Ratings based on 1,225 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location with good services

Posted May 8, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful. The services were good and efficient. The room was clean and well furnished. However, not much tourist information for visitors. Targeted more on business man than families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location.Friendly Staff.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Polite staff, classy atmosphere.
Cons: Plumming
Location: Outstanding location, near Picadilly,restaurants,Oxford street, Westminster Abbey,Buckingham ,Theathres ,etc....etc....
Great service. Perfect location.nothing bad to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am truly glad to hear that you have had an amazing experience at Sofitel London St James. Thank you for pointing out our high standards of services. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

great location near Trafalgar Square

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location near sights we wanted to visit.
Cons: electrical outlets and lighting
Location: Is near National Gallery, Churchill War Rooms, Buckingham Palace, St. Paul's Cathedral, St. Martin in the Fields (with free noon concerts).
We had a Jr Suite. Was inconvenient as there were no outlets for hair dryer in bathroom. Had to dry hair in sofa and chair area of suite-----and there the lighting was poor so had to go back to bathroom to check hair! Breakfasts were excellent and staff attentive except for missing doorman on day it was pouring rain. Had to exit taxi and get inside on my own. All in all, for a pricey room, it should have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have overall enjoyed your stay. With regards to electrical outlets I am afraid UK legislation forbids us to have them in the bathroom for safety reasons. However you have a mirror inside the desk with plenty of plugs around. We look forward to your next visits in our central yet quiet hotel. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Hyper Bon

Posted Mar 8, 2017
My friend and I splurged on the Sofitel for a three-night stay and we were so glad we did. The location in the stately Waterloo Square is perfection. The staff were without exception gracious and helpful. Our recently renovated deluxe room was sophisticated,stylish, spacious and très comfortable. The fitness room is great. The turndown service ditto. In the lovely bar we had expensive Martinis but they were presented with four different delicious nibbles by a charming staff. Our experience was wonderful overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear Leslie, I thank you for this very positive feedback. I am truly glad to hear that yourself and your friend have had an amazing time at Sofitel London St James. Your entire satisfaction is our utmost reward. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, fantastic atmosphere and staff

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel often over the years. It is consistently excellent in execution of a luxury hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so so much for pointing out our consistency in delivering high standards of services all throughout the years. This is our utmost reward! We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by Anne

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anne, Thank you for rating us 5 out of 5. This is our utmost reward! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Location location location!!! Wonderful hotel, beautiful setting, great food and staff!! Close to tube line and theatre district!! High end for reasonable cost!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am really glad to read that you have had the prefect experience at Sofitel London St James. We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by Galia

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very good hotel. Team super helpful and friendly and accommodating for personal requests. Superb location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Galia, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your stay at Sofitel London St James. We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
by Tommy

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location, 3 minute walk to Piccadilly Circus tube stop. Place was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tommy, I thank you for having rated us 5 out of 5 stars. This is our utmost reward! We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet hotel. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York. U.K.

Excellent location. London sights etc. very close.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location, ambiance and efficient staff from doorman to desk.
Cons: See our note re experience.
Location: Great for Regent St. , Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square. And
Very enjoyable stay. Small issues to report as follows :- Shaving mirror too low for comfort. Mirror would be good over the desk, for ladies to make up etc. and dry hair after washing. T.V. picture was foggy, and remote control did not function because the receptor was covered by heavy curtains. ( Relocate T.V.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Nicolas, Hotel Management
Dear Roy, I thank you for your feedback. With regards to a socket to do your hair you have one just by the desk in the bedroom. I am sorry for the TV. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards. I will therefore take the appropriate measures in order to avoid any future re-occurrence. On the other hand I am really glad to hear that you love our high standards of services. We look forward to your next visits. Meanwhile I wish you a wonderful year 2017! A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James