Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jinghao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Lovely hotel close to transport. Good price.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Easy to reach from underground stations. Helpful staff and reasonable price. Includes continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ABIT OF CLASS

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: EVERYTHING GREAT
Cons: ALL GOOD
EXCELLENT HOTEL,GOOD STAFF.SERVICE.VERY HAPPY WITH EVERYTHING
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, reasonable value.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Was only a quick 48 hours in London on the way to a business event. Tube to / from LHR was very convenient. If you like to walk, this location is great to get in and out of London (Oxford Street area) 30 minutes each way. Continental breakfast was basic but could be upgraded for GBP5 daily for what looked like a decent cooked breakfast. Was better value than Kensington area I stayed last year for similar money. Bigger room, better overall environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Convenient location

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Overall experience was great. However, our first hand experience with the front desk receptionist was appalling. She was rude and not welcoming. She needs some training on how to treat guests and reminded that we are the ones paying her salary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean and very central Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel very easy to find at Russell Square very near Cambridge Theater, Soho We could check in already at 12 noon instead of 2 pm and could leave our luggage for 50 p in the Hotel storeroom after checking out. 2nd Floor, our Floor, was a Building site but we were not disturbed with noise as we left at 1 pm and came back only at midnight. Building noise only started next day at 10 am after breakfast. Bar very cosy and food was still available at 11 pm at the Day Café Hotel Connection. Only 2 bath towels and no hand towels so that one had to use the bath matt for drying his hands. Cooked Breakfast very good but no cheese and/or cold meats for me (German). Very good value and we will stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Well located Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location. Value for money.
Cons: Refurbishment
Location: Pubs, shops restaurants all nearby.
Hotel is well placed to access central London. Staff very friendly but facilities a bit tired. Room need a refresh too -single glazed windows with an extremely noisy extractor of some variety outside it really did not make for a good night sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Clean, comfortable and adequate.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Very slow lift
Location: The Russell Square Tube station for the line to Heathrow Airport is right next door
The single rooms are all on the 7th floor and there is one extremely slow lift to that floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair for the price

Posted Nov 14, 2016
It wasn't luxury, but it was adequate, and fair for the price. I spent a week in a twin room with my octogenarian mother on a November theatre-and-museums binge. Good points: the rooms had been renovated so, although pretty basic, were clean and pleasant; the staff are friendly and helpful; the location is ideal. Bad points: the breakfast is crap, but that's true of any non-luxury hotel in the UK - fill up on weak coffee and toxic white toast then head for Pret an hour later...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just awful

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: just the location
Cons: everything
Location: 2 minutes away from russel square tube station which is 3 stops away from the circus. tesco express is just across the station.
I dont even know where to begin .... there are so many of them , and all bad ... 1. checking in - reception manager asked me with a superior attitude for my voucher , told her i didnt have it , she was like what ? i was like what what ? its the first time ive been asked that and have stayed in hotels all over the world, you have my reservation in your system , this is my id , what else do you need ? total bummer. the only staff member which was actually helpful was the bellboy who helped us with our luggage. 2. the hotel is so nosy, woke up 2 out of 3 mornings with impossible sounds : one morning from a drilling machine inside the hotel at 9 AM , i mean who the hell does this ? and the second one from a vacuum cleaner about the same time .... i mean what the hell guys , people are resting .... 3. the hallways make you feel like youre in a colleague dorm, the cleaning staff is always leaving stuff on the hallways , the entire hallway is filled in the morning with cleaning materials, bed sheets, trash , etc all over the place 4. the room size is ok, but the furniture is very outdated, looks like the 90's , the beds are just awful, they are on wheels and everytime you sit you move around with the bed, ive even come close to falling one time, they move around like crazy 5. breakfast - it says continental, dont be fooled, just bread and butter with jam and cereals, no pastry , no fruits, no nothing. should have stated spartan continental as this was not an ordinary one.