Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virgil. Ont.

Convenient to the airport!

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Economical and basic.The extra cost meals were very good.lots to eat.
Cons: Nothing really , it is an old hotel and it shows , but for the very low price , is a bargain !
Location: Next to Gatwick airport , which dominates the area.
I needed a basic accommodation near to the Airport and this was economical and had free parking , which is expensive at many hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for the airport.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Ok for one night. Ok for airport needs a update good location and good for airport parking staff are not very welcoming
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean.
Cons: Free breakfast option & wi-fi in rooms.
Location: Too short a stay to visit.
Friendly staff, very firm bed in a small but clean room. Basic but functional. Wi-fi in lobby only. Great for plane spotters as the approach aircraft pass in front of the hotel. The full buffet breakfast is terrific for an extra 7.50!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Noise

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Staff in dining room and bar
Cons: Cleaner rooms.
The room was not clean (sink was carcked) and I had to move as the plug outlet started to smoke when I plugged my laptop in. Dinner was fine and staff very polite. Also one of the noisest hotels I have ever stayed in. NEVER AGAIN
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U K

Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick Scam and Deception

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: the hotel is cheap, not sure its value for money now due to what happened to me there
Cons: Ventilation and not the toilet type of ventilations in rooms, Proper windows, and maybe £9.99 table fans in all the rooms, proper sound proofing,
Location: nothing
If you do book Russ hill Hotel or any of the Britannia Hotels through Expedia (book Now pay later at Hotel) then Russ hill charges your card and there are problems with the Room, Russ hill would try not to give you back the money, Russ hill would tell you to go back to Expedia for the money, even though its not expedia that charged your card. Always insist that Russ Hill refunds you there and then please, because it would be problematic getting the money back this is the 2nd time this has happened to me at Russ Hill Hotel, the first time it was on 14/07/15 when i paid £159 for 3 days, there were problems with the rooms on offer and there were no alternative. Russ Hill Hotel told me that Expedia is the one that would refund because i booked it on expedia (even though it was Russ Hill Hotel that i Paid the Money to). after some days of wrangling, Russ Hill Hotel returned £90 charged me for a day, even though i did not sleep at the hotel because Russ Hill could not offer a decent Room The 2nd time this happened was on 15/08/2015, i paid £92 for 2 days, again there were problems with the rooms on offer, i coudn't stay at the Hotel, Russ told me to go to expedia for the money, Expedia told me differently, Expedia said it was Russ Hill that charged my card, at the time i am writing this i am yet to get my money back from Russ Hill Hotel, Hope this dosent end up in Small claims court
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Awful

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Very small rooms with extremely old facilities in poor condition. So dimly lit that we could barely see with electric sockets that came away from the wall when you removed plugs. Avoid at all costs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

It was a nightmare

Posted Jul 25, 2015
I cant understand how expedia allow this hotel to claim 3 stars ranking.it is a fake stars. I cant forget the terrible night I spent in this hotel. From the out gate to the room inside, every thing terrible. The staff ignorant, harsh and to some extent rude. The carpit dirty smily. The furniture really rabish. Very old tv not working. Very noisy corridors I can't sleep because of people walking in corridors on noisy flooring. Moreover it is very near to airport runways so every moment there is a taking off. I tried to cancel after 5 minutes but they did not accept and expedia help lone were unhelpful thy just increase my forestation. Any way I was travelling 10 hours if I could find other hotel at that time I would not sleep in this hotel. Absolutely I don't recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Not very good at all everything was poor Not very good at all everything was poor Not very good at all everything was poor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Tired & Average

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Cons: Everything can be improved....
This hotel needs a refresh, everything is tired, to charge less than £40 per night makes it tolerable, anything more than this represents poor value for money as there are so many alternative hotels & B&B's available within a 5 mile radius that offer far better for £40 or more per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Convenient for Gatwick and good price

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Cons: Needs a refurb particularly outside - but this will put the prices up
Location: Close to Gatwick and can be used for parking
Hotel is scruffy but clean, good staff and good price