Ratings based on 1,812 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Central location next to Buckingham Palace

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Staff was terrific. Everyone was welcoming, friendly and helpful. Loved that they were from all over the world. Simply fantastic. Trim in upper corridors should be painted. Lot's of dings...Minor issue compared to how great an experience we had. Delicious breakfast with excellent service. The hotel has good karma.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Great location

Posted Jun 11, 2017
The advantages of the hotel is that it is literally within minutes from the Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. The staff were extremely professional and helpful, even in minutest details. The choice of on-site restaurants is superb as well; the afternoon tea at Kona was a very pleasant experience. However, there were some drawbacks, such as a very uncomfortable bed (especially for as many as 6 nights), a nasty looking slimy puddle outside of the window ledge, and some other details about general cleanliness. I do highly recommend the hotel because overall the stay met ans sometimes exceeded our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located, high class hotel!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located to a metro stop and walking distance to the Buckingham palace. Also quiet at night so you can rest easy after a long day.
Cons: Breakfast buffet quality and choices can be improved.
Location: Excellent location! The Indian restaurant nearby, Quilon, is also top notch!
I enjoyed my stay here at the St. James Court, A Taj Hotel. The hotel staff are all very friendly and professional and is conveniently located to a nearby metro station (4 minute walk off Petty France) and walking distance to the Buckingham Palace if that is one of the sites you'd like to visit on your trip. It is situated in a more quiet part of London, which is what I wanted during my stay, so I definitely have no complaints. But as I mentioned, the metro station is a few minutes walk from the hotel so if you want to go anywhere that is more lively, that is not a problem. It is also walking distance to a nearby shopping center off of Victoria St., so if you're from the States and missing your familiar shopping centers or eateries, that will not be a problem either. The price is a bit on a high end, but that is what I expected if you stay anywhere in Central London. The hotel also has that "old style" look and feel to it, so the single room I stayed in is not as "roomy" as other hotels I've stayed in for the price. But overall I was happy with my stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very nice hotel but a little overpriced.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Very good hotel but not the best location. Buses and underground are convenient enough so you can still get around London easy enough. Not a lot of nearby restaurants or pubs. Walking distance to Buckingham Palace but not much else. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff was very helpful. Excellent breakfast included. All in all, this is an excellent hotel but the price was a bit too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, food, room - everything.
Ideally located near Buckingham Palace, Westminster Cathedral and Parliament. Service in hotel and Bistro Restaurant from every employee we encountered was excellent. Room was spacious, well-appointed, and immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Weekend Break

Posted Jun 6, 2017
An very enjoyable stay with very friendly staff. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Beautiful hotel with a gorgeous, serene courtyard.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: It was not only beautiful but very comfortable.
Cons: One of the light switches controlled the tv, which was a bit frustrating.
Location: The location was very close to St. James Underground station, Buckingham Palace, & the parks.
The staff was absolutely lovely and very helpful! The concierge was prepared for any questions I had about directions, restaurants, or things to do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Needs refurbishing. Desperately!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms are old and beaten up.
Location: Close to palace, museums and tube stations
Good location close to everything. Good staff. Public areas are nice but rooms are old and tired. Furniture looked like beaten up stuff from an old Hampton Inn even though we were in a suite. The armchair arms were threadbare and dirty. Grubby old bathroom. Not worth the cost--better condition hotels nearby and are a better choice. Not up to Taj standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania, USA

Fair hotel Poor staff

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The outside facade was pretty. The hotel was within walking distance of the underground and Big Ben and Westminster Abbey.
Cons: The service!!!! It was slooowwwww. Waiters would leave you waiting for almost an hour. The food at the restaurants was mediocre.
Location: The hotel is near the St James Park and Victoria underground stations. It is close to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and London Eye.
We were disappointed in the hotel. Yes, it looked lovely from the outside, but the pleasant facade did not make up for the slow plumbing. It was impossible to even brush your teeth without the sink filling up completely. The hotel staff were friendly enough, but not professional. The person who was checking us in, for example, told us to wait in the foyer and she would bring the room keys to us within 10 minutes. She then proceeded to go off on her break--we were not informed of this. Jet lagged and tired we were left hanging around for and hour and half. I had to go back to the front desk to find out what was going on, where the person was back on duty but had forgotten about us. We were finally checked in. Absolutely ridiculous. We were appalled. We also found a lack of transparency in their in room breakfast menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to trains & theatre

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, classic hotel; welcoming staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to downtown , great location
Welcoming staff, classic old hotel,xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx