Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North 4414

The Ritz London.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The above Pros.
Cons: The above Cons.
Location: Nearby Parks i.e. Green Park, St James Park & Hyde Park.
Pros: Hotel: Clean & tidy. Room: Clean & tidy. Luggage Porters: Excellent. High Tea: Excellent. Cons: Not shown how the room door key worked. Not able to sit on the toilet straight. Drapes: Let light in from the sides & center top. Mobile phone for use did not work. No complimentary coffee or tea or Espresso maker in room. On returning to our room one evening there was Hotel advertising left all over our bed. Concierge gave us wrong information. Disappointing check out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

They should have told us about the noise.

Posted May 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Absolutely stunning. But on a Saturday night they have a live band, which is great for guest downstairs but not great if your room is directly above. We got back from the theatre sat downstairs and enjoyed some champagne and the atmosphere for another hour, then went up to our room... the base may as well have been in the room. Absolutely horrendous. We had another 1hr of it. When we complained they sent up free tea! On a side note the couple next door were arguing and if you have an adjoining door you can hear everything. But that was just bad luck, not hotels fault. When we complained the next morning we were told "oh yes everyone complains from those rooms!" Not impressed. Not at all. Really crappy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location terrible reception service

Posted May 1, 2017
I have sent you an email regarding our rooms when we first received them. After many emails to the hotel confirmnibg that we will be arriving at 3pm, when we reached at 4 our tooms were not ready! We were told to sit and wait! After explaining that this was unacceptable and that we should receive our rooms by the hotel code at 2 and check out at noon, us coming in at 4 and they knew that we were even checking in at 3 and the rooms were not even ready and they still needed them to be cleaned and we had to wait was unacceptable! The staff didn't care, we still received them late only to receive them with the worst view ever( please refer to my previous email sent to you). That night, there was v loud music coming from their bar restaurant and we couldn't sleep, the other room had a terrible noise whenever the adjacent rooms wanted to use the toilets! It was a horrible night. After contacting the manager, as you have advised, one room was upgraded m, the second was given within the same category but on s higher floor. Still the rooms were old, the upgraded room was larger but not at all updated. To tell you the truth, it seemed they have given us the worst rooms cause we booked through Expedia to get better rates! Not only this, at the end they miscalculated our hill and charged an extra 121 pounds which we then called them and they promised to reimburse! Horrible hotel staff on the reception and customer service, however their concierge service was top.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

wonderful hotel in the heart of everything

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: New mattresses on the beds.
Location: Couldn't be better. Near the theater district, shopping, and Buckingham Palace. Plus it is only a couple of blocks to a tube station.
The hotel is marvelous. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The rooms are lovely, although the mattresses could use some updating. We throughly enjoyed ourselves and hope to return to the hotel in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

What it means to stay in a five star hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: location, elegance, room comfort, exceptional service
Cons: cannot think of anything
Location: We looked at a map of London and circled all the places we wanted to see. Then we looked at Orbitz's hotel map and found the very best located hotel,
When my niece and I picked The Ritz it was because we wanted to stay in the most beautiful, fairy tale experience, elegant, and best located historic hotel in London. What we got was so much more. We got an education about what it really means to stay in a five star hotel. Every wish we had was granted. - We received our requested room, several hours early, upon our arrival, with tea and cookies delivered to the room with our luggage. - We decided to see the best show in town - Kinky Boots - on Thursday and The Ritz obtained for us the best seats in the house for Friday night. - We had almost forgotten to have High Tea - and the Ritz put us in - without a reservation - between two scheduled tea times - because providing over the top service to their guests is what they do. - Every day we started our day at the concierge desk where we felt we were working with good friends or even loving relatives to plan our day and make sure we had the very best experience possible. Until we stayed at The Ritz I didn't understand the incredible value that comes with what for my budget is a very expensive hotel room. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Katherine

Great experience

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Nicest hotel I have ever stayed in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Wow. Service, elegance and location.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Absolutely beautiful and full of old world charm and elegance. Concierge staff is second to none.
Cons: Internet access was spotty. Signal dropped frequently.
Location: Near everything!!! Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly Circus, etc....
Unbelievable!! I have been extremely fortunate to stay at many of the world's great hotels and resorts, but this was my first time at the Ritz London. I have stayed at other Ritz properties, but this one is special. You are greeted at the door by a very friendly, helpful and courteous gentleman in a tuxedo and hat. Classy. Once inside you are captivated by the old-world charm, beauty and elegance of days gone by. Everyone is dressed formally. The hallway 'shines'. High tea packs the corridor. Rooms are larger than I expected, still a bit small by US standards, but nice size by european standards. The rooms are meticulously furnished with period antiques.The high ceilings, ornate trim, and good sized bathroom were a pleasant surprise. This place is a must for those that like to be in the middle of it all and get pampered along the way!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
close to all attractions, great service, excellent staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Nice luxury hotel, great location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We stayed at Ritz for three nights. Overall the hotel is nice, very well decorated. The staff were nice and helpful once they knew that you were staying at the hotel. They didn't let customers to visit the garden which was disappointing. The sofa bed was old and it was not comfortable. It doesn't match 5 stars hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Gorgeous hotel with the best staff in the world.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The staff, the dining room, the location, the staff.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Great shopping very near and Green Park is just around the corner.
The Ritz is a storied hotel. The rooms are gorgeous and the Palm Court is the best place for tea. But what makes the Ritz London particularly lovely is the staff. Everyone is helpful, polite and immaculate in their dress and manners. There are other top hotels to stay at while in London but none of them compare to the Ritz in terms of service.