Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, B.C.

comfortable stay close to Paddington

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, staff, location, convenience.
Cons: Old facility so temperature management is a challenge.
Location: Transit within blocks, pubs and restaurants within blocks. Walk to Kensington and Hyde Parks.
Location is ideal for transit to tourist sites, at a reasonable cost. Great breakfast to start your day, and comfortable room. Quiet area of small hotels. Laundry on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Utah

Close to Paddington Station

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, wi-fi, location
Cons: Needs Air conditioning.
Location: It's just a couple blocks away from Paddington Station so we were able to zip over to Heathrow airport really fast in the morning.
We thought the bed was comfortable, but small. The bathroom was really clean and the curtains were the good blackout curtains. Breakfast was good and they had a washer and dryer for guests. Wi-fi worked well for us. Our main complaint was that our room was HOT. There is no A/C. There was a fan in the room for us and that helped until the sun set and the room cooled off, but there's no way we could have relaxed in the room during the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

No sleep

Posted Jul 9, 2017
3 adults in tiny room in basement. No light or air circulation. Beds were horribly uncomfortable. Room was clean and staff helpful. Breakfast room was nice and good food selection. Pleasant area close to Paddington st.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great location. Handy for Paddington station and buses into central London. Hyde park 5 minutes walk. Had a lovely room. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely use against
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fiddletown, CA

The Darlington is English Darling

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The charm and quaintness of the English hotel and the employees. Very accommodating.
Location: Good location near Paddington station. Lots of food places. Great walk to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace.
Great hotel near the Paddington station. Very quaint. Very clean and comfortable. Many amenities. Great hot breakfast and breakfast buffet bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Clean and it all works
Location: near Paddington
Good for a hotel of this price in London, the room is "compact" but well equipped and the hotel is well managed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Ok but not great

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I stayed here for 2 nights. I had a single room in the back, so it was relatively quiet without street noise. Ther were, however other guests loudly coming and going at all hours which woke me up several times. I found a bug on the wall and one in my bed.. the bed was not comfortable whatsoever, but it was somehwere to sleep. The room smelly a little stale and musty, and there was mold growing in the corner bottom of the shower door. The shower water pressure was not great but the water was hot so that was a plus. The breakfast in the morning was basic, but good & appreciated. Overall this is not a horrible B&B, but it was very overpriced compared to others in the area. For they reason, I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Nice hotel very close to Paddington station (about a 5-10 minute walk). One note-- There is no air conditioning included with the room, it's an additional cost. Front desk person is businesslike and efficient but not terribly friendly or helpful, so you may not expect recommendations or extra information there.Breakfast attendants are excellent and the breakfast provided is very good. Family room is spacious, clean and well appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Nice hotel close to Paddington Station

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Hotel is situated between Paddington Station and Hyde Park. We had a nice room overlooking Sussex Gardens. Clean bathroom with toiletries topped-up everyday. Excellent full English breakfast served in the conservatory. All staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a pleasant walk from the hotel across Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens towards Albert Hall and on to the museums one morning. A safe in the room (no charge) was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Almonte, Ontario

Excellent location, quiet with good breakfast.

Posted May 21, 2017
Hotel is older, but reasonably well maintained. Our bathroom in room 206 had a very squeaky floor - felt sorry for the room below. Room was small with limited clothing storage, but we managed to figure it out for our 4 night stay. No air conditioning but there was a fan in the wardrobe that helped, but it might be too much for warm summer months. On the plus side, breakfast is quite good and location is fantastic. Paddington tube station is 3 blocks away, Hyde Park is ~5 minutes walk & there are lots of food options close by. Find the Sainsbury's store in Paddington station to pick up your lunch before heading out for sight seeing to save yourself some time and money.