Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great hotel, very convenient location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Design and the friendliness of the staff
Weekend break in London to take in a show and see the sights. Second time we've stayed at The Ampersand and again it was very welcoming and comfortable. Really enjoyed a couple of nightcaps in the cocktail bar where the staff were really friendly and very talented. Lovely place and really well located as a base for visiting London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Keith, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted the team looked after you so well. I look forward to seeing once again at The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very much enjoyed it. Very comfortable and convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank yo for your great review. I am delighted you found the hotel to be comfortable and the location to be convenient. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from daventry

Great location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Room was lovely..comfortable bed large bathroom helpful polite staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Lovely hotel in a nice setting, pleasant helpful staff, right next to the underground and natural history museum with other attractions closeby/ easily accessible
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review, I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand soon. Kind regards. Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good location, close to underground

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Good location, close by underground station. Nice interior
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable experience and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Hague

Attentive staff in a pleasant hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: The kind and well trained staff.
Location: Great location. Close to the Victoria and Albert Museum, Natural History Museum, Harrods... Tube station very close by.
The hotel location is very convenient, and the facilities are vey well kept. Undoubtedly, the highlight of the hotel is the well trained staff, mostly on the reception desk. Fabio and Miguel are extremely kind and helpful, always happy to answer any questions and help with logistics. The complimentary items on the minibar is a well thought gesture to guests. While most big hotel chains try to make money on the minibar, this boutique hotel understands what customer service means and that little things make a huge difference on customer perception.The hotel restaurant, Apero, is also pleasant although the service can be a little slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to museums and restaurants

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pleasant hotel good location great service. Hotel has good restaurant and cafe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orangevale, CA

The hotel was lovely in an excellent location!

Posted Jan 6, 2017
The hotel itself was beautiful and well maintained. The location was excellent as well, basically just across the South Kensington underground station, surrounded by lovely Italian restaurants as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

Excellent hotel close to South Kensington Station

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Excellent hotel that is very close to the metro station (South Kensington ). The coffee, tea, water, juices,and soft drinks in your room are complimentary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Best hotel stay!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The comfort of the bed, the heated floor in the bathroom, and the wonderful huge rain head shower!
Cons: I would have liked a little more overall light in the room at night and early morning.
Location: The tube station is very close, if you want to walk to Harrods you can! There are lots of restaurants close by.
I booked into the Ampersand for a three night stay before returning to the States. This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at in London, and the best priced! From the minute you walk in and check in you receive excellent service, taking you to your room and explaining the features. They offer some unique things for their guests...... They had a cellphone in the room that I could take out on the town and use! I was able to use the maps feature on the hotel phone to get myself all over London. They also provided free bottled water, sodas, and fresh milk for tea and coffee. I ate breakfast at the restaurant and also dinner on my last night, an excellent experience.