London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel good location

Posted Feb 8, 2016
One night stay to be well located for West London nightlife. Perfect location. Free parking outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A great combination of amenities and location.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Great location, good rooms, good service, reasonable, but not inexpensive prices. Decent value.
Cons: No serious complaints.
Location: Notting Hill is one of the most upscale parts on London, with excellent shopping, including Portobello Road market & innumerable pubs and restaurants.
The Portobello House was perfectly located for me, close to friends and relatives in a very socially active part of London, just up the road from the Portobello market, shopping on Westbourne Grove and Hyde Park. The bar/bistro on the ground floor of the hotel has good food and drink and is a busy local gathering spot. The rooms have all been recently remodelled and are of ample size, including the bathrooms. The staff were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. it feels more like staying in a house than a hotel. Two flights of stairs and you are out on the street. Ladbroke Grove is a busy street during the day but traffic noise was never a problem. There is a tube station two blocks from the hotel and UBER is never more than a minute away. I was very happy with my hotel choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

London pat and rich

Posted Oct 19, 2015
What a terrific experience! Clean, great service and tasty breakfast besides. Bistro attached was a treat. Added a nice touch to our vacation.