Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Convenient location

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: I guess it would be hard to make the rooms larger.
Location: Train and tube stations very convenient. Easy to walk to Hyde Park. Some good restaurants nearby.
Hotel location was great for getting to and from Paddington train and tube stations. And there were some good restaurants nearby. However, the rooms were quite small. Hard to walk around the bed and little room to put suitcases. Our room had a reasonable sized shower, but my daughter's room had a very tiny shower. Overall, the stay was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really bad

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Very small room on a badly lit basement floor. Very noisy and expensive. Don't stay there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Close to train station, helpful staff,'fresh flowers in room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK in a sea of options

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Clean. Breakfast was good. Great location
Cons: Halls are noisy, slamming doors in the morning as people get started
Location: Location is great, one block from Paddington. Short walk to many museums and parks.
Room was very small, bed was smaller. In fact, I don't think it was much larger than a sleeping bag. Luckily I was not there to stay in the room. Staff was very nice, but don't look for ambiance in the hotel itself. The bar and the restaurant are both in the basement as are a number of rooms, mine included. The rooms are very well kept though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exmouth Devon UK

Hotel very convenient for Paddington

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: It's location.
Location: Perfect for Paddington Station and within easy walking distance of Central London..
The hotel was a bit poky but the rooms were clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We booked a family room for three people which would have been tight for a fourth person. Literally around the corner from Paddington Station which is why we booked it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute little rooms

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Very nice rooms.
Cons: Please make the showers larger.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants just around the corner. The Paddington rail station also not far away.
The rooms were quite nice, with the exception that the shower was uncomfortably small. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Nice hotel close to Paddington station.

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Room, staff, breakfast and convenience to excellent transport system to the rest of London.
Location: Close to Paddington Station and good local restaurants.
Nice hotel with nice comfortable room. Good breakfast with everything you could want . Helpful staff. Part of our city break was to attend a production at the 02 Arena. As Paddington Station was practically next door we used the underground services to get there within 25 minutes. In fact we used this as our 'local' underground the whole weekend to get to wherever we wanted to go. Very convenient . Also there are some excellent restaurants within walking distance. Our favourite was an Italian restaurant with good food and atmosphere. (Live music some nights). We are having another city break later in the year and will be booking into the Shaftesbury Premier Hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Smaller than average room!

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: Size of room.
Location: Convenient for Paddington station
We arrived late at night after a long journey from Australia to find we'd been put into a room with no room to swing a cat! The double bed could only be accessed from one side as it fitted between two walls exactly....no room to get passed the end of bed. The ensuite likewise was very small. With little room to turn around in the shower and had to sit at an angle on the toilet to avoid knees hitting the wall! The dining room. A good selection for breakfast but the tables had stains on them and no table clothes. All in all a very disappointing hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very convenient small room

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Location: Five minute walk to Paddington Underground station
The room was small, as was known from other reviews. So I knew that going in. Room was clean, bed was comfy, location was excellent, price was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Small Room no facilities

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: The room was clean
Cons: This room needs to be turned into a single bed room. It needs a desk to work at and at needs the shower to be fixed.
Location: Location is great as it is near Paddington station, thus has easy access to anywhere in London.
The room was very small and could fit a working table which is required when you travel for business. More so even for a couple, (this was a double room) who come for vacation it is not an inviting room as you can't move in it. The heating did not work to well and the room temperature was to low. Finally the head of the top shower was old/stuffed and the water was sprinkling all around rather then coming strait down. Had to use the hose.