Ratings based on 970 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful hotel-professional staff-great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Large rooms, very clean, great location and a professional staff.
Cons: I really can't think of anything. There were a couple small issues with the room but the staff addressed them immediately.
Location: There are some great small restaurants within easy walking distance.
We booked this hotel through Expedia as an add-on to our flight. Our flight landed shortly before 6 am and we arrived at the hotel around 9:00 am. We were expecting to drop our luggage off and go site seeing until check-in time, but they allowed us to check in early. After a miserably cramped overnight flight, we were thrilled to freshen up in our room. The staff at the hotel is very professional and accommodating. The hotel itself is beautiful. They have done a great job of keeping the beautiful original structure of the hotel while providing modern updates. Our room was large and had ample space for two. The bathroom was large and very clean. If we stay here again, we will book directly with the hotel rather than through Expedia because the hotel offers free breakfast if you book directly with them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for the gracious review. I'm so pleased that we had a bedroom ready for you after a long flight. We do indeed take great pride in our listed Victorian building and boasts many of it’s original features, including the beautiful tiled floors as well as the crystal glittering chandeliers. We would love to host you on your next visit to our lovely city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth staying here

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: The beds are double only.
Location: Everything's close
Great location. Walking distance to all London iconic attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hi and thanks for leaving a rating and the comments. On your next stay please let our team know your bed preference - we have twin and king beds available too. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our 5 star hospitality and found our location superb! We cannot wait to welcome you back for another super stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS Canada

Fantastic Location and Beautiful Historic Building

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: A magnificent old building, thoughtfully updated with all the conveniences one expects at the price and some much-appreciated extras (bottled water).
Cons: The interior-facing rooms should be phased out as, for the price, they are not adequate nor pleasant.
Location: Sitting pretty right on the Embankment looking down to Westminster and within a few blocks of Trafalger Square, everything is within easy reach.
My first - but not last - stay at the Royal Horseguards which is wonderfully located for exploring the heart of London on both sides of the Thames with the foot bridge across just a stroll away. There were a few 'settling in' problems made worse as I had injured my foot and was using a cane but, eventually, things were straightened. I had read that there were 'interior facing' rooms (i.e. looking into nowhere with frosted windows) and, as a woman travelling alone, I wasn't surprised to be shown to one - which I refused. The second room on offer, despite my request for a tub, had a shower only. The third one was a winner and a very obliging bellman made the trek back and forth with me but, seeing I was getting tired, engineered the move to the final room on my behalf. Ordered from room service one night and was pleasantly surprised (although anything other than the main ingredient has to be ordered separately - even a piece of bread). Staff were very helpful generally.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you had to view a few rooms until you were settled in. I am however pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location and regal building. Thanks for confirming that you will return - it would our pleasure to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Great place to stay. Wonderful rooms. Attentive staff. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you do much for the 5 stars! Our hospitable team will be so pleased that you had a great stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Not bad.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
During my staying in the hotel I was not able to order regular food to my room after 10 pm. Only Indian food was available after 10 pm. It is because the chief was an Indian. I like indian food but not every singe day. Another issue happened to me is rudeness of an Indian reception man. He was very impolite with me and spoiled my vacation. Overall staying was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your feedback. Sorry that you did not like our room service night menu - we do try to include a number of options including sandwiches. We are however pleased to know that overall you had a 5* stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Great location in the heart of London and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thanks for the comments. Our location is indeed super. Perfect for business or leisure. Our charming team will be delighted to welcome you back very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great location, lots of tourist attentions easily within walking distance, such as trafalga square, Buckingham palace, and the London eye. plus the subway station is very close as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hi! I'm delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel with a Great Location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Hotel is nicely furnished with attentive staff. The location is terrific for site seeing.
Cons: Seemed odd to walk through everyone having High Tea in order to get to the elevator
Location: London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, Buckingham Castle
Initial room was very hot with no air conditioning. Staff was attentive and moved us to a new room right away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hi and thank you for the feedback! As our guest comfort is of the utmost importance I am so pleased that we were able to move you to another bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back to our regal hotel for another super stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Royal Horseguard Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very nice historical hotel and verify cozy. Very pleasant and helpful staff specially the concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hi and thanks for the super rating! Concierge will be delighted by the mention. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very kind staff and perfectly central location. The double beds are a touch on the small side but otherwise the rooms were very clean and confortabkl
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hi and thanks for the comments. I'm so happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We would love to have you visit very soon!