Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
I have stayed here several times. Quality now at highest. Hix restaurant is excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Shopping, afternoon tea, Piccadilly
The afternoon high tea was good and the cocktails at the Donovan bar was great as they have a wide selection of choices. The rooms were clean and in good condition; the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is rather old and has wooden floorboards which creak beneath your feet - to some this might offer a rustic feel to the establishment. Overall, a comfortable stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Everything - long standing, stylish hotel with top class appeal - right down to remembering our names - even at the front door!
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Fab location; everything within walking distance, especially first rate restaurants, along with nice local pubs as well as high end supermarkets.
Great location, service and facilities - not much else you could ask for in Central London / Mayfair. A return visit for us and well worth it - we will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in London

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Great staff, perfect location Room had hardwood floors
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala City

Greatest Hotel in London

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is perfect for great shopping and nice dining.
After having spent a few days in Paris we went back to Brown's for one night before coming home. The room we had booked was not available,and without any fuzz we were up-grated to the nicest suite we have ever stayed in. The staff welcomed us back, and treated us as VIPs. We will go back to Brown's every time we are in London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Stuart Johnson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. From the service to your suite surprise, I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed a return visit to Brown's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Localed in the míddle of Mayfair, what eles can I stay.
After a long flight from Guatemala we arrived at Brown´s around 1:30 pm expecting a long wait for the 3 pm check in time. Not at all, our luggage dissapeared, check in was very fast and in 10 minutes we were in our wonderful room. The staff is so well trained and willing to help that you don´t even have to ask for their service. You never have to wait for a cab, and the concierge even got me a sim card for my phone and installed it for me. The highlight of our stay was having tea in the late afternoon, perfect for an evening when you are not going out for dinner, the sandwiches and petit fours are delicious and never stop coming. Better than the Ritz.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Stuart Johnson, Hotel Management
How wonderful to hear that we were able to provide some much needed respite after your long journey. Many thanks for taking the time to mention our dedicated team, I look forward to sharing your thoughts with them and hope to welcome you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Awesome birthday

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The staff was magnificent
Cons: Furniture in the rooms
Location: Centrally located in Mayfair
I went for a milestone birthday. The staff was tremendous. They did everything possible and then some. Had afternoon tea twice while staying there. It is an experience everyone should do at least once in a lifetime. In the tea room the pianist played Happy Birthday for me. Yet my greatest surprise was getting back to the room and and a chocolate mousse cake with ganache icing and the words Happy Birthday inscribed was waiting for me. Awesome hotel and my goal is to go niw to their sister residence in Florence right by the Duomo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel in a beautiful neighborhood

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Location and comfort of the rooms. The hotel staff was helpful but appropriately reserved. You hardly knew they were there until you needed them.
Cons: Coffee machines are provided only upon request. A small card in the mini bar indicates this. Better to make this clearer for guests at checkin
Location: see above
Browns has been recently renovated and Rocco Forte has done a beautiful job of updating while maintaining the classic charm of this old hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms are well appointed. We had 2 rooms: one Classic and one Deluxe. The Deluxe room has a seating area, walk in closet and very large bathroom. The Classic is a comfortable size for a couple. This is a busy hotel at times, though the lobby area is small. It is known for its afternoon tea. I highly recommend making a reservation for this in advance as even on week days it is difficult to get a table in the late afternoon for tea. There is a gym in the hotel. It is small but has all the basic machines and weights. The hotel web site has a video cam view of the lobby and gym if you want more details. The location of the hotel is in Mayfair. It is within walking distance of Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Soho, Piccadilly - a lot of the tourist sites around Buckingham Palace and Westminster as well as the high end shopping district. Because it is a "high rent" district you will find that dining out in the neighborhood is more expensive than elsewhere. But there are plenty of choices from gastro pubs to Italian and Indian restaurants. On the weekend the neighborhood is very quiet and nice. It is much busier here during the work week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Overall, pretty good...

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Convenient. Good staff.
Cons: Better experience at HIX. Better food for afternoon tea.
Loud on back side by Dover street. Party street with many cars and trucks well into the night. Somewhat dated in hallways. Nice size for European rooms. Nicely appointed rooms but not 5 star quality. Poor experience at HIX restaurant. Afternoon tea is better at Claridges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Expensive but very convenient

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Staff and luxurious towels and bedding
Cons: It needs updating
It's an expensive hotel but the staff was very helpful and friendly. It is also conveniently located, near great restaurants, and shopping.