Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hants, UK

Very poor!!!

Posted May 30, 2017
Overpriced for what I got in return. I booked a double room for 1 night. The main issue was that the mattress was completely worn and I could feel the frame. Room not supplied with any basics such as soap or shower gel. I thought all hotels provided these items. Only one plus point was the small bedside fan on a very hot and humid night. Definitely won't be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and Basic

Posted May 10, 2017
This is an extremely inexpensive no-frills hotel in the heart of London. There's nothing modern or luxurious about it but the staff are helpful and friendly and it's not bad value for money. Remember, though: you get what you pay for!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

meh

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
glad i wasn't spending too much time in the room.... Bathroom wants a good clean
3 out of 5
by Karen

Centrally located, no frills

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was courteous and helpful. The place was centrally located with the bus stop across the street and the tube entrance around the corner. They did not have the continental breakfast or community room anymore although it was still on the site.
2 out of 5
by simon

Shabby , run down , hostel !!!

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very run down shabby place , no real service at desk , had to wait ages for any service at all . Rooms are like a hostel really !! Dirty , shabby rundown !! Rather stay further away and travel in . Location is good but that has nothing to do with the hotel really , so to have a smiley face on that is about all it gets .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse stay I ever had

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
About the worse room i ever had the opportunity to stay in. Strange sticky smell, uncomfartable bed, flushing the toilet did not work
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will avoid in future!!!

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Heating in room didn't work, no toiletries, half a roll of toilet paper, lights were so bright it was like being on stage,bath was for a dwarf and what kind of hotel in this day and age doesn't have hot drink facilities in the room!!! I've stayed in £40 a night rooms and they've all supplied tea/coffee facilities, this was £109 and was shocking!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good for the price!

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
It is my opinion that any hotel review should be always put in the context of the price paid. It is an utter folly to expect luxury when one is paying budget prices. So, having paid a budget price for a centrally located London hotel my expectations were exceeded - big, clean room; comfortable clean beds; lovely towels and yes no soap or hair drier as has been mentioned before in other reviews. However, on checking out I was assured that the above items were available at the reception desk - I travelled with my own. I would not hesitate to stay at Somerset hotel again and already recommended it to a friend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Location the only positive

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Décor, cleanliness, staff, privacy
We stayed at this hotel for one night, and for the price in Central London we weren't expecting much but needed somewhere just to sleep. We could cope with the mould, the damp, the broken toilet seat and creepy room/bathroom design but the low review is mainly due to the fact a staff member walked straight into our room unannounced at 9:15 asking if we were checking out. (We were, at the designated checkout time of 10) Luckily I was in the bathroom and not getting changed in full view but my husband was still in bed so had to deal with the intrusion. Not somewhere I would ever stay again as a result.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay at this hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
The room was faulty, water stains, mould, damp everywhere. Windows were missing and the whole place was noisy, uncomfortable. I would have preferred to have slept in the street and saved the money. No drinks facilit in the room, no shampoo. It really was the bottom of the pit and I would advise everybody to avoid this hotel at all costs.