Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location at pinnacle of Richmond Hill

Posted May 28, 2017
Great location - easy walk to an array of ecelectic restaurants, pubs, and tourist attractions (e.g. Kew Gardens, Richmond Tow Path, Ham House). As a preservationist, I also appreciate that the hotel is an adaptive reuse of a terrace of historic townhouses. Our room was very clean. It was also very small with a fold-out combo bathroom-closet that felt a bit claustrophobic. Coming from NYC, we're well-versed in small but this was more along the lines of micro. The monochromatic interior decor in the public and guest rooms, the fashion until recently, felt drab and dark. (It was a lot of gray, incl the fabric wall hangings). We didn't eat in the hotel lounge/restaurant, so I can't comment on that tho it's always convenient to have that amenity on site as a fallback. The front desk staff was generally pleasant & helpful - one woman seemed to be in training. When we first arrived and asked directions, she didn't seem familiar w the area, so we ended up figuring it out ourselves. On the other hand, another staff member went out of his way to send up bottles of complimentary water when we ran out (we'd elected not to have our room made up that day, when it would have been replenished). Basically we were looking for a decent, mid-priced hotel that was centrally located to use as a 'base camp' and that is what we got. There are other boutique hotels nearby e.g. The Petersham, that are more in the way of destination stays but the higher price points reflect that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

Historic hotel strolling distance of Richmond Park

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The approach of the staff and the cleanliness of the whole place.
Cons: Keep it the same for the next 25 years
Location: Fantastic access to Richmond Park, Isabella Plantation & miles of walks. Riverside walks across to Ham House or to Richmond where the Riverside great
We spent the night of our wedding at this hotel 25 years ago and went back for our anniversary. The views of the Thames are stunning from the top of the ridge of Richmond Hill and we took the opportunity to visit Pembroke Lodge, in Richmond Park for the views (over Ham, Twickenham and Teddington) and afternoon tea. The service in the hotel was excellent and the rooms entirely satisfactory. Dinner and Breakfast where excellent in extremely pleasant surroundings but a joy......the chef knows how to cook black pudding correctly and produce creamy poached eggs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Needed a map to find your room! Hallways and doors plus stairs made it difficult to locate. Mattress not very comfortable. Bit expensive but location is excellent. Quiet except one night when bar was busy! Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Lovely stay at the hotel. On my itinerary it said I would have a king bed, however we were given a double. Overall a good hotel and comfortable stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spalding

Hotel on the hill.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Good location near the park. Staff all polite. Rooms quite old bathrooms could do with some updating and all the floorboards squeaked, we could hear the neighbours every movement! Good overall hotel but if we went to the area again we'd probably try another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sleeps with the fishes

Fantastic Stay a stone's throw from Richmond Park

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Gym, pool and sauna facilities; rooms; lovely comfortable bed; exceptional service from staff; close proximity from largest park in Greater London.
Cons: The twat next door was very drunk and very loud. I took care of him. He won't be a problem to anyone in future.
Location: Big park. Richmond; pubs on the river; tube into London. Can't go wrong.
Great facilities; a lovely hotel and great service. The only negative aspect of this booking was Expedia customer service!!! I should have booked via the hotel directly and will do so in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal hotel close to Richmond Park.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Quality and food
Cons: Prices in bar seemed a bit excessive
Location: The hotel is located very close to Richmond Park and richmond town centre.
The rooms were of very good standard and the breakfast was excellent. It was good value for money.
3 out of 5
by Matthijs

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Location is great, but hotel is very dated. We stayed at a basement suite which had great space but was quite dark and old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel easy walk to Richmond

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Comfortable,lovely location good value for money
Cons: Breakfast very good but could be better organised for ease of access when room busy
Location: Perfect location for exploring the location,shops river walks underground 15mins walk away to central London
Weekend stay visiting family in London. Wellcoming hotel,friendly staff. Comfortable bar seating area looks recently decorated Room small but we'll decorated and comfortable near stairs in old part of hotel so some noise as people go up/down Very clean Breakfast good, food topped up regularly well presented
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
ideal for that Twickenham weekend. good walks around Richmond. Fine dining in hotel. Excellent weekend.