Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with so many amenities!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Lovely old building with modern facilities. Staff was amazing.
Location: Museums are near, and the South Kennsington tube station is just across the street.
Really lovely hotel. The staff was excellent, and the amenities were lovely. They even had a mobile phone for use! The rooms were comfortable, and spacious for London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you not only enjoyed your stay but also the surrounding area. I have shared all of your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A great location, In a great neighborhood.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: A great neighborhood, with so many desirable destinations within walking distance.
An amazingly attentive staff were incredibly helpful. Our stay exceeded our expectations, and we will surely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, I am delighted you had such a great stay and it exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand the next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SO great and SO convenient

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The room was great and comfortable, the staff were polite and helpful and a one minute walk from the tube station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Lovely London Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Staff and service. Location
Cons: Rooms are a little cramped.
This is a convenient, comfortable and clean hotel that pays attention to details and adds some lovely touches to the experience--such as the nightly cookies and free stocked mini bar-- to make you feel welcomed and valued. The staff are extremely helpful and room service is top notch. You also can't beat the location which is in the heart of South Kensington-a stone's throw from some of the best museums and restaurants in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Justine, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased your stay was such an enjoyable one and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great hotel, very convenient location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Design and the friendliness of the staff
Weekend break in London to take in a show and see the sights. Second time we've stayed at The Ampersand and again it was very welcoming and comfortable. Really enjoyed a couple of nightcaps in the cocktail bar where the staff were really friendly and very talented. Lovely place and really well located as a base for visiting London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Keith, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted the team looked after you so well. I look forward to seeing once again at The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very much enjoyed it. Very comfortable and convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank yo for your great review. I am delighted you found the hotel to be comfortable and the location to be convenient. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from daventry

Great location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Room was lovely..comfortable bed large bathroom helpful polite staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Lovely hotel in a nice setting, pleasant helpful staff, right next to the underground and natural history museum with other attractions closeby/ easily accessible
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review, I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand soon. Kind regards. Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good location, close to underground

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Good location, close by underground station. Nice interior
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Hague

Attentive staff in a pleasant hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: The kind and well trained staff.
Location: Great location. Close to the Victoria and Albert Museum, Natural History Museum, Harrods... Tube station very close by.
The hotel location is very convenient, and the facilities are vey well kept. Undoubtedly, the highlight of the hotel is the well trained staff, mostly on the reception desk. Fabio and Miguel are extremely kind and helpful, always happy to answer any questions and help with logistics. The complimentary items on the minibar is a well thought gesture to guests. While most big hotel chains try to make money on the minibar, this boutique hotel understands what customer service means and that little things make a huge difference on customer perception.The hotel restaurant, Apero, is also pleasant although the service can be a little slow.