Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Lovely hotel close to transport. Good price.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Easy to reach from underground stations. Helpful staff and reasonable price. Includes continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Convenient location

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Overall experience was great. However, our first hand experience with the front desk receptionist was appalling. She was rude and not welcoming. She needs some training on how to treat guests and reminded that we are the ones paying her salary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Well located Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location. Value for money.
Cons: Refurbishment
Location: Pubs, shops restaurants all nearby.
Hotel is well placed to access central London. Staff very friendly but facilities a bit tired. Room need a refresh too -single glazed windows with an extremely noisy extractor of some variety outside it really did not make for a good night sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Clean, comfortable and adequate.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Very slow lift
Location: The Russell Square Tube station for the line to Heathrow Airport is right next door
The single rooms are all on the 7th floor and there is one extremely slow lift to that floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair for the price

Posted Nov 14, 2016
It wasn't luxury, but it was adequate, and fair for the price. I spent a week in a twin room with my octogenarian mother on a November theatre-and-museums binge. Good points: the rooms had been renovated so, although pretty basic, were clean and pleasant; the staff are friendly and helpful; the location is ideal. Bad points: the breakfast is crap, but that's true of any non-luxury hotel in the UK - fill up on weak coffee and toxic white toast then head for Pret an hour later...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just awful

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: just the location
Cons: everything
Location: 2 minutes away from russel square tube station which is 3 stops away from the circus. tesco express is just across the station.
I dont even know where to begin .... there are so many of them , and all bad ... 1. checking in - reception manager asked me with a superior attitude for my voucher , told her i didnt have it , she was like what ? i was like what what ? its the first time ive been asked that and have stayed in hotels all over the world, you have my reservation in your system , this is my id , what else do you need ? total bummer. the only staff member which was actually helpful was the bellboy who helped us with our luggage. 2. the hotel is so nosy, woke up 2 out of 3 mornings with impossible sounds : one morning from a drilling machine inside the hotel at 9 AM , i mean who the hell does this ? and the second one from a vacuum cleaner about the same time .... i mean what the hell guys , people are resting .... 3. the hallways make you feel like youre in a colleague dorm, the cleaning staff is always leaving stuff on the hallways , the entire hallway is filled in the morning with cleaning materials, bed sheets, trash , etc all over the place 4. the room size is ok, but the furniture is very outdated, looks like the 90's , the beds are just awful, they are on wheels and everytime you sit you move around with the bed, ive even come close to falling one time, they move around like crazy 5. breakfast - it says continental, dont be fooled, just bread and butter with jam and cereals, no pastry , no fruits, no nothing. should have stated spartan continental as this was not an ordinary one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Easy 2 minutes walking from the underground station.
Cons: Bed is a little bit uncomfortable. Continental breakfast is very poor so we had to pay 5 GBP for full breakfast, full breakfast is ok.
Great location, friendlly staff. Used the hotel only for sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent place to stay, but no AC.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
This hotel was decent, but our room had no AC. The room was small but pretty comfortable, the weather helped since it wasn't hot. Also, the toilet is strange, it sometimes doesn't flush and when it does, it really flushes. Seems like the water tank (?) is linked with other toilets, so if someone else flushes, we can't flush until the water tank if filled again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Inexpensive at a good location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location (see below), and comfortable at a good price.
Cons: Breakfast... additional cost for very traditional British fare (white bread, etc.); the rather down-market décor.
Location: Handy for Russell Square underground station (direct link to Heathrow), Brunswick Centre (excellent retail and restaurants... especially Carluccio's).
Spent a couple of days at the President, chosen because of location (including easy access to/from Heathrow via Piccadilly Line) and price. Bloomsbury always worth exploring, and an easy walk to most of central London. The hotel has a definite aura of mass tourism (coach parties and students included) and my room, while hardly glamorous, was comfortable, quiet and included a shower (lots of hot water), kettle and free WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Excellent Location, Helpful Staff, Mediocre Food

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were most helpful with whatever we requested.Somewhat noisy with windows open, but close the windows and it was really quiet.
Cons: It is not ecologically friendly nor makes sense to change bedding and towels every day for a 3-night stay.Savings on laundry and staff could be made.
Location: Since the British Museum is free and 5 mins. away it is possible to make several short visits rather than being overwhelmed with one full-day visit.
Stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting London. Excellent location for British Museum (5 min. walk through Russell Square), tube, restaurants, shopping.