Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Good hotel but dishonest pricing policy. The price advertised for a pre ordered breakfast was £12.50. When I paid for the 3 we had had I was charged £39.99 plus VAT. No mention of the price quoted excluding VAT (I have never stayed at any hotal where food prices are not inclusive of VAT) and £39.99 divided by 3 is £13.33, not £12.50, so not sure what the additional 83p is for. Would not go back again because of this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Colm Kelly, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Our breakfast price is £16 per person, £48 incl vat, £40 excluding VAT. Since many guests reserve on a room only basis, we have a breakfast promotion only available in the hotel by purchasing vouchers in advance at Reception. The voucher is £12.50 for adults, £6.50 for children 6 - 12 and kids 0-5 are free. I trust this clarifies the matter. We very much hope you will give us a second chance. Sincerely Colm Kelly, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Queens gate

Posted Feb 3, 2017
The check in was a bit slow. Cracked tiles on the bathroom floor and dust on the skirting boards. The food was good but limited tables in the bar. Room was quite hot and air con did not cool the room other wise a quiet stay and close to the albert hall
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Colm Kelly, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We will address the technical and housekeeping issues immediately. Glad you enjoyed the food. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely Colm Kelly, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean But Don't Expect Too Much

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
I would say the hotel is about 3 stars in services and the property itself. It is a bit dated, but the location is excellent for our purpose of stay. My son went to a course in Imperial College for one week, and the hotel is literally opposite to the University. Transport is very convenient as well, 6 minutes walk to Gloucester Road tube station, and there is a bus stop outside the hotel. The room rates was a bit overpriced but as some others here said it was in the popular area of London, so can't complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, close to London museums

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Very convenient location, easy to get around.
Cons: The bed that we had sagged a little bit, so this could be improved
Location: Victoria & Albert, Natural History and science museums, Harrods, Hyde Park, Kensington Palace and Gardens all very close and within walking distance.
Hotel is very well located in South Kensington within walking distance to the Natural History, and Victoria and Albert museums. Also close to Hyde park and Kensington Palace and generally easy to get around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
I really enjoyed staying at the Queen's Gate Hotel. It was close to the attractions I was interested in. I would definitely stay here again the staff was very friendly the room was clean you even got the use of a kettle with coffee and tea service in the room for free I had a few meals in the restaurant and they were excellent and they had a breakfast buffet in the morning which was also excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in great location

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay in this hotel. Huge rooms within walking distance to London City and all to sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, UK

Great location lovely hotel Fantastic Value

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Location and cost
Was going to the Royal Albert Hall and booked this as it was just 5 minutes walk away. Considering the cost I was surprised how nice the hotel was. Lovely staff, nice room. Kindly let me have a late check out. Will use again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Excellent location

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Bar area
Cons: The bathroom was a little small
Location: 4mins walk to Albert Hall, if that!
Excellent hotel if you're going to the Albert hall or the Science, Natural history or Victoria & Albert museums. Lovely clean hotel. Nice bar area. Reasonably priced drinks (bottle of white wine was only £18). Staff were helpful. Room was quite spacious even though we only booked a standard room. The bathroom was a little on the small side but this was no major problem, so on the whole, this was a very pleasant stay in a very pleasant reasonably priced hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy walk to the Royal Albert Hall

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: It's position
Cons: Replace the bath!
Location: The Royal Albert Hall Nearby bus stops
Very helpful staff. Only problem was that I was unable to use the shower. The shower was over a very high, steep sided bath and I cannot lift my leg that high. My husband managed but with difficulty.