Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Great ambiance, fantastic staff and obv a great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best kept secret

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
I had a lovely stay in this beautiful place. I especially appreciated the homey feel during a business trip and the staff was super friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy Georgian Folly

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
We loved everything about our stay. From the well appointed room to the friendly and accommodating staff, it was delightful. Very close to the Farringdon Underground Station in historical Clerkenwell. All rooms have names assigned to them of past local residents or merchants of note (more specifically past tenants) which added a layer of curiousity to our stay. Our room was cozy but accommodating enough for two people. There are larger rooms, but I'd stay in this room again.The bathroom was a fun feature, with antique porcelain fixtures, including a large bathtub with brass fittings and a toilet with a tank that fills above and flushes by pulling a chain. The hotel feels more like a house. There are guest areas with a parlor or lounge that make perfect meeting rooms,with a warm and friendly atmosphere. And finally, if you like cats, Lady Gray might come visit you on the sofa. You might find yourself nodding off beside her.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort and luxury

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 4 nights at The Rookery and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff went out of their way to welcome us, happily storing our stuff until the room was vacant for check-in. The room was spotlessly clean and the whole property has a vintage charm. The bed was very comfortable, the WiFi worked fine throughout, the honesty bar in the lounge was a nice idea, and although we didn't use the in-room breakfast / dining options it looked like a good selection. Throughout our stay we were always greeted with a smile. If you're not on a tight budget, and looking for a well-located option with great service and a romantic air, we'd happily recommend The Rookery.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming bed and breakfast style hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was perfect as the room was quiet, bed comfortable and deep bath tub with piping hot fast water. The only negative is non guests are not allowed to come for a drink after 11pm, even if well behaved and dressed, and I porter service given there is no elevator. Receptionist at check in were great and different people at check out were more, alright bye without offering help with luggage or calling a cab for you. The tea trays were charming worth the cost, breakfast was fair as there are other better breakfast options outside the hotel. Would I go back, absolutely but will insist on a room lower to the ground level.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W Sussex

Charming hotel, great location - but no shower

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Unique place - very cosy and homely with bags of character.
Cons: Not all rooms have a shower - only a bath instead. This may not be an issue for some people but was a rather unwelcome surprise to us.
Location: Great location - so many things to do nearby and a nice walk to Holborn and Covent Garden
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly comfortable hotem

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable friendly hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive but high quality

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Couldn't really fault the location, room or service. Quiet & spacious room with comfortable bed. Interesting vintage communal areas make this hotel a superb place to stay if you have time to lounge around. Only quibble - didn't like the "throne" toilet (up steps from bathroom). Didn't eat at this hotel during my one night stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel of character

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
A hotel of real character. It made staying there an lovely experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant, old school

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Accommodating staff, lovely property.