Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Best staff in London

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The location and facilities of the Atheneum are excellent, but what really set this apart for us was the staff. That were absolutely superb in every way. We travelled with a 9month old baby and they did everything possible to make things easy for us - even sterilized some bottles when we were in a jam. This is now our home away from home in London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Dear Luna, Thank you for your lovely review. We take great pride in being family friendly as we know travelling with little ones can be a challenge. I am delighted the team were able to assist you and look forward to welcoming back soon. Best wishes, Wayne Kerrin Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great location.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The location and staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: It's a short walk to Buckingham Palace and the attractions near the Thames River. The Green Park Underground station is also nearby. Great location.
A very pleasant experience with a professional staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you found the location convenient. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum on your next visit to London. Best wishes, Wayne Kerrin Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Shall definitely return

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location; it's a fairly short walk to Knightsbridge and also to the West End. Nice room decor, very comfortable bed, good sheets, fluffy towels.
Cons: The Internet connection was a little slow at times.
This hotel has a boutique feel. It avoids the impersonal feel of larger hotels and I found all the staff very friendly. The housekeeping staff are excellent. They all seem to be Eastern European and they do their jobs very well. I doubt there are similar indigenous replacements if Brexit results in them returning to their home countries!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed interacting with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Athenaeum soon. Best wishes, Wayne Kerrin Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel is very nice has veriy friendly stuff, but we had a visitor at middle of the night , a mouse! we were moved to a different room, but it was really dicusting my daughter and I couldn't sleep for two nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice family hotel- good location

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We enjoyed our recent stay at the Athenaeum. The check-in was easy and quick and staff was friendly. The Concierge was very helpful and the Doorman welcomed us "home" each day after our excursions. The complimentary bottled water in our room was a nice touch! My only 2 criticisms are that there was not a plug for the hairdryer in the bathroom and that the hotel breakfast was overpriced for what you get. We found several good bakeries within walking distance that were as good and half the price. We will definitely stay at the Athenaeum on our next visit to London. Thank you for helping make our London vacation a terrific one!
3 out of 5
by Nick

Average

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Basic hotel, breakfast slow, bar dead in evening, headed to The Mayfair for atmosphere
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
We emailed the hotel to let them know we would be arriving early due to an early flight. There wasn't a room for us at 12.30 pm which was fine seeing as how check in wasn't until 2. We didn't mind as we left our bags and got some lunch. We arrived back at 2.20 pm thinking we would get a room and a quick shower as we had been travelling since 5 am that same day. After waiting for 15 minutes for someone to be free to see us we were told our room still wasn't ready. The lady asked if we would like a drink while we waited, we accepted the offer. However little did we know at the time that the hotel had to nerve to charge us almost £10 for the lattes which were OFFERED to us because we had to wait for our room. Not wanting to start our weekend in the wrong state of mind, we paid for the coffees. At which point the gentleman (who acted like he was above working with the public) got us our room key. When I asked for our bags which we left earlier, there was over a ten minute wait and faff as the hotel now couldn't locate our bags. After the second failed attempted the gentleman asked me to go with him to locate our bags as the original lady who dealt with us earlier that day hadn't given us a tag. Turns out it was in a back room, on a different floor and right in eye line as by the door to said room. He clearly did not look hard at all. At this point we were massively regretting booking this hotel. The room it's self was fine. Nothing to suggest it's 5 star status. Beds were a
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Service lacking due to busy time of year but always expect someone to take our bags to the room in a 5*. Room good,bed very comfortable,bath a bit small. Breakfast good only bettered if plates were warm. Overall convenient and comfortable hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel with a Great Tradition

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Always love The Athenaeum. They know you when they open the cab door when you arrive. Remarkable to hear you name and welcome back...