Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Very nice, cosy hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Nice and cosy place, just around the corner of the British Museum
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north west.

Disappointing.

Posted Jun 20, 2017
We have stayed at several hotels within this chain and have had enjoyable experiences, hence booked this for our short break in London. The hotel is ideally placed for the tube and Euston station, and the staff were very pleasant. Our complaint is in respect of the standard of hygiene in the dining area where we ate breakfast. The food items that are part of the continental selection, salmon, cooked meats, cheeses etc are placed on a wooden dresser without covers or any means of keeping them cool, as are the juices. We were unable to eat these items as flies were on them. I did point this out to a member of the waiting staff who promptly removed the plate and then brought back what appeared to be the same plate, and the flies were soon on them again. The hot food selection is also not covered and the food was dry. Better hotels we have stayed in have a covered chilled area to place cold foods and milk and juices on, and the hot foods are in containers which close if the lids are left open. The hotel needs to invest in some suitable equipment to ensure guests are not consuming food which could potentially cause illness because either flies have been on it or it has not been kept at the correct temperature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Small room but well located

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful sun room, outstanding location
Cons: size of room?
Location: British museum, gardens
The room was tight but the hotel was beautiful and very conveniently located. Breakfast was very good. Staff were attentive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

wonderful hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
We truly enjoyed our stay at this excellent hotel. The staff were very attentive and our room was beautiful. The best night sleep ever in the most comfortable bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A calm, quiet, small place with excellent location

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Staff: friendly and very helpful. Size: just right for a quiet, calm stay
Cons: The dining experience, for us, was very disappointing
Location: Highly accessible to a wide variety of interesting activities.
Our initial disappointment of a very small room was quickly resolved resulting in a pleasant stay. One very poor meal in hotel restaurant other food, excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Pure English ambiance.

Posted May 9, 2017
This hotel is lovely. If you want to stay in what is what you would imagine to be quintessential English accommodations, you should pick the Montague on the Gardens. The staff is great, the hotel is a gem, and as a plus, it's right across from the British Museum so you can just saunter over and see the Rosetta Stone and other treasures. Also close to the Tube for easy public transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Victorian hotel, very small room

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Afternoon tea, staff, location
Cons: Can the price be more reasonable?
Location: British Museum, UCL, Russell Square, 10 minutes walk to grocery stores
Pros: Nice Victorian furniture, a nice tea room with great afternoon tea, nice and helpful staff, close to UCL and Queen Square, close to Russell Square Station, right next to the British Museum. Cons: Very expensive, room very small with no view and little sunlight. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Overall it was quite nice, but it was extremely expensive for what you get. I was there for business for a week. It cost USD400 a night. I would not have chosen it if it wasn't paid for by work. It cost USD400 a night. The room was tiny, with not much sunlight. Between the desk and the end of your bed, there was barely any room for one to sit in the desk chair to enjoy your tea in the morning. However, there are also lots of pleasant things about this hotel. The furniture is nice and not the cheap kind that many modern hotels use. The restaurant and tea room are nicely decorated and maintained. Afternoon tea was nice (expensive--28 GBP, but pretty standard for a nice afternoon tea in London). The tea was absolutely delicious! Great scones and finger sandwiches, though I would skip the sweet as it's nothing special. The location is good. Just a few minutes walk from Russell Square Station and UCL/Queen's Square (where my work-related business was), and right across the street from the British Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Central location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Fantastic vacation with my son with the hotels help on suggestions. Such nice people and fantastic service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good base for travel around London

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed on our vacation trip to London. The location is very convenient - a reasonable walk to Euston station and to sites like St Paul's and Westminster. The room was nothing remarkable, but the hotel was nice. High tea was a treat, and the Leopard Lounge was a fun place to listen to live music and have a drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Comfortable, cozy place with great location

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Orbitz
It seems very old English house so that gave us a feeling as if we were in a day of 1980s. Due to great location we walked every attractive area. Super friendly staffs but they missed our wake up call, very cozy room but it rather so tiny. Overall it was good stay.