Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The most expensive small room I've stayed in.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Old fashioned hotel which is ok if you like that kind of thing but IMO terrible value - £500+ for a tiny room with a bed right by the door and even missing basics like a kettle. As a result of the above a noisy stay with disrupted sleep. Upon leaving the hotel the reception staff were pretty keen to charge me the little 'service charge' they had kindly added to my bill without my consent. Basically a tip for doing their job. Even when I refused to pay this they were reluctant to remove it. Stayed in far better hotels for much less money and in better areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location and very quiet

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location & staff
Location: Everything touristy is in walking distance
We loved this hotel. Great location near all the tourist attractions but a hop, skip and a jump to Buckingham Palace. The Seven Park Place restaurant is simply divine and the staff is always so kind. This is more of an adult friendly place do to its quiet atmosphere at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Superb location, in a back street away from all the construction noise that permeates LONDON these days. Steps from all the actions around and the parks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in mayfair

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Nice hotel amazing location great staff Room clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Very accessible to many interesting sights in Lond

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Was impressed with this hotel--located well but very quiet. Staff was exceptionally caring and friendly. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Was a cute hotel. A bit more high end than I expected but that's ok. Restaurant food was not really my style so we didn't go. Room was very cute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, and really great staff.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Do yourself a favor if your going to be in London. Stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

A nice hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
It is a great 5 star hotel close to anywhere you want to visit. Also close to the shopping places such as Bond Street, Jermyn Street and Savile Row.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Quiet hotel, perfectly located

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The quiet location near a busy area, the ease of getting around, the classic look of the place and the professional staff.
Cons: Would be nice to have a coffee maker in the room.
Location: Well located in the middle of at least 4 different tube stops. Easy walk to Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, Covent Garden.
The St. James Hotel and Club is a small, boutique hotel on a very quiet street. We stayed in an executive King room. I did contact the hotel after I booked on Expedia to make sure our room would have an actual shower (not the "hand-helds" that are frequent in Britain and Europe). The hotel was able to honor our wishes. The room had good space. It had a very large walk-in closet with dressers and a full-length mirror. There was a nice desk area, a reading chair, mini-bar and safe and wall mounted TV. There was no coffee/tea making equipment in the room. The bathroom was small but nice. It only had one wash basin but had a separate tub and a small walk-in, rain-shower with a seat ledge. Of note is that there was about a 5" step up into the bathroom. The staff was very professional and pleasant. The public facilities are small buy nicely appointed. One nice surprise is that there is a small sitting room/parlour on the reception floor. The overall feel of the place is classic British, but it does have some interesting art and decorations that give it a contemporary vibe. The location couldn't be better for touring London. The palace area, government area and the shopping area are all within walking distance as are many of London's beautiful parks. Piccadilly Circus is just a short walk and the hotel is convenient to many of the tube stops on various lines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nashville tn.

25th anniversary!

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Enjoyed 3 nights at the St. James celebrating our 25th anniversary. Small but well appointed room -with complimentary shoe shines. Delicious breakfast/tea and concierge helped us with tricky transportation to Highclere Castle. So well placed in town behind the Ritz on quiet side street. Would recommend.