Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Excellent location. Very comfortable bed and bedding. Located above a pub but not noisy and handy for wherever you need gpto get to in London.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Tracey Lewis, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you so much for the wonderful review and rating Kind Regards Tracey Lewis GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port St Lucie, Estados Unidos de América

Mad for the Hatter!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Spacious room and loved to learn the history of the location. Good restaurant downstairs. Friendly staff. Laundry service was less costly than other places we've stayed.
Cons: Room 101 was near the hallway exit door and we could hear people going in and out in the morning. It wasn't terrible but it was noticeable.
Location: We thought this was a good location - near the river, shops, and restaurants. The traffic going over the bridge was quite awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoy your stay with us, we will pass the information about the door to our maintenance team. We hope to see you soon. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, United States of America

Small hotel with good location

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: better have AC in summer.
We stayed for 2 nights and have no complaints. Thankfully the weather was great and we didn't need air conditioning (no ac in room).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Tracey Lewis, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you so much for this great review KInd Regards Tracey Lewis GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

We loved everything about it!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Favorite was how comfy the beds were. We both slept really well. Nice to have the fans in the room too.
Cons: More coffee for French press.
Most comfortable beds ever! Room was clean, free wifi, coffee, tea. Hotel staff was great and we also loved the pub. Construction across the street was kinda cool to watch. Would love to go back and see the end result :) We also liked location, nice walk to many attractions and just 3 blocks from Southwark tube stop. I'll recommend this hotel to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Tracey Lewis, Hotel Management
Hi Kathy WOW this review has just blown me away thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a great review and for the recommendation this is amazing Kind Regards Tracey Lewis GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Garden Grove, Ca

Nice Hotel close to Downtown

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: It is clean, newly rebuilt and close to downtown.
Location: Great views of the Thames and bridges. The hotel and bar are nicely kept and stocked.
I had a little trouble finding the hotel due to some construction, but I really liked the hotel and all employees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for this fab review Regards Tracey Lewis General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its not very mad hatter-ish

Posted Jul 2, 2016
demolition going on around the hotel 50 story building under construction. There is no air con, no storage space for 1 never mind 2 people. Food was bad. Oh and there is little mad hatter feel or theme.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hi Im so sorry to hear that we were not to you liking. The Mad Hatter is a old hat factory and although some of the rooms do have 1 or 2 touches of Alice we embrace the hats I will pass on your feedback about the food the the chef Thank you so much for reviewing the hotel Regards Tracey Lewis General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Quirky hotel close to the Thames and very central

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: quirky hotel, great pub food, very central.
Cons: Bathrooms need updating.
Location: Great location close to key attractions and river.
Bubbly, helpful receptionist, great pub food, very central.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hi Thanks for this review all feedback greatly received Regards Tracey Lewis General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Outstanding location.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Helpful staff, great pub, charming rooms. Felt right at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Hi Emma Thank you so much for this review Regards Tracey Lewis General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: breakfast
Location: great. easy walk to underground.
Good location away from main tourist attractions, but easy walk to underground. Breakfast was horrible, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Im sorry to hear you had a terrible breakfast Regards Tracey Lewis General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - nice rooms

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Great location with a nice pub downstairs Easy access to lots of attractions Wonderful staff A little noisy but with all the building work in London you would be hard to find somewhere as quiet