Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Another good stay

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good as usual. Location very good (station opposite).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Good rooms

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Fresh milk Fridge in room
Cons: Breakfast offer for those leaving/going out early
Location: Opposite Wandsworth Town tail station
We have stayed here before on both occasions to visit Wimbledon. It's about a 45 minute walk from The Alma. We were slightly disappointed this time as our room, whilst very nice, wasn't as good as the first time we stayed and they were both boutique rooms. Also the air con didn't seem to work after the first night and it was hot in London. We needed to be up and out very early to join the Wimbledon queue and asked if we could have a breakfast box the night before. The person on reception didn't quite grasp this, despite us explaining twice. However, she had organised that fruit, cereals and toast were available early. The trouble is we didn't have time to stop for it. The rooms are clean and a reasonable size. We stayed in room 16 this time, which could do with a little refurbishment. There has obviously been a leak in the room above and there is a damp patch above the mirror in the bathroom. It was dripping whilst we were there. Also the surface inside the wardrobe was damaged. We like the fact that you can have fresh milk for tea and coffee and that there is a small fridge in the room. There's also a good Sainsburys local just down the road. Just across the road from the station so easy to get around
4 out of 5
by Carl

Modest but pleasant home base for a London visit

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Both the good points and weaknesses were nearly identical to our stay there 5 years ago. Friendly and helpful staff; comfortable bed; quiet room despite the bar downstairs; excellent breakfast; literally steps from a train station (Wandsworth Town) and bus stop with great connections; about a mile walk to a shopping center with a nice variety of offerings; reasonable price. On the other hand: No computer available for guest use; no maps posted or available of the local area; translucent bathroom doors; the only hotel I've encountered anywhere that didn't have face cloths/wash cloths/flannels available - all easily fixable. Seniors and people with disabilities also need to be aware that there are no elevators in the hotel or the train station across the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by david

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
affordable luxury and excellent breakfast. Also good pub with great atmosphere. Ideal position to reach central London and conect to major stations
5 out of 5
by Peter

food by design-with a lovely room

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was terrific-I ordered off the menu-no problem -avocado on toast with bacon. Beautifully presented and delicious to eat. thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc uk native

Best kept secret in London

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Food Bed Staff
Cons: Dressing gowns
Location: Convenient to train station
Wonderful staff who are dedicated to providing the best possible stay. You will sleep well here. This is the epitome of the boutique hotel. Also the food raves.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Wiltshire

Happy to return to The Alma

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
My second visit, and I was happy with the price and location, close to the Station. Room was very comfortable and breakfast quite nice (though not as nice as the last time). I will come back again.
5 out of 5
by Julie

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Elina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.