Ratings based on 734 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

交通の便がよい

Posted Aug 1, 2015
部屋が狭く、スーツケースは広げられない。排水溝の問題だと思うがシャワーの水の流れが悪かった。寝るだけであれば交通の便は非常に良い。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Good hotel with good connections

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: I liked the staff and the rooms.
Cons: -
Location: -
The hotel was very clean, close to the Underground and the Paddington railway station. Straight express train to Heathrow runs every 15 minutes and travel time is 15-20 minutes. Three underground lines run in the nearby station. Hotel was very clean and staff were friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not so pleasant room

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: location to Paddington Stations
Cons: a different room
Location: only spent one night
Although the staff was pleasant and wanted to be helpful, the room had a very strong and unpleasant odor. There was a very strong EMF signal as well, as it is near cell phone tower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gb

Lovely welcome by staff

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Great hotel for location, good rooms, breakfast lovely
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

OK if it's cheap...

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Absolutely miniscule room, even by European standards. Toilet was full of brown water twice when returning to the room and once overnight, made the whole room stink. Hotel shows its age as the carpets were getting past replacement time. won't be returning
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Practical location if you need to be close to the Paddington Station
This hotel is poor value for the money - find somewhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The architecture, the comfortable furniture, the kindness and help offered by every staff member, the wonderful location, and flowers in the room.
Cons: The price of breakfast was quite high, but I have no other complaints.
Location: Walking distance to Hyde Park, Kensington Park, St. James' Park, Buckingham Palace, the Victoria and Albert Museum, Notting Hill, Portobello Road...
Little did I know when I booked the Shaftesbury Premier Hotel Paddington through Expedia that I was about to have one of my childhood dreams come true. I have visited London often, but stayed at the YWCA, or with friends that lived "in the outskirts" of London - usually about an hour away by train. This time I was looking for somewhere safe, clean and close to the theatre district. The reviews I read online made me nervous as they talked about how small the rooms were but that one could stand it for a weekend. After checking the prices of many others, I found the price quoted by the Shaftesbury Premier Paddington to be about average for London, so I booked ten nights in what was called a Deluxe Twin room by Expedia and a Club Room by the hotel. I expected an average London hotel but it turned out to be in the area and style of the buildings I had imagined through reading, watching movies and walking in the area as a student! Although I would not have agreed with Expedia that it was in the theatre district, it was in an excellent location - three blocks from the Paddington train station that runs express trains to Heathrow airport; about seven blocks of pretty architecture from Hyde Park leading to the other large central parks and Buckingham Palace; within walking distance to many of the attractions we wanted to see; had good restaurants around the corner, and was four blocks from the Tube, with four underground lines that easily connected us to everything else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean,convenient but....

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Clean room , tiny but very convenient to paddington station . Late check in so not sure wether I would actually want breakfast in the morning .didnt sleep well as my room was directly above the reception door and opposite the elevator . Decided in the morning that I would have breakfast but was refused as I hadn't pre booked it the previous evening so had to go and look for a cafe at 7.30 am . Was told I could have it the following morning but not much good as I would not be there !!! Seems it was too much trouble to brew a coffee and toast a slice of bread for 1 extra person !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2015
Great hotel, convienient location only 5 mins walk from Paddington Station. We've stayed several times and always had a great experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Randi P S from oslo

Flott opphold i London

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Med sønn på 11 for å se fotballkamp og shoppe. Rommet var (selvsagt - dette er London) ganske lite, og det gikk noen trappetrinn ned til rommet som nok kan være et problem. Pent og rent, hyggelig folk i resepsjonen og rolig nabolag. Alt i alt flott tur! (Arsenal vant 4-1)