Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

An oasis of tradition, friendliness and comfort

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Unbeatable rooms, delicious food, easy walks to practically everything, hotel staff professionalism of the highest order.
The gracious staff, well-appointed rooms, and overall spirit of this beautiful hotel offer luxury and the feeling of having a home in the city, year after year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

A fabulous play to stay while in London

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Absolutely central to museums, great dining and shopping.
Simply the best of English hospitality. Great location and staff. My favorite place in to stay while in the UK.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Nice hotel in a great location. I would for sure stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire


Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Very friendly, fabulous location, personal service.
Cons: Dining room for breakfast seems to being used more and more for business breakfast meetings which is not so great.
Nice Rooms, Excellent service, Friendly hotel,Great spot, Hidden Gem!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel located perfectly for sightseeing .

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Everything. Location, rooms, cleanliness and a fabulous staff.
Was there with my 2 teenage grandsons and the location was perfect for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Old world English charm

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Lovely ambience combine with modern comforts. Wonderful beds and pillows. Very accommodating hotel staff. Good value for money in this area of London.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Best asset: Location; worst feature: the room

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Its location. Pleasant staff who addressed guests by name. A cozy bar, also with outdoor seating. The bathroom with ample surface to put things.
Cons: The hot water supply, obviously, Less clutter; more drawer space so that guests don't have to live out of their suitcases.
Location: Great shopping, restaurants, theatre and Chinatown, the Green Park Tube stop and the many buses along Piccadilly are all close by.
If a hotel can't deliver hot water to its bathrooms, there's not much that can redeem it. The Stafford could not. On my first night, I tried the shower late at night. When it had been turned on at full power for more than 15 minutes and the water still was barely tepid. The night clerk came up, acknowledged that was what flowing was not hot. He then turned on the hot water faucets (it's old-fashioned enough to have separate hot and cold taps) in both bathtub and wash basin at full flood. After a few minutes, water from all three sources--shower, tub and basin--was indeed hot. But who knew you had to resort to such drastic, water-wasting methods to get a hot shower? He said he would inform plumbing in the morning. If he did, it had little effect. For the next two nights, the shower stubbornly stayed tepid. Ah, but now I knew the secret: turn on all hot water sources full-bore. But it's far from what you expect at the Stafford's prices--or even from a hotel at a quarter the price. The room I had, the hotel's most basic, was tiny, with little room to maneuver around the king bed--none on one side when the wardrobe doors were open. Drawer space for clothing was sparse. Almost every surface except the bedside tables was occupied: a coffee maker, a kettle, a $55 half-bottle of wine, glasses, cups and saucers, mini-bar price list, room service menu, the usual array of glossy but substance-less magazines. The effect: clutter everywhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Fantastic service, great location, very comfortable rooms, charming building, terrific breakfast -- would definitely stay here again. I can't think of anything to improve it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wasgington dc

The Stafford London

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Amazing indeed ... wonderful accommodations, very well organized staff, fantastic food and service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Nice Hotel in the middle of everything

Posted Aug 20, 2016
i stayed at the Stafford for a week and it was really nice except that the room is kind of small