Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, few shortcomings

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Great position, in the summer with all the grounds even better.
Cons: See my comment about evening dining
Location: Horsham & Brighton pleasant to visit. Lots of cycling possible in the grounds and the area. A number of well known National Trust places around.
A good standard, although attention to detail maintenance let it down, for example the shower dripped continuously and the grouting in the bathroom was dirty in places and missing in others. Staff very helpful, pleasant and efficient. I was surprised that they were only able to offer a table for a resident in the dining room at 9-00pm, too late for me and the bar food although good was expensive for what was on offer. Early evening on a Saturday the bar staff were almost non-exisitent, and when they appeared were slow to serve, although this improved after 6-00pm. The booking system with expedia does not allow a choice of B&B or Half board, which we would have preferred.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Stunning location

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: In middle of nowhere surrounded by beautiful countryside. Near Horsham town centre, Sussex Downs and South Coast.
Beautiful hotel in beautiful grounds. Stayed here to celebrate my husband's birthday. On arrival staff wished him a happy birthday and we were given a room upgrade. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean but on Sunday was not serviced until late afternoon. There is free wifi including a tablet in the room showing hotel facilities etc but also for Internet use by guests. On the downside it automatically switched on at 8 am shining a bright light into the room. Breakfast was disappointing. I would have expected waiter service in such a classy hotel but it was a buffet. The plates were cold and the food at best lukewarm. There was however plenty of choice. We dined in the Camelia Restaurent on Saturday night. Food was good but expensive. Service was very slow- the meal took 3 hours. There is a fitness room but not in hotel building and not well signposted. Hotel could be improved by addition of swimming pool and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Very enjoyable stay regardless of an uncomfortable night as the bed was very hard and the room very warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South London

Top Class Stay

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Afternoon tea was a fabulous experience, not cheap but worth every penny.
Cons: There is a fitness centre (which we didn't get time to try) but sadly no pool or spa facilities.
Location: The hotel grounds provide an interesting walk through some ancient woodland but not much else to do locally. Horsham is a 10min drive though.
South Lodge met and exceeded our expectations during our recent stay. It was just over 10yrs since we last visited and the service has definitely gone up a notch or two. We attended for a 50th birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff couldn't have made us more welcome and made a special fuss of our 6yr old daughter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

love this hotel!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
have always had a top class service from South Lodge. Fab evening at The Pass restaurant. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BRIGHTON

Expensive weekend

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Warm friendly staff, nothing too much trouble
Cons: The walk up to car park is quite dimly lit, so more lighting would be helpful
Very nice hotel, staff couldn't be more helpful, food excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

last minute weekend break

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: character individual rooms
Cons: a bit disorganised at breakfast, no-one appeared to have a designated job, resulted in some waiting around to be served.
Location: Close to Horsham and its facilities
Good hotel to relax in. Plenty of areas to sit and relax and enjoy the ambience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet weekend break

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Spent 2 nights here for our wedding anniversary. lovely dual aspect room with huge walk in shower. Food very good & huge breakfast. Recommended you try it out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, Kansas USA

Posted Oct 7, 2014
We have stayed here before and we again had a lovely time! Everything was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex

A beautiful hotel in wonderful surroundings

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: No improvements needed
Location: We didn't need to go outside the hotel grounds. The weather was lovely so we walked around the grounds.
We came for a one night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the time we arrived to the time we left everything was perfect. The hotel is beautiful, the staff fantastic and the food amazing. Our room was wonderful. We couldn't fault the hotel at all.