Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
I would not rate this hotel as a 4 star, no elevators, no electrical outlet in bathroom to use a hair dryer, hair dryer is tucked away in the bedside table you had to search the room for it and find an outlet with is hard to find or conveniently located. You can hear the guest in the room next door as if they were in your room. The area is not within walking distance of a coffee shop of convenient store.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Expensive Disappointment

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: I liked the location. I was visiting my daughter who works at the British Museum so it was very convenient. I also liked the cosy reception area
Cons: It needs updating & a coat of paint. It's looking shabby. The WiFi service needs to be improved-a big hassle. Courtyard needs work-no flowers.
Location: Residential area close to British Museum plus bars, restaurants & pubs although nothing immediately beside the hotel.
I had booked a single guest room for 4 nights so knew it would be on the small side but it was smaller and darker than it appeared on website photos. The luggage rack was in front of the closet so when it was in use, you could barely open the closet doors. There was nowhere else to put it. The room was poorly lit generally but worse on my first night when it appears that the power was out on one side of the room as my phone didn't charge and there was no lighting. This was rectified after I reported it the next day. On a positive note, the bathroom was bright with two mirrors and, although not luxurious, was reasonably well-appointed. The glassed-in shower was small but functional. However, the small pedal bin didn't work and one day, one of my towels was thin and full of holes. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It just didn't meet my expectations for the price so I was disappointed. I feel it was overrated at 4 stars. I would give it 3 stars. Overall, the staff were very pleasant and helpful (although my early morning wake-up call was 30 minutes late and I had a flight to catch from Gatwick). The included Continental breakfast was average with little variety but the restaurant staff were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Birthday celebration weekend

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Welcoming arrival by staff. Comfortably furnished room. Comfy bed and quiet location in heart of London. Conservatory and garden a bonus,
Cons: Making the menu clearer. Reluctant to serve just a cake or scone with a pot of tea in the afternoon! We did not require a full cream tea.
Location: British Museum very close. Bus and tube nearby but we walked to most places such as Covent Garden, Kings Cross, Leicester Square, South Bank.
Ideal location and surprisingly comfortable and friendly hotel. We were celebrating our son's 40th birthday and it gave easy access to pubs, restaurants and we walked to The Globe Theatre for a performance on the Sunday. Excellent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Lovely hotel close to the centre of London.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Helpful friendly staff. Lovely clean room with great amenities. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location friendly staff.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Cons: The air conditioner sounded like water was running all night.
I enjoyed this hotel. It was a short walk to lots of London's sites. The staff were very friendly and it was a good price for London.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good enough

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Arrived to find the toilet had not been flushed from the previous guest and the trashcan was full of their stuff. When I told the front desk they expressed regret and did nothing about it. Not a great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The staff were kind and always tried to be very helpful but a few happenings (calls from the night management at 1:00 in the morning and the cleaning staff leaving my room wide open and unattended for who knows how long, to name a couple) were seriously concerning. My low rating for cleanliness concerns the fact that there was a mouse in my room that I could hear and often see evidence of. I told someone on duty early in the morning but as far as I could see nothing was ever done about it. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom, though quite small, was cleaned well everyday. Room service was generally fast and convenient. There's a wonderful garden area that you enter through a comfortable and quaint sitting area. The location is excellent, quiet and very walkable. I would recommend this hotel to others but with this warning - it's not four star. It reminded me more of a hostel than a hotel BUT if you, like me, are in London for a longer stay it is a good option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

I would stay here again.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: I appreciated that the hotel has a pleasant library and garden, 24-hour reception desk, lock box in the room, heated towel rack and television.
Cons: The internet was a bit unreliable and the hotel's system about having to re-enter an access number every several hours was a nuisance.
Location: Convenient location - 5 min walk from the British Museum, near several different Tube stations.
We stayed for a week. The hotel was comfortable and the staff helpful and accommodating. It was a 5 min walk to the British Museum and close to several different Tube stations. Complimentary tea, coffee, daily newspapers and fresh fruit were provided. Prompt pleasant room service if we ran out of anything. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel since there were so many cafes in the area but I took a look at the breakfast room and it looked pleasant. If I returned to London and wanted to stay in the same area, I would definitely stay at The Academy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I was late one night and door was locked waited for 30 min until someone came and open the door for me. Breakfast is not real breakfast did not have anything to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location and Style.
Cons: nothing comes to mind. we did not have anything specifc that we missed.
Location: Location is great. near main streets (few blocks from Oxford Street), close to the British Museum. very easy to go around and visit London
The hotel style was new to us but we liked it very much! great location to walk around, in a quiet neighbourhood, near few subway and train stations of few different lines. easy to get to and back to the airport via Russel Square station (Piccadilly line with no change to Heathrow). Continental breakfast was very good (Fresh). staff very nice and polite.