Ratings based on 7,596 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Location and Comfort, both excellent

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location is terrific. Room was very comfortable. I don't spend a lot of time in a hotel when I'm in London, so cleanliness, comfort, location matter
Location: Theatres very convenient, many museums in walking distance, Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, St. Pauls are all nearby, as are bus routes and the Tube
Strand Palace is in a fabulous location, on the Strand, ideal for people interested in going to theatre and museums, especially. You can walk to many theatres, Covent Garden is at your back and the South Bank...National Theatre, Shakespeare's Globe, Tate Modern are across the Waterloo Bridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent Location!!!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast, historic building, comfortable room
Cons: Softer beds, friendlier staff
Location: Best location - walk to the Thames, Trafalgar Square, The British Museum, Covent Gardens right behind hotel, the Tube, many fantastic restaurants etc.
We were in London for only two days so we were only in our room to sleep. Because this historic hotel was so beautifully located right in the hub of everything, we were able to see a lot and mostly by walking. We walked a block or two to the Thames, where we could see major iconic buildings, including the London Eye, Big Ben etc. We walked across the bridge and then down below along the boardwalk, which was great, and then back again by another bridge. We walked to Trafalgar Square and the British Museum from The Strand. Right behind the hotel is a beautiful area called Covent Gardens, with lovely shops and amazing restaurants. Our room at the Strand was small but nicely renovated and well equipped. We had a good sleep and the hotel was quiet. The staff at reception were adequate - not very friendly or helpful. The concierge was helpful, as were the porters. The breakfast was great. They even had gluten-free options - just ask! We had the best time in London and this hotel and its superb location had a lot to do with it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great location, mediocre room

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Great location, convenient breakfast option, free wifi
Cons: Mattress, thin walls
Location: Located in Covent Garden with lots of things to do within walking distance
This hotel is located in the heart of London with easy access to lots of shopping, restaurants and things to do. My biggest complaint is that the room was not great. The walls were so thin I could hear the man snoring in the room next to mine as if he was in the same room as me, and the mattress was very hard and uncomfortable. Being on a business trip in London, the size of the room wasn't important to me, as I wouldn't be spending too much time there, but the comfort of the bed and the noise issues were a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The staff was kind and helpful, the room, tho small, was comfortable and clean and the location can't be beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to attractions tiny rooms.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great location and staff, rooms in this hotel are comically small even by London standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but bad everything else.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
I felt the front desk, concierge, and luggage service was below adequate. They seem either over worked or do not have any interest in their work. My outside view faced another wall. The bathroom was narrow and tight. If I was not 5'3" I would be significantly uncomfortable in the shower stall. Good location, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Other than a smaller room than I was expecting this was great. To be fair it was called a Cosy Single and after finding out I was disappointed with the size the Guest relations Manager contacted me and and offered an upgrade. Really all around good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Norfolk

cosy room cosy stay

Posted Mar 14, 2017
stayed in a cosy double - didn't realise this when we booked! small double room ensuite. We decided to pull out the bed so we could get in it! but the room was quite small so had to be organised. Cleaners good - although hair in shower when arrived - but they cleaned and gave us new towels everyday which we didn't ask for!! they could be more green by only replacing towels when we ask. Doormen good and staff in reception/concierge etc very good and polite. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location. Super friendly staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Always stay here when I am in london. Great prices for the location and cleanliness of the rooms. Breakfast is quite good as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Choose your room wisely

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Close to a lot of things you want to see and do. The rooms are clean and sizable, and the staff are pleasant and helpful
Cons: The things that need improving are outside the scope of the hotel's ability to change things, unless they replaced all the windows in the front.
Location: Covent Garden Trafalgar Square Leicester Square Piccadilly Square St. Paul's Cathedral Tower of London Tower Bridge Transportation
We stayed at the Strand for 7 nights, Mar 3-9. The Strand Palace Hotel is a venerable hotel serving thousands of guests a week in a friendly, competent, and efficient manner. We stayed here about 13 years ago and it was worn out, threadbare and tired. But the hotel went through an extensive rehab in the past few years, and it shows. The lobby and dining options shine as do the staff, and the rooms are in great shape, are adequately sized with fairly modern conveniences. And the location can't be beat, right on the Strand, close to all the things you're looking for in a hotel. All that being said, the rooms along the front of the hotel, along the Strand, are noisy, with revelers, traffic noise and the occasional demonic siren from the police cars that are stationed right down the street. The first night we got there, Friday, the 3rd, the noise was especially harsh until about 4 AM, and I thought if that continued, I'd have to ask for another room, but after that first night, things quieted down, only being woken up once or twice a night. Commuting traffic starts around 7 AM and is steady until about 10 AM. I understand that the hotel releases these less desirable rooms to websites like Expedia because they aren't that pleasant or attractive, and Expedia puts them in packages to sell to thrifty travelers, but it would have been nice to get a full undisturbed night's sleep. So ask for a room in the back, the view from your window might not be that great but it will be quieter.