Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

サービスもインテリアもモダンなホテル

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: 従業員の親しみやすい印象の良さ、言葉遣いなど丁寧な応対マナー。ベタベタしないサービスが心地よい。 客室に装備されたアメニティグッズ、地元朝刊と冷蔵庫内の飲み物無料サービスも料金に対して大変お得。
Cons: 建物の構造上の問題と思いますが、天井を通して上階の部屋の足音が響きます。夜間、気になる方もいるかと思います。
Location: ハイドパークとミュージアムが徒歩圏。治安も良く静かな町並みなので早朝の散歩を楽しめるエリアです。 駅周辺はカフェが多く、スーパーのテスコもあります。小さなエクレアのお店 Maitre Choux (Joakim Prat)は人気。
サウスケンジントンに滞在するならアンパサンドは便利です。母娘旅行の際に3泊滞在したのですが、夜遅くなっても駅近なので怖い思いもしなかったです。老舗ホテルの顧客重視型のサービスとはまったく違いますが、若い従業員の多いこのホテルは明るく親しみやすい印象と迅速な対応には期待以上に信頼が持てました。インテリアやアフタヌーンティーで人気のあるカフェなど、特に十代の娘は満足そうでした。客室内も十分ですし、ルームサービスも美味しくいただけました。スーペリアルツインだったからか?シャワーのみの装備でしたがモダンで大変使いやすく、何よりEU圏で不具合がありがちな水圧や水温も申し分なく、毎日外出していた私たちには十分でした。もとから環境がよいエリアですが、夜間も大変静かです。5つ星ホテルのブランドにこだわらず、従業員のマナー、施設の清潔感や便利さ、さらにベッドの心地よさなどにこだわる方にはオススメします。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Great location to food, drink and the metro

Posted Jun 24, 2016
LOVED our stay here! Every staff member we met was very nice and wanted to ensure we had everything we needed. The room was wonderful! Loved the technology of the do not disturb/maid service buttons as well as the room temp. LOVED the heated floor in the bathroom. The tea/coffee station was lovely as well as the included beverages for it and in the mini-fridge. The room was always kept clean and the turn down service was nice. Would definitely stay here again on a return trip to London!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Dear Amber, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. I have shared all of your comments with the team who really appreciate them. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Everything was perfect from location to staff to the room. We were so impressed and Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a great stay and I look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: We liked the cleanliness of all facilities, anD the responsiveness of staff. Tea Room serves excellent food, but pricey, food. Close to tube.
Cons: Rooms are small, but comfortable.
Location: There are many shops and restaurants in South Kensington.
the Ampersand is extremely clean and comfortable. The staff is excellent, friendly, and helpful. The hotel is located very close to the underground (tube) so we had great mobility around London. We highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, BC

beautifully appointed boutique hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: interesting, unique décor; beautifully appointed rooms; fantastic south kensington location; friendly and helpful staff
stayed for three nights and were thrilled with the location and charming feel of this boutique hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Dear Meg, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

5 stars

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: A tiny detail but it would be better if the black-out curtains could reach to the extreme sides of the window so the sun doesn't creep in prematurely.
I stayed in a deluxe double room (Rm 404) and from start to finish, a 5* experience. Hotel staff exuded a sincere and warm welcome, the hotel is tastefully designed and the room was spacious and beautifully appointed. We had a huge king bed with a velvet headboard, very high quality sheets and gloriously fluffy pillows. The mattress itself was one of the best I've ever encountered. The room faced the street but was so well insulated that we didn't hear any street noise. I can't recommend it more highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Dear Tess, Thank you for your fantastic review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and have shared all your wonderful comments with the team, who really appreciate the feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice clean & beautifully decorated.

Posted May 16, 2016
Staff was very helpful, rooms were very clean. Small bathrooms. Room faced a school & a bit noisy during weekdays.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted you found the team to be helpful. I have also noted your comments about the room to ensure we allocate a more suitable room should you choose to return to The Ampersand. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, staff, service, rooms

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: I liked the location most about this hotel. As I've mentioned it's accessible via the tube and is only one train line away from Heathrow airport.
Cons: If there's something to be improved, maybe it's the lights in the room. Sometimes even when all the lights are maxed out, it's still kinda dark.
I stayed in for a few nights in this hotel when I stayed in London to explore the city. I chose this hotel because it's just one train line (Picadilly) away from Heathrow airport, and is located 15 - 20 minutes away from the famous tourist sites. The area in which the hotel is located is also clean and safe. Would definitely book again in this hotel in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have passed your comments with regards to the lighting to my maintenance team to review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and you will return to The Ampersand. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

A great hotel in a great position

Posted May 2, 2016
A really comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. It is so comfortable that we have already booked another break
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a great stay and look forward to seeing you on your next stay. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel with excellent service

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Excellent front desk staff, imaginatively decorated, very comfortable. Some of the less expensive rooms can be quite small, but they let you know in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Tracey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey