Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location.Friendly Staff.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Polite staff, classy atmosphere.
Cons: Plumming
Location: Outstanding location, near Picadilly,restaurants,Oxford street, Westminster Abbey,Buckingham ,Theathres ,etc....etc....
Great service. Perfect location.nothing bad to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am truly glad to hear that you have had an amazing experience at Sofitel London St James. Thank you for pointing out our high standards of services. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

great location near Trafalgar Square

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location near sights we wanted to visit.
Cons: electrical outlets and lighting
Location: Is near National Gallery, Churchill War Rooms, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul's Cathedral, St. Martin in the Fields (with free noon concerts).
We had a Jr Suite. Was inconvenient as there were no outlets for hair dryer in bathroom. Had to dry hair in sofa and chair area of suite-----and there the lighting was poor so had to go back to bathroom to check hair! Breakfasts were excellent and staff attentive except for missing doorman on day it was pouring rain. Had to exit taxi and get inside on my own. All in all, for a pricey room, it should have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have overall enjoyed your stay. With regards to electrical outlets I am afraid UK legislation forbids us to have them in the bathroom for safety reasons. However you have a mirror inside the desk with plenty of plugs around. We look forward to your next visits in our central yet quiet hotel. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Hyper Bon

Posted Mar 8, 2017
My friend and I splurged on the Sofitel for a three-night stay and we were so glad we did. The location in the stately Waterloo Square is perfection. The staff were without exception gracious and helpful. Our recently renovated deluxe room was sophisticated,stylish, spacious and très comfortable. The fitness room is great. The turndown service ditto. In the lovely bar we had expensive Martinis but they were presented with four different delicious nibbles by a charming staff. Our experience was wonderful overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear Leslie, I thank you for this very positive feedback. I am truly glad to hear that yourself and your friend have had an amazing time at Sofitel London St James. Your entire satisfaction is our utmost reward. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, fantastic atmosphere and staff

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel often over the years. It is consistently excellent in execution of a luxury hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so so much for pointing out our consistency in delivering high standards of services all throughout the years. This is our utmost reward! We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Location location location!!! Wonderful hotel, beautiful setting, great food and staff!! Close to tube line and theatre district!! High end for reasonable cost!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am really glad to read that you have had the prefect experience at Sofitel London St James. We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York. U.K.

Excellent location. London sights etc. very close.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location, ambiance and efficient staff from doorman to desk.
Cons: See our note re experience.
Location: Great for Regent St. , Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square. And
Very enjoyable stay. Small issues to report as follows :- Shaving mirror too low for comfort. Mirror would be good over the desk, for ladies to make up etc. and dry hair after washing. T.V. picture was foggy, and remote control did not function because the receptor was covered by heavy curtains. ( Relocate T.V.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear Roy, I thank you for your feedback. With regards to a socket to do your hair you have one just by the desk in the bedroom. I am sorry for the TV. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards. I will therefore take the appropriate measures in order to avoid any future re-occurrence. On the other hand I am really glad to hear that you love our high standards of services. We look forward to your next visits. Meanwhile I wish you a wonderful year 2017! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I thank you for rating us 5 out of 5. We look forward to your next visits. Meanwhile I wish you a wonderful year 2017! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Another great stay at the Sofitel

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Again another great stay at the Sofitel. The hotel is starting to look a bit dated, but everything is well maintained and the staff is always courteous and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am glad to read that you love our high standards of services. We look forward to welcoming you back. Meanwhile I wish you a wonderful year 2017! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
This hotel is located in a great location. Easy access to shopping, restaurants, and sites of London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to read that you have loved our central yet quiet location. We look forward to your next visits. Meanwhile I wish you a wonderful year 2017! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

American tourist

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed @ the St. James Sofitel for 3 nights. I wish it could've been longer. It was an outstanding property within walking distance to all the sights in London, great shopping & restaurants. The staff was classy & helpful. I would stay there again when in London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I thank you for this very positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention when you are back to London. Meanwhile I wish you a wonderful year 2017! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James