Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel is very nice has veriy friendly stuff, but we had a visitor at middle of the night , a mouse! we were moved to a different room, but it was really dicusting my daughter and I couldn't sleep for two nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice family hotel- good location

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We enjoyed our recent stay at the Athenaeum. The check-in was easy and quick and staff was friendly. The Concierge was very helpful and the Doorman welcomed us "home" each day after our excursions. The complimentary bottled water in our room was a nice touch! My only 2 criticisms are that there was not a plug for the hairdryer in the bathroom and that the hotel breakfast was overpriced for what you get. We found several good bakeries within walking distance that were as good and half the price. We will definitely stay at the Athenaeum on our next visit to London. Thank you for helping make our London vacation a terrific one!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
We emailed the hotel to let them know we would be arriving early due to an early flight. There wasn't a room for us at 12.30 pm which was fine seeing as how check in wasn't until 2. We didn't mind as we left our bags and got some lunch. We arrived back at 2.20 pm thinking we would get a room and a quick shower as we had been travelling since 5 am that same day. After waiting for 15 minutes for someone to be free to see us we were told our room still wasn't ready. The lady asked if we would like a drink while we waited, we accepted the offer. However little did we know at the time that the hotel had to nerve to charge us almost £10 for the lattes which were OFFERED to us because we had to wait for our room. Not wanting to start our weekend in the wrong state of mind, we paid for the coffees. At which point the gentleman (who acted like he was above working with the public) got us our room key. When I asked for our bags which we left earlier, there was over a ten minute wait and faff as the hotel now couldn't locate our bags. After the second failed attempted the gentleman asked me to go with him to locate our bags as the original lady who dealt with us earlier that day hadn't given us a tag. Turns out it was in a back room, on a different floor and right in eye line as by the door to said room. He clearly did not look hard at all. At this point we were massively regretting booking this hotel. The room it's self was fine. Nothing to suggest it's 5 star status. Beds were a
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Four Seasons Quality

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Just a fabulous hotel in one of the best locations in London. Staff could not have been better and I am incredibly picky and never write reviews. These guys deserve a shout out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Elegant and unpretentious

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Great location, recently renewed with good size rooms, good service, lovely food, pet friendly and an amazing vibe. I was happy to find this hotel, and I'm looking forward to staying at the Athenaeum again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

great location

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Location
The hotel has an excellent location on Green Park in Mayfair. The hotel is very comfortable and friendly, but not the 5 star hotel it was represented as. A very nice hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Awesome in every way

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Big rooms - new decour - Location, location , location
Cons: bar seems small & tight - but good staff
Location: Everything is a quick walk (shopping) or a 5 minute cab ride - it's the center of town in the best of ways
I usually have a few bad things and a few good things to say - but from start to finish this was amazing. Front desk team took amazing care of me; room was excellent with wonderful views; room spacious and super clean and modern; great tv, lighting, bath amenities - the works. I'll stay here again and again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a welcome return to a newly renovated home

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: the new facilities work extremely well, the large lobby with its speedy check was a pleasant experience, as was the new bar.
Location: perfect position across from the Green Park where a walk is always beckoning
we have been coming to this hotel for years and eagerly awaited seeing how the new renovations fit into the ambiance of what is a very warm and friendly place.I must say it has all come together well, modern touches without the loss of the warm personal touch. Special mention must go to Jeremy Hopkins the General manager who made himself known to all and was gracious and extremely friendly. The manager for customer affairs, Kimm was extremely helpful and arranged special help with our unique needs. All this is done with panache, with smiles and personal attention. You dont get this in larger places, no matter how many stars they may have. I can't say enough about how much we cherish our stay here, it just makes our visits to London so much more pleasurable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Thee doorman was great and the location was super
Cons: Not really bedroom we were in could do with a makeover
Location: Location is the main feature you are in the heart of everything would recommend the park
Overall a good stay the rate was excellent and we would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Well placed for walking London center

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: It was a very comfortable room with excellent bedding. I appreciated being able to take long walks through cityscapes or through nearby parks.
Cons: It was under renovation so a little less pleasant to look at than expected for the price. The bathroom could have used a little more detailed cleaning
Location: I walked to and through Marble Arch, Hyde Park, Green Park, Buckingham Palace, Westminster Cathedral, the London Eye and Pall Mall. Nearby Metro stops
The room was generally clean, with a couple of stains in the bathroom. Very comfortable bed and fun decor. The staff was predominantly Polish and was friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was outstanding and I regret that I had only one opportunity to explore the menu.