Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Charles, La USA

Fabulous staff!!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
The hotel is on a beautiful, quiet street, with the most incredible staff! From the moment you walk into the very beautiful lobby, to your large very clean room, you are treated like you are their only guest. We can't say enough about the staff, Jorge, Patric, Mark, Tioshi, went beyond their duty to arrange tours, tickets, recommend delicious restaurants. The ambience of the hotel is quiet, comfortable and welcoming, from sitting in the parlor enjoying coffee or enjoying a delicious drink in the bar. We have stayed in five star hotels, but the service and attention by the staff rate this hotel a ten star! We forgot to tell the staff thank you for the gorgeous 4th of July dessert they left in our room! Just another personal touch other hotels don't think about. We spoke with other guest, who will not stay anywhere else while in London, we can't agree more! It will be our hotel from now on, thank you again Jorge, Patric, and the wonderful gentleman who walked us all the way to the tube with our luggage when we departed London!
5 out of 5
by Carol Ann from Connecticut

Enjoy your stay!

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoy the Montague and have stayed there twice. Lovely hotel and staff. Excellent location in Bloomsbury across from the British Museum. Great breakfasts...wonderful terrace for tea...and a super bar in back, which is easy to miss if you don't know it's there. Close to Covent Garden, and a good Italian restaurant, Sartori, at 15 Great Newport Street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo


Posted Jul 3, 2016
スタッフはべたな程に丁寧で親切。 しかし設備の古さは否定できません。 廊下は細く入り組んでおり、万一火災が起こった際に安全に避難できるかどうか、、、。と不安に思っていた折も折、ある朝早く部屋の火災報知機が鳴りました。けたたましい音が炸裂し本当にびっくりして飛び起きました。 誤作動だったのかと思いますが、その後ホテルからは何の説明もありませんでした。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Close to British Museum

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Service was wonderful.
Cons: Room was small.
Location: Walking distance to Covent Garden, British Museum.
The Montague is a great hotel located across the street from British Museum, and is convenient to Holborn and Russel Square tube stations. The room was nice but small. The staff was awesome. The location in Bloomsbury was very convenient for walking to destinations and/or short tube rides to attractions.
5 out of 5
by eti-or from Tel Aviv

Quality of service

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Juergen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A gem

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Well, they can't make the rooms bigger, but maybe next time we'll reserve a larger one.
Location: The British Museum next door is free and fabulous, though we took advantage of special exhibitions for which there was a charge and good audioguides.
We stayed previously at its sister hotel in Chelsea and loved that, but my wife wanted to try this after we had passed it on our way to the British Museum, the entrance to which is around the corner. We arrived a bit early and were welcomed with complimentary tea in their lounge while waiting briefly for our room. The decor of the public and private spaces of the hotel is charming and sophisticated. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable nonetheless and very quiet. The bathroom was comfortable if not spacious. Linens were high quality and the bed comfortable. Lighting, furnishings and HVAC all hit the mark. Wi-fi worked well everywhere we sat. The included breakfast was an excellent buffet and other items were available for purchase if desired. Coffee was excellent and came with real "pouring cream" rather than the wan milk often served elsewhere. We did not have much to request of the staff on this trip, but they were helpful and cheerful. We did not dine at their restaurant but should have, given the paucity of fine dining in the immediate vicinity.
5 out of 5
by CANDACE from Phoenix, Arizona

Lovely Bloomsbury

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
This was our third stay at the Montague. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful! If you need anything just ask!!!
5 out of 5
by Ernie from Colchester


Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
This is a superb hotel, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. The staff are excellent, they're friendly but respectful and make you feel special, as though you're the only people in the hotel. The food is also first class.