Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Great location for London Excel

Posted Jan 20, 2017
When we first arrived outside this hotel, I was sceptical. You shouldn't judge a book by its cover! The reception staff were incredibly helpful. We stayed for 3 nights to visit the London boat show. The room was cleaned every day, the staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was light and simple, but that's all we wanted, and you could have as much as you wanted. Complimentary fruit, bottles of water and orange juice are available all the time! Next time I go to the Excel I will book this hotel without hesitation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely people, new-ish building, low end comfort.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Staff were helpful.
Cons: Rooms should have everything working, breakfast choice would need widening, although fine & tidy entire place could do with a proper clean.
Location: Perfect for Excel & only 25 mins by DLR / tube to City centre so fine.
Hotel was very small, staff pleasant & helpful when asked. Twin room we had booked was tiny, a single bed had obviously just been put in a double room. Small balcony was fine but had cigarette ends on the floor of it. Room had kettle, hairdryer & TV which worked fine, also had safe & towel rail neither of which worked at all. Tiny bathroom was fine, shower clean but weak - lots of hot water though. Included full breakfast consisted of choice of Bread or toast, sausage, two types of eggs & beans. No bacon, black pudding nor anything else hot was available? Small kitchen could be used by residents which was nice if strange, really think this is more of a decent hostel than a proper hotel but given how cheap it was it was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room slightly stuffy

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Superior room still quite small, Smelt a little odd. But otherwise great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K

One night stop over

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel receptionist(or manager?) really nice and welcomed us upon arrival and gave us free fruit & water. The cooked Breakfast was a great bonus. TV had all channels available, I.e even films. A good shower. basically a basic hotel good for just one night and all the little freebies and channels made it a nice little package for a cheap price. (unlike hotels where everything is an extra charge..) found it super handy that there was some groceries stores close by for emergency toiletries / supplies. It's a you get what you pay for hotel- but the fact that the staff where so nice really meant it was more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Give it a miss!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Free water and juice in the fridge in the kitchen.
Cons: Bed was dire.Noisy room.Smelly bathroom
Bedroom was just big enough for a bed,desk with a minute shower room built into the space..Bed was uncomfortable and would not have fitted 2 -it was just a large single. The room was stiflingly hot- and opening the velux windows wasn't an option as I faced a busy and noisy road.The bathroom smelled appallingly. Breakfast in the morning was such a slow and laborious affair that I had to leave it and I purchased food at my meeting venue.Why not put cereals,bread etc out to allow guests to self-serve instead of having to order every single item from the (polite but inept )waitress?? The shower was hot- about the only redeeming feature of an otherwise dismal stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Clean and in good condition
Cons: nothing to dislike
Location: several food outlets nearby so neavening meal not a problem
Good for overnight my room was just like the picture. I would use again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most value for money

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Cheap rooms
Cons: Better facilities
Location: It's near prince regent station on DLR
Good price for a room that wasn't too far away from central London by train
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit rough outside

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Cons: Breakfast area
Ok here we go outside hotel dirty old mattresses next door front Rooms small 1 night stay would be ok 2 nights ?? 6 tables for breakfast between hotel guests Check bed linen and inside quilts night before curry stains on inside off quilt from previous guest inside off pillows yellow stains and stank off human sweat on ours had to change rooms We stayed in what thay called an Anex not really anex short walk off 5 houses down above a shuttered shop front. Short walk to the hotel along the pavement just inside lobby breakfast room sorry I ment lobby is breakfast room free water banana or apple lobby loo doubled up as shower room no good if you get court short and guest taking shower and it thay are coming out in curlers with breakfast guest munching on there breky . +side friendly manager free parking on street secured parking for 4 cars ,not far from tube into London 02 bla bla
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Excels hidden gem

Posted Sep 30, 2016
The Prince Regent is located 5 mins walk from the excel centre which is a plus straight away!! The cost of the rooms is very reasonable the hotel is clean and I would say a shade over the 3 star rating it's awarded. Hotel: Very presentable and the owners are very proud of what they have achieved with the hotel and so they should be it's a little gem Room: Comftable with a large flat screen tv as standard, very clean and spacious I had 9 hours straight sleep the bed was that comfy Staff: How refreshing to be welcomed the staff were very proud of the hotel and offered free fruit and water well done guys Food: Breakfast is included with your stay and it didn't disappoint that set me up for the day!! Conclusion: If your looking for the perfect place to stay where the rates are reasonable look no further than the prince regent..see you again next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Great hotel, staff were so nice.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Breakfast not to finish so early :)
Great hotel, staff were the most pleasant i have met in any hotel that I've been in, they actually couldn't do enough for you! Room was quite small, but had everything we needed and it was on the ground floor which was perfect for me. My only gripe was that we went out for breakfast on the Sunday morning at around 1/4 past 10 and it was finished, that really is my only gripe as on a Sunday you would think they could possibly give you a little lie in, breakfast finishing that early, bit gutted as we paid for it, but hey ho. Would go back again mind you.