Ratings based on 1,030 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
Great location, rooms small but with all the amenities you need. Great price and a really enjoyable stay with very professional and welcoming staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service, small rooms

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location. Walking distance to Notting Hill, restaurants, gym, etc.
Cons: They recently closed down their fitness facility. There is a Pure Gym nearby for a 10 pound per day drop in fee.
Location: Notting Hill. Hyde Park. Tons of restaurants, gift shops a mall. If you are inclined you can walk to Harrod's through the park.
Loved the location of the hotel. The VIP room had nice amenities. Room was clean, staff was friendly. The rooms were too small though. With a suitcase each and 2 people it was super cramped. We stayed in 2 hotels while in London and this one was tiny. Nice finishings but small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

They switched us to a different hotel.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast had a variety of hot and cold items, fruit, breads, eggs, sausage, etc...
Cons: Couldn't figure out how to make the fan in the bathroom work so it got steamy when showering. Had to ask to have bottled water and biscuits replaced
Location: Near Paddington Station. Many shops for souvenirs, groceries, bakery and restaurants between hotel and Tube stop.
We didn't actually stay at this site because when we went to check in, there was some problem with our rooms apparently. They paid for a cab to take us to one of their sister hotels (Park Grande of Paddington Court) that was closer to Paddington Station. So it was in the same area of town but quite a few blocks further from the tube stop than the Shaftesbury, which was a main factor in why I booked that one. They also comped us our breakfast daily to make up for the inconvenience. Staff at the desk was very polite, friendly, and helpful (at both hotels). Room was small but modern and comfortable. They cleaned and replaced towels daily and restocked the coffee but we had to ask for more biscuits and bottled water after the first day (they gave us a huge bottle of water then). Be warned about having them call a cab for you. They use a private company that is more expensive than a regular cab and there is a further charge if you don't pay in cash. Seemed like a racket to me so you're better off to just go down to the corner and hail a cab. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good service we shall stay there again.

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very good service I told staff it was my husbands birthday they put in the room and bottle of red wine and a delicious cake.
1 out of 5
by Mark

No room - ended up in a different hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
I checked in and was informed they were renovating some rooms and I was actually going to be sleeping Ina different hotel (literally the first time they told me). Checked into the other hotel ... this took 30 mins because they had no record of me! I paid for a double room but was given a single bed in the smallest hotel room I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. The TV didn't work. The Wi Fi generally didn't work (they were routing a dead signal most of the time). Pretty poor - I want my money back quite frankly. I was sold a product that didn't exist and was not provided with an adequate alternative!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Modern and clear but thin walls

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Stayed two nights with my partner. Very friendly staff, all very efficient too. The room was small but beautifully cleaned. The only negative was that my partner and I had two terrible nights sleep due to our room having thin walls resulting in us very clearly hearing couple in the room next to ours antics in the middle of the night and hearing the hotel room doors around the hotel banging shut in the night. Overall, lovely hotel and staff but not good for light sleepers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Hemant

Nice cozy stay...

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable stay, very friendly & cordial staff, decent breakfast.. the room size was small but manageable.
4 out of 5
by Irfan

Good, but bed not suitable for tall people

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Only complaint ... bed length/height was tiny! Would not recommend for anyone taller than 6 foot / 180 cm