Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to Hyde Park

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Staff were very helpful & pleasant.
Cons: Booked a twin share room and got a double room first night. Not impressed as we booked at least 2 months in advance. They did fix it the next day.
Location: A bit out of the way. Near the tube & within walking distance of a few eateries but mainly in a residential area.
Wouldn't stay there again as it was not really within walking distance of local attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent London stay, and taking the time to review our hotel. I am truly sorry that you experienced issues on the first day of your stay with us; unfortunately due to unavoidable circumstances we were unable to offer you a double room as booked, something we would never intentionally do. I am glad that our team were able to rectify the matter the second day but, nevertheless, I am sorry for this inconvenience. I am glad that you found our staff amenable and pleasant; we are very lucky with our dedicated team who will always do whatever they can to help our guests, and I will take pleasure in passing on to them your kind feedback. It was disappointing to hear that you were not fully satisfied with our location, especially as this is considered a key attraction for many of our other guests and reviewers. I hope that you were able to enjoy the beauty and calm of Hyde Park, as well as the eclectic tastes of nearby Notting Hill as they are both really worth visiting. I do hope that you will come back to try us in the future; I know the team will be waiting to welcome you back on the next visit and shall make sure you have an even better experience. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

“Wonderful stay despite no A/C”

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Loved the decor; the staff were nice. Location was the best part. Not too far from tubes and restaurants, and across from Hyde Park.
Cons: HVAC system. In the summertime you need some sort of working cooling system. No A/C in summer sucks.
Location: Next to Hyde Park; close to Tubes and restaurants; beautiful location
Stayed here for a few nights recently and it was wonderful. Not far from the tube, and restaurants, and it's across from Hyde Park, great location, and the price was within my modest budget. The hotel itself was beautiful. Yes there were some issues, but it is an old building, so I chalked that up to longevity. The staff were nice and helpful, and the rooms were larger than the normal London rooms I'm used to, a plus. The only issue I had was there was no A/C. In the middle of July, and a rare heat wave in London, A/C would have been nice. The hotel did provide a fan, but that only helped so much. Other than that, my stay was comfortable. Recommend if you in town for a couple of night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by CRasmussen, Hotel Management
Dear KCC, Thank you first and foremost for choosing our hotel for your London getaway, and also for taking the time to share your feedback with the online community. I was absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Thistle Hyde Park. Being a period property we are lucky to have rooms larger than the London average, great for a longer break and a few trips to the West End shopping! During your stay we did face issues with our air cooling system, a result of the above-average summer temperature. I am glad that our team attempted to resolve the matter but must apologise profusely for the inconvenience that was caused. Please rest assured that we are undertaking all the necessary restorative actions to ensure that this is not repeated moving forward. I really hope that we will be getting the chance to welcome you back in the near future - we look forward to seeing you soon! Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with excellent location

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Only had a few days in London and this hotel offered very comfortable facilities and central to places of interest. We were able to walk through beautiful parklands all the way into the city centre. Walking distance to a wide range of restaurants and shops. Very pleasing start to our holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to hear that we helped get your holiday off to a great start. We are proud of our service, and very lucky to be located in such a prime position so close to the heart of the city yet away from the hustle and bustle. I will be passing on your kind feedback to our team, whom I know will be very proud and thankful for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Kind Regards, Clare
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as booked

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Booked and confirmed through Hotels.com but Hotel had no record of booking on arrival. Reception staff helpful but could only offer twin room rather than booked double. Air con not working, window blacked out ..no view and limited ventilation. Not ideal, disappointed.
4 out of 5
by Paula from Eskilstuna

Centralt och fräscht hotell!

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Tyvärr endast Queen size bed, som vi tycker är lite för trångt. Annars var vårt rum luftigt och stort badrum. Däremot var kuddarna långt ifrån tillfredsställande, alldeles för hårda för min smak, även om extrakuddarna i skåpet var lite bättre än de som låg i sängen. Personalen i receptionen var lite trulig och tystlåten. TV:n satt lite avigt till i förhållande till sängen. 4 stjärnor i England är vad som krävs för att få acceptabel standard och man hade säkert gjort vad man kunnat för att underhålla rummen, men det var sprickor i fogarna mellan marmorplattorna i badrummet och den enda fåtöljen i rummet var nersutten och skulle behöva stoppas om. Men dessa detaljer kunde vi överse med eftersom helheten kändes bra och rummet var välstädat och fräscht!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Clare, Hotel Management
Dear Paula, Thank you, for choosing our hotel and taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at Thistle Hyde Park. Being a period property we do have our challenges in the rooms, with their layout and the traditional style of bathroom, but I am grateful that overall you were happy with the hotel. Please rest assured that I have taken your comments regarding the reception staff into consideration; our staff are well known for their friendly nature, but given your experiences I shall ensure that further emphasis will be put into team engagement with our customers. Thank you again for choosing our hotel - we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Clare
5 out of 5
by Norman A. from San Francisco

Hyde Park Beauty

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
We loved taking the bus each morning to Piccadilly Circus. It was a beautiful ride. We managed to get half price tickets to two shows (one each night) at Leicester Square, and then use the rest of the day for museums and shopping. We had booked a double room but the bed was tiny so we asked for (and received) an upgrade to a lovely junior suite with a queen sized very comfy bed and a separate sitting area. Electric kettle of course with good selection of tea and coffee.
3 out of 5
by Fredrik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine Hotel for a Short Business Stay

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: When I had issues, the staff went above and beyond to help me (aka when the safe broke on a Sunday when no Engineers were on duty).
Cons: It could use some investment to upgrade linens and amenities.
Location: Hyde Park, Nob Hill, Kensington Palace, not far from Museums on the other side of the park.
The place is an old building across from Hyde Park. It's charming enough, but is a little run down. There were small holes in my bed sheets, the safe in my room broke and locked my purse in it, and the elevator didn't quite work when I was trying to catch one going down. The staff were very friendly and overall the hotel was fine, and actually the room was comfortable and spacious for being a reasonable price in London. The location is great, and I really enjoyed being across the street from such a nice park. If you are looking for a reasonable price in a good neighborhood and have a short stay, this place will be fine. Room service is very limited, so don't count on that. The best part of the hotel was the staff - they were great, especially when I had some issues with the safe. Really appreciated their support, and they went above and beyond to make things right.
4 out of 5
by mr c q from Newcastle

Difficult to beat at any price

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
A fine place all round. Location great for the West end. Hotel stylish and comfy. Staff really helpful and polite. And a very nice grand piano to play!
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Charlottesville, Virginia

Great choice of hotel stay in London

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleased with the location convenient to tube stations and walk across to Hyde Park.Our room was a very good size and pretty with old world decor including chandeliers and table and chairs.Our room overlooked Hyde Park as we requested with balcony. Although you could not access the balcony it still let in a lot of light.The hotel is very elegant in decor even though shows so age.There was a small fridge and coffee/tea service in the room.The staff was very helpful and attentive.Knowing it was our anniversary trip,we were left a nice greeting card and box of delicious truffles enough for two each day of our stay. We even received an email earlier to say that our room was ready for our arrival. The staff helped with any request...even asking for some packing tape and a bandage. We only had some difficulty with the toilet being slow to flush and housekeeping not replenishing the coffee/tea packets.We would be happy to stay again at the Thistle Hyde Park.