Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Perfect location and a stay which we cannot fault!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location. Quietness. Breakfast. All the staff. Room was spacious, clean and there was attention to small details.
Location: A few blocks away from Victoria coach station & Victoria train station - yet in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Lots of restaurants nearby.
We booked for two nights wanting to be close to Victoria Street station as this was our arrival point. The hotel is situated in a very quiet residential neighbourhood and only a few blocks away from the Victoria coach station and a little further to the Victoria train station. Everything was fabulous - great front desk staff, attentive breakfast staff, our room was quiet, spacious, very clean and had a lovely large modern bathroom. Breakfast was generous; my hubby was introduced to a good old 'full English' and I enjoyed the continental array - you can have both! We really cannot fault anything and were very pleased with our stay. Both nights we ate out on Wilton street which has loads of great restaurants and lots of choice. The Windermere Hotel has been a family run business for about 30 years - they have 19 rooms which are individually decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodley, Reading

A great location and friendly staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: There is always for improvement although nothing specifically stuck out to us.
Location: It is very close to Victoria Station for transport links and within walking distance of many of the London attractions.
We stayed over in London for one night to have a base for activities we had planned over the weekend. The Windermere provided a great location and the facilities and friendly staff made a welcome backdrop to what was a really good weekend watching football and the London Marathon. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable whilst the inclusion of a good English breakfast helped set us on our way on the Sunday and was a real bonus. We would certainly look to stay here again if planning to stay over in London at any time and we are happy to recommend this hotel to other travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel was close to the station it was well lite at night staff was friendly and courtesy breakfast was delicious I would say for couples it was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Emily Hambi, Co-Owner, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windermere, London. We are very pleased to read your great review. We hope to welcome you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Excellent location, and very good value.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The rooms and location
Location: Within 10 minutes of Victoria Station in a quiet neighbourhood, walking distance to many sights.......
I really enjoyed my stay at The Windermere- the rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfasts excellent, and most of all the location was very good......highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Emily Hambi, Co-Owner, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Hi Ruth It is such a pleasure to read your excellent review. We are so pleased you loved your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017
I stayed for a couple of nights with my 10yo daughter and she loved the place. Excellent hotel, neat condition, wonderful rooms, very welcoming and friendly staff, and fantastic breakfast. It is just 4 blocks away from Victoria Coach Station. Area is very safe at any hour. You can walk everywhere from there. Taxis are just 8 GBP to Westminster Cathedral if walking is not your thing. The brasserie is also a great dinner option. 100% note.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Emily Hambi, Co-Owner, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are so happy you and your daughter enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Clean hotel, very gracious hosts, all our needs we

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Gracious hosts, close walk to meet our needs, close to Victoria Station and bus stop, room was very clean (daily housekeeping.
Location: Close for pubs and restaurants, walking distance to Victoria Station and bus stops, tours, etc, .
The Windemere is conveniently located close to Victoria Station and within walking distance to pubs, restaurants. Breakfast (included) is continental or ordering eggs, sausage, etc .Our hosts were a husband, wife, and daughter who were very amiable and helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. Rooms are clean (housekeeping daily) and functional for your stay as you are not there to spend time in the room. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay with very gracious hosts who went out of their way to meet our every need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Emily Hambi, Co-Owner, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Dear John, it was a pleasure meeting you. Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you will return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island, USA

Great hotel in close proximity to Victoria Station

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Very accommodating and helpful staff, great breakfast and within walking distance to Victoria Station. Definite focus on customer service.
Cons: Most smaller boutique hotels have small rooms and if you think that could be an issue for you, I'd suggest calling ahead to discuss the room options.
Location: The London Tube is a great way to travel and the proximity to Victoria Station is a big plus.
We stayed at the Windermere during our 10 day visit to London. Our room was small but fine for two people. It was very tastefully appointed with a modern updated bath. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens and towels were very good quality. The hotel is located in a good neighborhood and is a 5-10 minute walk to Victoria Station. The complimentary breakfast included a nice assortment of hot and cold choices, was very tasty and the service was excellent. The owners go above and beyond to assist in making your vacation a memorable one. ALL staff members are extremely helpful and very pleasant. Everyone working at the front desk will gladly assist you with directions, reservations and travel plans. We have traveled to many European countries and find that small boutique hotels such as the Windermere focus on providing 5 star customer service. Admittedly, most also have small rooms and baths. We spend very little time in the hotel so room size is not that important to us but service, cleanliness and location are. We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, warm, and wonderful staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017
It was my first time in London. The Windermere Hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel very conveniently located to all the great sights in London. Food is great, staff is excellent, and their bed was one of the most comfortable beds id ever slept in. I will be back and hope to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Emily Hambi, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for this excellent review! Despite posting this as anonymous, I believe I know who you are. It was a pleasure meeting you, and we hope to welcome you back for another great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice bed and breakfast hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: simple and clean rooms. Nice breakfast.
Stayed in this hotel on our last night in UK. Arrived early from an early flight. They held our bags as we spent the day around London until our room was ready. Simple and clean rooms. In a quieter area of London but we walked and were able to find food and explore London efficiently. Breakfast was included. Would recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Emily Hambi, Co-Owner, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your "short but sweet" stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Small but cozy and easy access to public transit

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is definitely a bonus and highlight.
Cons: A bit tight in the bathroom, but acceptable for us.
Location: Convenient location about 5 minutes walk from Victoria underground and train station, and 3-4 minutes from the coach bus station.
Hot and rich breakfast served by friendly staff in a bright and cozy setting. It will last you well beyond lunch hour if you take full advantage of the varieties of food offered. Our room is on the top floor and has two huge windows on the corner of the streets. If you wake up early in the morning, and if the sky is clear, you will be able to view sunrise against roofs and chimneys. Linens and towels are clean and fresh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Emily Hambi, The Windermere, Hotel Management
Thank you Shirley for your wonderful review. We are very happy to read your comments. We hope to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay.