Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and nice accommodations.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: The lobby, the staff, the overall facility were all good
Cons: Need more light in the room
Location: Victoria and Albert museum, Natural History museum, Kensington Gardens, Kensington Palace, Hyde Park
I was only here for one night, and as I checked in early, I quickly accepted the one room they had ready, which was not ideal. Had I been staying longer, I would have held out for a better room, but this one was below average (tiny room, looked out on machinery, poor lighting in the room and no opportunity for daylight to help). Still, the hotel is in a great location -- a quieter neighborhood than many of the more popular ones, but easy access to the Underground, and within a reasonable walk to everything Kensington has to offer (which is quite a bit). It was a good choice, and I'd definitely stay here again, but next time I'll wait for a better room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Best hotel we have stayed in, in London.

Posted May 24, 2017
Hotel goes out of its way to make guests feel at home, e.g. Free drinks in the rooms, generous quality toiletries, very comfortable beds, great TV and Wi-Fi technology, free use of smart phones, free use of quality umbrellas, prepared to make your own choice of dish in the restaurants, etc. 5 star service at bargain prices for London.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you felt so at home and you had such a wonderful stay. I have shared your lovely comments with the team who appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel near to South Kensington underground

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness, decor, staff and location. Very comfortable beds
The location of the hotel was ideal for the South Kensington underground. It's a 15 minute walk to the Albert Hall and a good selection of cafes etc nearby. Friendly staff with very quick check in and clean comfortable rooms. We stayed as part of a birthday trip and couldn't have been happier with the complimentary gesture including sweets, it was such a personal touch and very thoughtful. The beds were exceptionally comfortable with pillows like marshmallows and quiet rooms that you wouldn't think was in London, I would definitely book to stay here again next time I plan a trip to London. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted we were able to make your birthday celebrations such an enjoyable event and the staff looked after you all so well. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand the next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Loved the location and staff. Loved the heated bathroom floor and the bed and pillows were my favorite of anywhere i stayed. Did not like the hotel restaurant menu. However, room service menu was great ame food was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel and good staff

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. very pleasant experience (except the phone issues)
The only problem I had was with the phone and difficulty getting it to work. Otherwise the staff was wonderful and the place was beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great hotel in fantastic location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic experience. Charming hotel, wonderful and helpful staff, incredible location. The complimentary mini-bar and free mobile phone they provided were great touches that we appreciated and took full advantage of. The location was extremely convenient to getting around the city. Only 1/2 block from the tube, plenty of restaurants in walking distance, quick access to all of London. When I'm back, the Ampersand is where I will stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the great location. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand soon. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Fantastic hotel, centrally located

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The Ampersand was the perfect London hotel for our stay. Centrally located just steps from the South Kensington tube station, it was quiet, comfortable and luxurious. 10/10
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had a fantastic stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location close to the tube and restaurants.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The staff was very nice and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The restaurant downstairs had really great food and the room service food was delicious as well. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Johan, Thank you for your review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent stay at Ampersand Hotel!!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The room was very comfortable. The location was also excellent.
Location: The South Kensington train station is across the street. The hotel is near the Natural History Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum.
We stayed at the Ampersand Hotel for my birthday week. It was a wonderful stay. It was clean and very comfortable. The staff is amazing. The location is also excellent as its very close to the train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Fidel, Thank you for your amazing review. I am delighted we able to make your birthday celebration so enjoyable and the team looked after you so well throughout your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wonderful location in one of the best neighborhood

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The architecture of the elegant townhouse is beautiful and the location is amazing.
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Wander around the shops. Grab a Cramique or Merveilleux at Aux Merveilleux bakery (you will thank me) go into Christies and pretend to be a bidder.
Across from the tube station and a hub for buses this charming hotel is not only a value for the quality but an excellent way to feel like both a local and a tourist. Hyde Park with its beautiful grounds and wonderful museums is right there and the access to everywhere else from the station is so easy. Rooms are nice sized, the staff very helpful and the bed and showers all comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stef, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased you had such a great stay and I look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Tracey