Ratings based on 3,463 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Super convenient and comfortable

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Extremely close to all kinds of amenities; clean; warm.
Location: Convenient access to Charing Cross, Embankment, and numerous buses from Trafalgar Square. Shopping, restaurants and supplies nearby.
I gave this hotel a neutral rating for staff as their touch screen check in/check out terminal meant I didn't interact with a single person during my stay. This is not a complaint by any means. It's extremely convenient, being a short walk from Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, and the Embankment tube station. This made getting around during my stay extremely easy. When I wasn't exploring, my room was a clean, comfortable home base. The bed was cozy, the room was warm, and I got an excellent, undisturbed sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Great location. Stay in "grand" part of hotel instead of "club". It seems newer with higher ceilings. Feels bigger although front desk said square footage the same. Front desk staff upon arrival could have been more friendly. Our check in was very generic with no "welcome to London". Staff got better as week went on and we were offered a map on last day. Nice restaurant in house. Waitress super nice to and friendly. Would stay again due to location but don't expect staff to go out of way or to be extra friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Great Location, great stay

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The hotel is centrally located for all major tourist sites. Although I prefer to walk, there were plenty of transit options available. The room itself was reasonably sized and well equipped including a kettle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis

Great location in the square. Close the museums.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Clean and helpful staff.
Cons: Better coffee.
Location: Close to the museums and theater district.
Clean hotel in a great location with a friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island NY

trafalgar square

Posted Feb 12, 2017
close to tube station. centrally located to most attractions. hotel excellent, friendly staff and clean rooms. very helpful desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
I loved this hotel. I didn't spend much time in it as I was out and about exploring the city. I had absolutely no complaints about this amazing hotel. Make sure to stay here while in London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ST. Louis

Great location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Clean and friendly helpful staff
Cons: Better coffee in rooms
Location: Walking distance to theater district, Chinatown, Westminster Abbey, National Gallery, etc. Tube is outside the door and easy to use.
Great location in west central London. Clean rooms and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Break

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Great location and in quiet road, buses right outside and underground just a short walk.
Cons: the bed is fine but could probably do with replacing in next 12 months.
We chose a small double room at this hotel and it was exactly as we expected. I wasn't sure if the heating was working properly as seemed to take ages to warm up. The bed was ok but I suspect the mattress could do with replacing shortly. The room was clean and the water hot but not great pressure from the shower. Note there is no bath with this type of room but I was happy with just the shower anyway. The hotel is in a perfect location and only a 2 minute walk to embankment underground And ideal for a short break. Most of the day/evening we were out so only used the hotel for getting changed and sleeping which was ideal. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Convenient

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Very friendly, helpful, attentive staff. Great value. Close to everything.
Cons: Upgrade bathrooms and showers.
Location: West End Theaters, Leicester Square, the Strand, Soho, and Covent Garden are all walkable and nearby. The Thames Embankment is just a block away.
The Grand is a wonderfully situated hotel just off of Trafalgar Square. Easy walking to Covent Garden, Soho, Embankment, and West End Theaters. This is our third stay and, for the price, it is a great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel close to various sights in down town lo

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: clean and close to sightseeing.
Cons: room windows to prevent draft.
Location: many things around to see.
The weather was cold and the room window was very drafty. It was difficult to keep the temperature comfortable at night.