Ratings based on 1,780 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good airport hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2016
This is a good airport hotel adjacent to the airport terminal and associated shops. Easy access from the train station, reception staff can be very busy and there can be a wait for the lifts
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Bonjour, Bonjour Kent, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel London Gatwick. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Barbara Gebura Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Airport hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Nice hotel but rooms need new bathrooms. Service in bar is so slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Best regards, Barbara Gebura Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Great location short walk from North terminal,

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: All good
Location: Great location,easy to travel anywhere from here,train station close.
Great hotel/great staff, effortless check in / check out, very pleasant experience once more will defiantly use again, a big thanks to all the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zell am See, Austria

Great airport hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Everything ! I write a lot of hotel reviews on various sites and I use this hotel as my benchmark. Always clean, great rooms, beds, professional staff
Cons: Can't think of a single thing.
Location: Walk through to the North Terminal
Part of the Gatwick North Terminal this hotel could not have a better location. I checked in late and was grateful for the speedy check-in and the receptionist offering me a quiet room. Love the rooms, the fabulous beds and pillows, nice toiletries and bathrooms. The staff were friendly and efficient as always.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, easy access to Gatwick, byo food drink

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Great hotel, great price, but food, drink and 'optional' service charge... 90 quid for a Chinese meal and the cheapest bottle of wine?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Chic, comfortable with good breakfast.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Cons: Remote was broken in room but not really a problem as chose to read that night.
Stayed one night was very easy to find, very pleasant service at checkin and clean room on 7th floor with a comfortable bed. Luxurious linen. Very nice breakfast in morning that was very fresh. A pleasant stay. Will use again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Ok for an overnight stay

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The member of staff who came to open the safe was very pleasant and apologetic.
Cons: It would be helpful if safe batteries were checked. Also fittings such as showers were also checked to ensure they were working properly.
Location: Not applicable
This was the second time we have stayed in the Sofitel, Gatwick. It is very handy for the airport and we like the fact that there is a covered walkway from the hotel to the departure gates. On this visit, we decided to use the safe in our room. Unfortunately when we tried to open the safe, due to flat batteries, we couldn't access our passports and money. Thankfully we had decided to do this in the evening before our morning departure as it took the hotel almost 3 hours to open the safe (from 9.30pm until 20 minutes past midnight). It had to be taken away to do this. The hotel did give us a bottle of wine and complimentary breakfast but it was still a very stressful situation. One other complaint was that the shower was very unsatisfactory as only a trickle of water came out of it. It would have been impossible to wash your hair. We did inform reception on check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Perfect location for North Terminal

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Location,Food
Cons: Nothing
Perfect location from North Terminal a few minutes walk under cover, very efficient staff at reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redhill

Convenient for early flight at North Terminal.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Room
Location: Great location - will be good when the terminal improvements are completed. Hopefully there will be some alternative places to eat!
I have stayed many times before and didn't realise the hotel was so full. I was therefore disappointed not to be able to book the main Brasserie Restaurant. I went instead to the Oriental. They had little information about the gluten in products and many items (it seems) come in from outside and they do not even know the ingredients! The meal was not cheap and I had to eat it in 45 minutes. However the hotel was fine, except that I had to ask for my Expedia elite perks which normally come automatically.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saffron Walden

Surprisingly good value stay pre-holiday flight

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Location: Perfect if you are flying from Gatwick - no need for taxis
Pleasant interior, good room, sensible price (though Expedia) for an overnight stay to avoid early morning start for Gatwick. Short walk from train station. Several good options for eating. Pleasant staff. Exceeded expectations