Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent service in a lovely old English setting

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Service was exquisite! Mark the night manager was endlessly patient, cheery and unobstrusive with guests who were enjoying the sitting room at night.
Cons: The old-school bathtub and no standing shower might not to be everyone's liking.
Location: Located a stone's throw away from Farringdon station, the location is convenient while being a relatively quiet spot in the middle of central London.
Lovely and well-appointed boutique hotel that has all the old world charm you would expect from the pictures. The limitations of the old building (no elevator, dim interior, etc.) are more than adequately addressed by the thoughtful staff who always offered help, and went beyond in most situations to accomodate any additional requests. The presence of an 'Honesty Bar', where guests could help ourselves to a liquor and cocktail cabinet and simply write our purchases down in a book by the bar, perfectly demonstrates the attitude with which the Rookery treats it guests - you feel like friends of the generous hosts, not hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Interior is excellent, hotel staff is kind. Definitely want to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Lovely staff, convenient & interesting location.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Charming, good-humored, and truly helpful staff. Nice sitting rooms. Terrific location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Style Comfort

Posted May 4, 2017
Location: Lots of nearby restaurants, pubs and shops.
Great location near Farringdon Station. Well decorated comfortable rooms. Friendly staff too.
5 out of 5
by Tim

Sleeping in a historical cocoon

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely character hotel, warm, very comfortable, in a great area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, CA

Wonderful hotel near Farringdon station

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above- and if they could add coffee/tea machine
Location: Easy walk to St. Paul's Cathedral. Also London Museum. Tube half a block away. Many restaurants, pubs and a Starbucks.
The staff were very helpful at all times of the day/night. I left my luggage there when I went on a tour and they had my suitcase in my room when I checked in. The room itself was beautiful- beautiful wood furniture, nice mattress, discrete room bar, bathroom/shower. The common room was comfortable and small courtyard very pretty. You need to be able to haul luggage up/down stairs. If I had asked for help (I should have) I am sure they would have assisted. Very close to Smithfield Market- could hear noise from that but if windows open could hear lively local pubs. Fabulous local Italian restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Winona

Uniquely luxurious

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room was gorgeous, the location was excellent, and the staff were perfect. We had room service for breakfast a few times and once for dinner, and used the laundry service once. All were quite good, a bit pricey but with luxury flourishes. We chose this hotel wishing the place we slept to be a part of a unique London experience and we were not disappointed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
The Rookey Hotel was absolutely amazing. From the extremely friendly and helpful front desk staff to the amenities in the room, this is a 5 star hotel. The rooms are all unique and feature beautiful decor. They offer 24/7 room service and a small bar within your room if you don't feel like venturing out. The location of the hotel is great as well, very close to a tube station and in the middle of an assortment of restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
by chris

sophisticated and elegant

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
my favourite hotel when visiting London. Slick, quiet and oozing with stylish elegance. Not big not brash just understated class! Sophisticated lounges and décor are a trip back in time. Superb - always has been!
3 out of 5
by Mitsuko

Dark and noisy

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
This can be a very noisy hotel as the local shops tend to get their deliveries around 12.00 midnight or maybe later. This was our experience and even after switching rooms still got noise on third floor. Rooms can be quite dark. If you are coming here by car try pre-booking with NCP at Saffron hill . We both suffered from insect bites the following day - cannot prove this is the hotel's fault but it would appear to be more than a coincidence! This is not a cheap hotel - better value can be had at Club Quarters which is not that far away and so much quieter (and cleaner). Would not hurry back here.