Ratings based on 483 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice neighborhood

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Very convenient, steps away from South Ken station and on the Piccadilly line. Half an hour away from Heathrow. Lots of nice places to eat nearby, and it's easy to walk to Hyde Park and the museums.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Cozy boutique hotel in great neighborhood

Posted Jun 1, 2017
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at The Ampersand and we will return. The location is fantastic, next to great restaurants, V&A museum and close to Hyde Park. Staff is warm and helpful and hotel bar is charming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eileen, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had another wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit. Warm regards, Tracey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and nice accommodations.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: The lobby, the staff, the overall facility were all good
Cons: Need more light in the room
Location: Victoria and Albert museum, Natural History museum, Kensington Gardens, Kensington Palace, Hyde Park
I was only here for one night, and as I checked in early, I quickly accepted the one room they had ready, which was not ideal. Had I been staying longer, I would have held out for a better room, but this one was below average (tiny room, looked out on machinery, poor lighting in the room and no opportunity for daylight to help). Still, the hotel is in a great location -- a quieter neighborhood than many of the more popular ones, but easy access to the Underground, and within a reasonable walk to everything Kensington has to offer (which is quite a bit). It was a good choice, and I'd definitely stay here again, but next time I'll wait for a better room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed with the location of the room and I have shared your comments with regards to the lighting with our Chief Engineer. I am delighted you enjoyed the service provided and your overall stay was an great experience. I look to welcoming you back to The Ampersand the next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Best hotel we have stayed in, in London.

Posted May 24, 2017
Hotel goes out of its way to make guests feel at home, e.g. Free drinks in the rooms, generous quality toiletries, very comfortable beds, great TV and Wi-Fi technology, free use of smart phones, free use of quality umbrellas, prepared to make your own choice of dish in the restaurants, etc. 5 star service at bargain prices for London.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you felt so at home and you had such a wonderful stay. I have shared your lovely comments with the team who appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel near to South Kensington underground

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness, decor, staff and location. Very comfortable beds
The location of the hotel was ideal for the South Kensington underground. It's a 15 minute walk to the Albert Hall and a good selection of cafes etc nearby. Friendly staff with very quick check in and clean comfortable rooms. We stayed as part of a birthday trip and couldn't have been happier with the complimentary gesture including sweets, it was such a personal touch and very thoughtful. The beds were exceptionally comfortable with pillows like marshmallows and quiet rooms that you wouldn't think was in London, I would definitely book to stay here again next time I plan a trip to London. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted we were able to make your birthday celebrations such an enjoyable event and the staff looked after you all so well. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand the next time you are in London. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Loved the location and staff. Loved the heated bathroom floor and the bed and pillows were my favorite of anywhere i stayed. Did not like the hotel restaurant menu. However, room service menu was great ame food was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cathy, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel and good staff

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. very pleasant experience (except the phone issues)
The only problem I had was with the phone and difficulty getting it to work. Otherwise the staff was wonderful and the place was beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great hotel in fantastic location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic experience. Charming hotel, wonderful and helpful staff, incredible location. The complimentary mini-bar and free mobile phone they provided were great touches that we appreciated and took full advantage of. The location was extremely convenient to getting around the city. Only 1/2 block from the tube, plenty of restaurants in walking distance, quick access to all of London. When I'm back, the Ampersand is where I will stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the great location. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand soon. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Fantastic hotel, centrally located

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The Ampersand was the perfect London hotel for our stay. Centrally located just steps from the South Kensington tube station, it was quiet, comfortable and luxurious. 10/10
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had a fantastic stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Tracey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location close to the tube and restaurants.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The staff was very nice and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The restaurant downstairs had really great food and the room service food was delicious as well. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Johan, Thank you for your review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand. Kind regards, Tracey