Ratings based on 1,228 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great Staff and Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, great location, great breakfast.
Location: Surrounded by London. Near parks, Buckingham Palace, Westminster, and shopping.
It was our 3rd stay at Sofitel St James. Excellent, as usual. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location with good services

Posted May 8, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful. The services were good and efficient. The room was clean and well furnished. However, not much tourist information for visitors. Targeted more on business man than families.
5 out of 5
by Oscar S

Total saisfaction

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Everything in this hotel is designed to your satisfaction and pleasure; the friendliness of the staff, the excelent room, the tea room, the bar. The nice aroma you perceive when you enter the hotel and the corridors leading to your room. The location is absolutely perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017
Dear Oscar, Thank you for your words of praise! This is our utmost reward! We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location.Friendly Staff.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Polite staff, classy atmosphere.
Cons: Plumming
Location: Outstanding location, near Picadilly,restaurants,Oxford street, Westminster Abbey,Buckingham ,Theathres ,etc....etc....
Great service. Perfect location.nothing bad to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am truly glad to hear that you have had an amazing experience at Sofitel London St James. Thank you for pointing out our high standards of services. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

great location near Trafalgar Square

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location near sights we wanted to visit.
Cons: electrical outlets and lighting
Location: Is near National Gallery, Churchill War Rooms, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul's Cathedral, St. Martin in the Fields (with free noon concerts).
We had a Jr Suite. Was inconvenient as there were no outlets for hair dryer in bathroom. Had to dry hair in sofa and chair area of suite-----and there the lighting was poor so had to go back to bathroom to check hair! Breakfasts were excellent and staff attentive except for missing doorman on day it was pouring rain. Had to exit taxi and get inside on my own. All in all, for a pricey room, it should have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have overall enjoyed your stay. With regards to electrical outlets I am afraid UK legislation forbids us to have them in the bathroom for safety reasons. However you have a mirror inside the desk with plenty of plugs around. We look forward to your next visits in our central yet quiet hotel. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
4 out of 5
by paul

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Ended up having four different rooms! The room on the sixth floor was like a prison cell, the next on the first floor had a building site outside the window, and the third had massive sound transfer from a hotel function. So one night lost everything else was good, except the price of breakfast at £25 each plus service and drinks which were overpriced. Great location though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017
Dear sir, I thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room type you have booked did not match your expectations. May I suggest you to book your next stays directly with us in order to avoid any disappointment? With regards to breakfast, I would like to highlight that we are aligned with other 5 star hotels in the area. Again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Hyper Bon

Posted Mar 8, 2017
My friend and I splurged on the Sofitel for a three-night stay and we were so glad we did. The location in the stately Waterloo Square is perfection. The staff were without exception gracious and helpful. Our recently renovated deluxe room was sophisticated,stylish, spacious and très comfortable. The fitness room is great. The turndown service ditto. In the lovely bar we had expensive Martinis but they were presented with four different delicious nibbles by a charming staff. Our experience was wonderful overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear Leslie, I thank you for this very positive feedback. I am truly glad to hear that yourself and your friend have had an amazing time at Sofitel London St James. Your entire satisfaction is our utmost reward. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, fantastic atmosphere and staff

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel often over the years. It is consistently excellent in execution of a luxury hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so so much for pointing out our consistency in delivering high standards of services all throughout the years. This is our utmost reward! We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by Anne

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anne, Thank you for rating us 5 out of 5. This is our utmost reward! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Location location location!!! Wonderful hotel, beautiful setting, great food and staff!! Close to tube line and theatre district!! High end for reasonable cost!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am really glad to read that you have had the prefect experience at Sofitel London St James. We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James