Ratings based on 7,793 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Located in Covent Garden, close to all theatres

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: The door slamming.
Location: Theatres, restaurants/
Nice location, within walking distance to all theatres, restaurants and buses. Taxi's very handy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Tiny room. Television did not work

Posted May 21, 2017
Offensive that room was ready at noon but asked for 20 pounds to check in early Television did not consistently work Room was very tiny Soap and body wash too small
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great location but teensy rooms.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, free wifi
Cons: Lighting and towel racks near the sink and shower in the bathroom.
Location: Covent Garden, Somerset House, theater, Underground, restaurants, bars, LOTS!
The hotel was very convieniently located, and the staff was great. But a twin bed in a 10x6' room with a window on an artificially lit (24 hours) scaffolded courtyard was too much even for me, and I am not one of those Americans who usually complains about the size of hotel rooms in London and Paris.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

"Right" side of the road

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Phillip (doorman) Steven (concierge)...location and ambience
Cons: nada
Location: If it's worth seeing...you are already close. Just stroll on out
From Phillip's welcome to Steven's help...just a first class experience! What a great location..Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace...Just a pleasant stroll on the streets of London. Extremely quiet..nice to reflect on the days adventures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Perfect Location

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: clean, neat, efficient staff
Cons: breakfast
Location: Covent Garden literally 5 minutes walk Savoy Theatre 2 minutes walk Bond Street 20 minutes
I had booked to see 'Dreamgirls' at the Savoy Theatre which was directly opposite the Strand Palace Hotel, I couldn't have picked a better hotel apart from the Savoy Hotel which was next door to the theatre but much, much more expensive! I had a single room which was small but clean and had everything I needed. Breakfast was OK, it was a buffet, I ate early but it seemed like the food had been out for a while, the bacon was dry and the eggs were just warm. The Strand Palace is in a perfect location for shopping too as it's literally steps to Covent Garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: It was fine
Location: Very close to Covent Garden, Theatres and Trafalgar Square.
It was fine. It's a Hotel in the misled of London and it was fine. I had concerns that there mi8ght be traffic noise, but there wasn't.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel, small old rooms,smack middle of London

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Very central 5 min to Trafalgar, 10 -15 min to Buckingham palace, 20-30 min walk to the British museum.
Cons: Everything needs updating. Small, smelly old rooms.
Location: Very central, everything is walking distance.
Nice hotel, small old rooms,smack middle of London. Rooms are ridiculously small. I am American and could not fit the bed. I never experienced a smaller room. I had more personal space in military. Breakfast was included in my stay and it was phenomenal. The hotel is old and needs updating, but it is smack middle of town and I could walk to anywhere and everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for all the sights

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Very centrally located for everything with buses and taxis on the doorstep. Tastefully decorated.
Location: Ideal for sight seeing and all the theatres. Covent Garden behind the hotel and The Thames in the next road down.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It was a special occasion as it was our 25th wedding anniversary. We had an executive king size room which was very spacious. Tea, coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bathrobes and all the usual things you would expect to find in top hotel. Breakfast was in the executive dining room with an extensive choice of food and choices of a hot cooked breakfast to order. The cheese and ham omelette I had was lovely. The full English was a bit of a hit and miss, with things missing one day and added the next. The lounge bar and gin palace were very comfortable, though pricey. But to be expected for the surroundings you are in. We were very well looked after. As we've never stayed anywhere like this before we were very impressed and would come back again. A weekend we will remember for a long time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Good location

Posted May 16, 2017
Booked in for 3 days/ 2 nights. On arrival the toilet did not flush. Contacted maintenance. They did nothing and on the last day, 2 hours before checkout, maintenance knocks on the door... we spent the 3 days using the lobby bathroom. Will not return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not a palace hotel, but good location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms
Location: Lots
This hotel is misleading as the name and exterior as well as lobby look very nice. The room is a bit shabby but okay. The bathroom needs upgrades. The cleaners are good though. Good for location as walkable to lots of places very central to Londons highlights.