Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but nice

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Clogged sink but everything else ok, kind staff, breakfast ok... Well situated ....................... ....................... -------------- ---------/-/-/--
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Nice small boutique hotel, friendly staff, clean and good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location!!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Friendly staff, comfortable spacious room very clean, excellent location!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK place, overrated on here!

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location is great and room size was very spacious. I had requested a room with a bath, on arrival I was informed that there are only two and both in the basement, right next to the breakfast room, which was disappointing but I did ask for a bath! There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room but staff were quick to bring me a pot of good tea very quickly. Also they provided iron and board and umbrella on request. The decor is quite dated, but bed was fairly comfortable. Being in the basement my sleep was disturbed by people coming and going from the hotel as it is all boards no carpet. Also the waste pipe runs internally so when the rooms above use the shower or toilet, you can hear the running water, not great really! Finally there is free wifi which is fine for browsing but not strong enough to us a VPN for work or for video. I wouldn't rush back for the £201 paid excluding breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
What a little gem, couldn't find fault with anything! Excellent location for Hyde Park, Oxford Street, West End and much more. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Would most definitely recommend and stay again👍😄
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very comfortable hotel in an excellent location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: This is a reasonably priced, comfortable hotel; it is splendidly located for shopping and sightseeing. The Sumner is a beautifully converted townhouse which has been superbly decorated in a modern style but retains stunning period features. The reception area is tranquil with a good range of books, magazines and newspapers to read. Our room was very spacious and well appointed - we could not have asked for more. Although tea and coffee making facilities are not available in the rooms, drinks are available on request. We asked for this one afternoon of our stay and the receptionist kindly brought us a delightful selection of treats on a well presented tray. Although the breakfast room is quite intimate, it is very modern and bright. The selection for breakfast is absolutely wonderful - there is so much choice. The staff were all extremely friendly and went out of their way to help. We chose this hotel for its location as we stayed in the same area last Christmas. This is just as good as the 'five star luxury hotel' we stayed in then and cost a fraction of the price. We can highly recommend this hotel and will look forward to staying here again in the near future.
Cons: The slightly over powering scent of the room diffuser in the reception area! That's all!
Location: A perfect location - only minutes away from Oxford Street. Great if you like walking as it is so central but also close to Marble Arch tube station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Beautifully peaceful hotel with a great location.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Chose this hotel at random due to its proximity to both Hyde Park and Oxford Street. Staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was great and with only 8 rooms it was peaceful with no rush for you to vacate your table. Minor point. No tea making facilities in the room. The staff were more than happy to being a tray to your room but if you return late at night and fancy a hot drink you feel reluctant to ask for a tray.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, basic hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
I would never describe the summer as a boutique hotel, room very basic and dated, but clean, hotel had little character and felt a little bland and void of personality, staff were friendly, cooked, fresh breakfast wasn't Available until after 7.30, which was too late for me, but basic cereals were available
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki, Finland

Good location, basic room

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
The location is very convenient, just off Oxford St and near some nice bars and restaurants in Marylebone. The room was just like in the photos: small, basic and clean. Hardly any storage apart from a few hangers and not much room to move. Had to store my suitcase on the bed as there was no floor space. The window had a view of the wall of the adjacent building. Shower had good pressure and hot water.