Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Ashley

Adventurous

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing close to everything. I loved it so much!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Absolutely awful. The only upside to this place is the nice pub that acts as it's reception. To begin, it is not in a pleasant area, about an 8 minute walk from the nearest station (which is a DLR) and for two young girls, it definitely wasn't safe. We had planned to stay three nights but after the first night, we left. The one night we were there, the place was swarming with police who were actually arresting someone. As someone with anxiety, this upset me greatly so my friend asked one of the staff what was happening and all they said was 'this doesn't always happen.' (Although we found out that the same thing had happened a week before) And when he heard me say that I didn't want to be there, he said 'leave then, I'm not making you stay.' Well, considering that they wouldn't give us our money back, yeah, we felt forced to stay. I ended up having to shell out £160 to move to a Travelodge and the staff didn't care at all. The room is also very loud and the night we did actually sleep here, we only got an hour sleep and the male we were sharing with had been touching my friend's feet. Although lockers are provided, you have to buy a lock from them for £2.50 if you want to use them. I would NEVER stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Ade, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comment, we do agree that there was an incident in the hostel, we can not stop people booking to stay in our hostel, and we have strict rules to protect all our guests and staff, and if we have any complain, we have direct access to police that helps us resolve any escalated issues. so in that accept, we disagree that its very safe to stay in our hostel. in respect of sharing room, that was the room that you did booked and if there is anything uncomfortable going on in the room, you are more than welcome to come and see us and we will resolve it for you. You did mention that we charge for padlocks, i believe its actually cheap comparing to some hostel. Aslo some guest bring there own padlock from home. We are once again sorry if you feel uncomfortable during Your stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany.

Rude staff. Unattentive and unhelpful.

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Wotif
Staff were unattentive and rude. Yes i understand i am paying 18 pounds for a bed, however i am still a paying customer and don't deserve to be spoken down to. He had his phone on the desk and was flicking through facebook, i asked for towel hire and he said that there wasn't any available. I then enquired about a locker and he asked "is it urgent, we are in the middle of checking out 100 people". His manner was abrupt and rude and there was 2 people in the foyer, another guy and myself. He took my deposit and gave me a locker key, only to proveed back to flicking through his facebook - (the 100 people he was in the middle of checking out). I definately wont stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by ade, Hotel Management
thanks for your review, we will investigate this matter thoroughly. having said that, we are sincerely sorry for any behavior of any staff to you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Far away from city center

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Sharing bedroom with someone sleeping early can be a terrible experience and the security of the hostel should be improved
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by ade, Hotel Management
thanks for your review, we believe we have good security, we have 24 hrs security, and we also have electronic on all our doors to rooms and hostel, so we think our security is okay, having said that we hope to see you next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Far location from city centre

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Good for cost saver Clean bathroom This Is all I would like to say please let me submit my review
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good ad'Venture' Hostel.

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Good location with transport links into central London. Nice, relaxed setting. The breakfast was adequate and included in the price. Satisfied customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hostel, the food is expensive

Posted Jan 14, 2017
I enjoy living in this hostel, the bathrooms are modern and clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not convenient, i wouldn´t recommend it

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Is far away from London, so that means that you´ll spend quite some time and money going back and forth,. The neighborhood is not nice, actually is kind of creepy, and it doesn´t look very safe. The bar downstairs looks really nice. Part of the staff is really friendly and helpful but there is one guy who is actually rude and SO loud. The kitchen/common room was a former bedroom with tables, chairs and a microwave, that´s all. Not even comfortable to chill out. There were 4 toilettes on 2nd floor and 4 showers on the 1st, FOR THE ENTIRE HOSTEL. I do not recommend it, specially because you can find better hostels near the city (which means less money & time spent on transportation) for the same money or even cheaper!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite noisy late at night and early in morning

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't get much sleep as lots of people and bed wasn't that comfy. Also an electric handdryer that was very noisy in the communal bathrooms next to my room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient location close to services

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Close to services, friendly staff, social guests, chill out spaces, Wifi with great coverage in all rooms
Cons: The motion sensors for energy conservation where a bit overzealous. More than once sat in dark toilet. Stairs are a little narrow, tricky with cases.
Location: DLR station allows you to cross the river into Bank station Central London cheaply or change lines to get to Tower Bridge. Plenty of buses and shops.
A hostel above a pub might sound like chaos but Venture was a hostel first. The Pub winds down at time guests would head to bed and you don't hear it upstairs. Complimentary breakfast everyday in a hostel is unheard of and yet 7:30 to 9:00 each day there it is; cereals, toast, spreads and yoghurt even on weekends! Really convenient before you zip off for the day. Having the Royal Standard downstairs means access to fresh coffee relatively cheap (discount for guests), beverages like the three ciders and many lagers as well as a range of meals rather than preparing food yourself. Straight off the Deptford highstreet, there's supermarkets and convenience stores a well as takeaways. Docklands Light Railway station 2 streets away takes you to Bank in half an hour or Lewisham shopping centre in 5 minutes. Rooms are large with a locker available to each guest free of charge if you BYO lock otherwise pay to borrow. Laundry is the only challenge as access available for a few hours in morning. Comfy bed, clean linen and toilet and showers close but not on top or in rooms maintains comfort. A very pleasant hostel otherwise I wouldn't have stayed a fortnight.