Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Sheer Delight!

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The lovely, comfortable and intimate interiors and warm, helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing!!!
Location: Perfect location near many museums (V&A, Natural History, Kensington Court/Gardens, Hyde Park, great shopping, etc.)
A welcoming and lovely hotel in the heart of South Kensington. Delightful dining, living rooms and bar. Superb and attentive staff who make every effort to assist. By far a beautifully run hotel with an intimate atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Heated floor in bathroom, very nice location

Posted May 23, 2017
Easy stay with helpful staff and beautiful homey feel. Excellent bar staff. Purely English sitting/drawing rooms w fireplaces!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The decor is beautiful and the food is wonderful!
Location: Short walk to train station.
This was a wonderful hotel! Beautiful lobby, restaurant and rooms. The employees are super friendly and the location is perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Perfect London Style hotel!

Posted May 17, 2017
What a wonderful place to stay! No doubt there are many options in South Kensington. This one should not be passed up. From the moment we arrived (after a 10 hour flight followed by over an hour in customs) we were greeted by a most helpful staff. The doormen were warm and welcoming, then we met George. George was one of the most accommodating and friendly hotel staff we had ever met. Every time we came down from our room, we had George to greet us. He would find out what our plan was for the day then set us up with transportation and dining recommendations. By the end of our stay it was like he'd become a close friend. Not to be outdone by George, the head bar man Adam was incredible. He had a vast knowledge of drinks and wine (Coming from a former bartender) and we really enjoyed the presentation of his cocktails. I really could keep writing more, but I think you should come see it for yourself.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: The rooms need to be refreshed.
While we only stayed for one night, or about 20 hours before heading home after a 3 week European holiday, the best thing about this hotel was the doorman Martins, the Asian Concierge (his name escapes me) and the Bar supervisor (his name escapes me). From the front desk clerks to the drab and dirty-feeling rooms, it was a real disappointment. With that said, it was nice to have a bar in the hotel so that we didn't have to leave the hotel. The lounge area near the bar is also the best looking place I saw. The manager on duty was gracious and allowed us the choice of choosing an alternate room as the first room was not to our standard. The reception clerks at check-in were very snobbish and didnt pay attention to the details. I decided not to make a fuss because I was very tired and wanted to rest. The area is very posh and pretty with only white, well-maintained row buildings. If you do book a room here take advantage of the views in that area - nice area to walk through. There are eateries within walking distance, but shopping is a bit further. Harrods (along with other shops) is nearby (15-20 minute walk or 8 minutes if by car or bus). There is alot for me to say but the gist of it is that I will not return to this hotel. There are many other true to value 5 star hotel to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Turn off that damn music

Posted May 14, 2017
The Kensington has the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever enjoyed. The hotel is very well maintained and immaculate. It has a terrific location with many shops and restaurants nearby. The nearby tube station makes getting around easy. We also used buses on occasion but the traffic was terrible. Our room was very small with no place to store luggage and a closet which would only hold five or six hangers. The public spaces, restaurant, and bar are handsome and stately. However, they all feature constant music which would not be out of place in an elevator. Drove me crazy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to tube station , restaurants , museums

Posted May 13, 2017
Wonderful staff , welcoming , attentive professional and we can't wait to go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
A comfortable hotel (although rooms are small) with good service - well located. Nice restaurant also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A+

Posted May 5, 2017
Nothing short of an amazing experience. Genuinelt lovely staff. Equally lovely rooms. Would recommend to anyone. Wish there were more hotels like this !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

The perfect combination.

Posted May 3, 2017
The hotel was spotless and the staff extremely accommodating. Close to the Tube, safe surroundings. Enough restaurants nearby and a fabulous Whole Foods within walking distance. I was a solo traveler and this was my second stay at the Kensington. My room this time was smaller than last time but certainly adequate.