Ratings based on 636 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday trip

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Upgraded to a suite and complimentary breakfast. Polite friendly service and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington, Cheshire

21st Birthday Weekend.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms, the breakfasts.
Cons: Keeping the bar open a little longer than 12 pm midnight.
Location: In the financial district. the underground tube staion of Moorgate was 5 minutes walk away which was useful for getting around the city.
This was our first stay at the Montcalm, but it won't be our last. Exceptional service from start to finish. very friendly attentive, helpful staff, from the receptionists to the concierge, doorman and bellboys. The hotel is very clean, well maintained and the rooms are clean and very comfortable The events staff did an excellent job of making our sons 21st birthday stay special, they decorated his room with balloons, champagne, cider and chocolates, as well as a birthday card from all the staff!, the effort and attention to detail was very much appreciated by all of us but especially the birthday boy!. The breakfast was very good and lots of choice,from continental to traditional English. Overall an exceptional stay at The Montcalm, and we would definitely recommend this to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Fantastic hotel!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We had the most amazing stay, we received a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates in our room on arrival as the staff knew it was our wedding anniversary. The hotel was just lovely and we could not fault anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good standard hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Good hotel. Close to Liverpool St. Close to bars and places to eat. Free fruit in room. I suggest a water dispenser in the gym.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Excellent , highly recommend a stay. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey, Channel Islands

Pleasant centrally based hotel.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: No comment.
Location: No comment.
Staff very friendly and offered me an upgrade upon checking in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Weird Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: No
If you prefer style to function, then this is the place for you. The lobby is fine, the staff are pleasant but, in my humble opinion, the rooms are weird. The main complaint is that you practically need a torch to find your way around in the room - they have what some would call "mood lighting" - I just call it "near darkness2. I could barely see to tie my shoelaces. More than anything I wanted a standad lamp or ceiling lamp with a 150W incandescent bulb! There are little spotlights all over the place so that you can read in bed or see what you are doing on the rather small desk provided. The bathroom has every kind of modern shiny shower and bath facilities - but the water ran out of the basin whilst I was shaving. A triumph of form over function. Oh for a simple rubber plug which works! There was a peculiar blind which, if raised, allowed someone in the bedroom to view their partner on the toilet or in the bath! There was a TV, but the speaker was in the bathroom. Ah well, might be good for some, but I won't return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location in Central London

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The room was luxurious for this price and a reasonable size with a King bed, desk, armoire and many modern electronic features.
Cons: The concierge did not have extensive knowledge.
Location: The tube is so convenient. Moorgate station was about a half km.away.
We stayed here for easy access to both east end and west end and a day trip to Cambridge- it was close to King's Cross station The hotel was comfortable. Staff were extremely professional and attentive and formal. I felt like a high end hotel but with moderate price. We thought it was a great value for the location. The restaurant was good and attracted many who were not even guests at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Quirky hotel,with luxurious facilities.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We were travelling to London for just one night to celebrate our engagement and to look for a ring in Hatton Gardens. We booked a club room,which meant we had access to the club lounge,(think small old fashioned gentlemens club) which allowed us unlimited soft & hot drinks,during our stay. Also included in the lounge access,during the hours of 17:30-1930 were snacks and alcoholic beverages,along with a continental breakfast the following morning. From the moment we arrived everyone was delightful and attentive. We were greeted by Dorina,who had arranged an upgrade to a suite for us,some prosecco & truffles in our room,and even arranged for us to have breakfast in the adjoined Chiswell Street dining rooms. We were overwhelmed with the welcome and thoughtfulness of this. We had a truly wonderful stay,albeit short,where we relaxed,indulged and enjoyed being spoilt with the extras we were given. The hotel is spotless,luxurious,in a great location and the staff were second to none! Thanks to all the team,in particular Dorina,look forward to staying again soon. Ps the beds are THE comfiest ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully unique hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The hotel is in an old brewery (as explained by the concierge taking us to our room) and as such is like a rabbit warren where opulence and luxury could be around the next corner. Attentive staff and great city location.