Ratings based on 1,237 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fl

Excellent

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Love the location, attentive staff and the most comfortable bedding!! Highly recommend. Walking distance to the Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, London Eye, Parlament, the Theaters...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Centrally located

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, clean, great staff.
Location: Very close to the Underground and piccadilly Square.
The staff was amazing. They were always there when we needed anything. The room was very clean and comfortable. We couldn't have been happier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location, amazing service

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location, service, bar, breakfast
Cons: Safe in the room never worked even after being reported
Location: walking distance to Soho, St James Park, Trafalgar Square, Carnaby St dining
We loved this hotel. It is located close to many sites in London and walking distance to terrific dining options. Service from the staff was outstanding from check in to check out. We had a view facing the square which was very nice. Our 2nd room was facing the other side and was not an interesting view at all. Breakfast was delicious! Bar is beautiful. Will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Honeymoon stay

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We chose this hotel for our honeymoon stay in London, and we were extremely pleased with our choice. Fantastic luxurious hotel, can not fault it in any way. Staff friendly and service was second to none. Highly recommend it and it would definitely be our choice of hotel next time we visit london
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First and foremost: CONGRATULATIONS! I thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James. This is our utmost reward. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great Staff and Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, great location, great breakfast.
Location: Surrounded by London. Near parks, Buckingham Palace, Westminster, and shopping.
It was our 3rd stay at Sofitel St James. Excellent, as usual. Will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, I am really pleased to read that we have been consistent in providing high standards of services through the years. This is a fantastic reward for us. We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet location. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location with good services

Posted May 8, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful. The services were good and efficient. The room was clean and well furnished. However, not much tourist information for visitors. Targeted more on business man than families.
5 out of 5
by Annejulie

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017
Dear Anne Julie, I thank you for scoring us 5 out of 5. This is our utmost reward! We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by Oscar S

Total saisfaction

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Everything in this hotel is designed to your satisfaction and pleasure; the friendliness of the staff, the excelent room, the tea room, the bar. The nice aroma you perceive when you enter the hotel and the corridors leading to your room. The location is absolutely perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017
Dear Oscar, Thank you for your words of praise! This is our utmost reward! We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location.Friendly Staff.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Polite staff, classy atmosphere.
Cons: Plumming
Location: Outstanding location, near Picadilly,restaurants,Oxford street, Westminster Abbey,Buckingham ,Theathres ,etc....etc....
Great service. Perfect location.nothing bad to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am truly glad to hear that you have had an amazing experience at Sofitel London St James. Thank you for pointing out our high standards of services. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

great location near Trafalgar Square

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location near sights we wanted to visit.
Cons: electrical outlets and lighting
Location: Is near National Gallery, Churchill War Rooms, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul's Cathedral, St. Martin in the Fields (with free noon concerts).
We had a Jr Suite. Was inconvenient as there were no outlets for hair dryer in bathroom. Had to dry hair in sofa and chair area of suite-----and there the lighting was poor so had to go back to bathroom to check hair! Breakfasts were excellent and staff attentive except for missing doorman on day it was pouring rain. Had to exit taxi and get inside on my own. All in all, for a pricey room, it should have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have overall enjoyed your stay. With regards to electrical outlets I am afraid UK legislation forbids us to have them in the bathroom for safety reasons. However you have a mirror inside the desk with plenty of plugs around. We look forward to your next visits in our central yet quiet hotel. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James