Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarawak

Clean small hotel near Russell Square

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Room and shared toilets are very clean. Room a bit small, which make the furnitures unnecessary. Difficult to carry big/heavy luggage as had to walk up narrow staircase to the top floor. No kettle provided but can ask hot water from staff. Staffs are extremely friendly. There is a tv lounge, and a properly-locked luggage storage besides it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US/Moldova

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, helpful staff and comfy rooms. Nice, clean bathrooms. Perhaps the jewel in the crown of this hotel is the cafe located in the
Cons: It is difficult to improve much given the type of building and rooms. A lift would be nice, but it would be hard to imagine how one could be put in.
Location: Particularly nice is the location. Just a 10 minute walk to Kings Cross/St. Pancreas undergrounds and to the Russel Square underground. Several minu
We needed a one-night stopover hotel in the Kings Cross and Russel Square area of London. We had little choice because we were booking for a weekend on short notice and, fortunately, were able to get a room for Saturday night at St. Athans. To our surprise, the hotel was very good and quite charming -- somewhat between a hotel and a hostel with shared bathrooms and many winding, vertical stairs. I was traveling with two children -- 10 and 15. They both really enjoyed the stay and we found ourselves wishing we could have stayed a few more days. While this hotel is perhaps not for everyone -- particularly anyone with mobility impairments (since there are so many stairs and no lift) -- it has a charm of its own. Wi-fi is good. The small lounge comfortable. Bathrooms are spacious enough and very clean. Rooms are ample and beds are comfy. The staff is more than helpful, very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porstmouth

our overnight stay

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: the hotel was in a quite area of London, and only a 20mintue walk to the West End
Cons: A T.V in room. with tea, and coffee
Location: there are some nice parks in the surrounding area.
for the reasonable cost, the room was very clean, location good, staff friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Simple, decent hotel in central London

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The lower price compared to some other hotels in the area,
Cons: Plug points in all rooms, clean towels each day/every other day.
Location: Very central, Marchmont St is just a minute's walk away, with several restaurants, bookshops, and cafes. The British Library is very close, too.
I enjoyed my three nights at this hotel well enough: for the relatively low price, it was simple, but clean and friendly. I had a single room, which was very small, but I didn't really need much space. The mattress was very thin, but I had a decent few nights' sleep on it. There was a sink in the room with soap and a hand towel, but the bathrooms were communal and down a flight of stairs from where my room was. The only issue I had was that it wasn't clear how to ensure you got clean towels after using them, having no bathroom floor or shower to use to signal this. The staff were very friendly, the Bloomsbury coffee house's breakfast discounts and free hot drink for residents were great, as the cafe is lovely, and the location is incredibly central, only minutes from Russell Square, Euston, and King's Cross St Pancras tube stations, as well as being close to several bus stops. The worst part was that my room had no plug points: I had to spend a few hours in the TV lounge each night in order to charge my phone. The lounge itself was pleasant enough, though. Overall, I had a good stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

More of a hostel - great location & price

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide heat in the cold bathrooms
Location: Enjoy early breakfast at St. Pancras station. Hotel is walking distance to British Museum.
This hostel is situated in a very nice area and the staff are very kind. It's close to Tube and train station entrances, as well as trendy cafes and restaurants. The bathrooms are shared, and the room is small, but there are so many bathrooms that there was never an issue (in fact, I don't think we "shared" our closest bathroom with any other guests during our weekday stay). The small room made cold nights cozier. Glad we chose this location over Paddington.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Nice clean room. A little old fashioned but would recomend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well situated, quiet hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Basic but adequate room. Decent reading light. Unfortunate that grubby cushion kept appearing on top of sheets. Clients should be warned that they need to bring their own shampoo. Cafe run as separate business in basement with 10% discount for hotel customers. No lift, so anyone short of breath should ask for lower floor room. Staff polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Toilet and shower was a bit. Far from. The room. The room was nice and clean and only. A 5 minute walk from Euston station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Been promised 3 single beds and one double but got bunk beds.i wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good Value for money; great location. Comfortable bed. Not ensuite, but plenty of bathrooms. Main weakness: lack of wifi.