Ratings based on 674 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, England

Bargain room close to city centre

Posted Feb 10, 2017
This twin bedded room (actually, it had three single beds) with breakfast included was perfect for me and my son. We needed a budget-priced room for a one night stay. It was clean and had the basic facilities that we needed. Breakfast was serve-yourself toast and/or cereal with unlimited drinks...perfect for us, on a time limit in the morning. We didn't want anything too posh! Slight negatives were: the room was far too hot even though the radiator was turned off; the ensuite toilet/shower room was very small and pokey; we couldn't use the hair dryer because it smelled of burning; and there was only one teaspoon provided for making a drink in your room. But, as I said, it was perfect for us on a budget and for just a one night stay. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rural Portugal

Hotel in the middle of London

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The staff
Location: It 's in the middle of London. The Tube ride from the airport is an hour or more.
I only stayed overnight. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to be helpful. The room was clean and basic, which is what I wanted
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The staff very friendly
Cons: The beds very uncomfortable The room cleaning can be improved
Was not good. The beds in the room very uncomfortable, no air-condtioning, no microwave in the whole hotel. Room not properly cleaned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: nothing
hotel forgot to give me early morning call Shower had no cold water just boiling hot water and there were bed bugs in my sons bed totally disgusting place to stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Location....walking distance to many of London's well known attractions including Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. We even bumped into the former Prime Minister, David Cameron while walking in the neighbourhood.
Cons: Cramped and a quite run down however, who hangs around the hotel when in London?
Location: Already expressed....please see above
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Broken Arrow, OK

Not much, but charming.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Great location in a charming building.
Cons: Laundry going all night and sometimes it was hard to pass people in the hall.
Location: There are lots of food things near it and a Tube station is very close.
If you're looking for the Ritz, this is not it. It's not fancy or elegant. But it is quaint and charming. The room is small because it's in an old building, but for us, that was fine. We needed a place to sleep and a shower and that was it. And this was just right for that. The floorboards creaked as you would expect in an older place, there was one elevator that was tiny, like everything else. Being where we were, we could hear laundry being done all night. But it was in a great location, just a few blocks away from a Tube station, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, and it was nice. The water got hot for showers, and the beds were surprisingly comfy. Just be sure to take your own washcloth or scrubby thing. They provide two towels and a bathmat, but no washcloth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great location

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Lovely location next to really nice garden square. Booked as Secret Saver Mystery hotel so didn't have access to any reviews when booking until paid. Once I'd paid and saw reviews was extremely apprehensive! But....got there and reception area was lovely, had a working lift, we had triple room which was plenty big enough. Clean sheets, bathroom and toilet clean. Beds were a bit 'dippy' and the one pillow given was flat. Unusual bathroom with double doors and no lock. Breakfast is self service toast, two cereals and orange juice. All in all I didn't have any major problems, we were happy knowing it was 2.5 star and £58 for a triple room in central London! You only need a clean room for sleeping in...can,t moan too much. The only major pick is that there was no fan...really, really hot in room at night, had to sleep with curtains open next to window open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The staff
Location: 5-7 min walks to a nice shopping and restaurants area, 1 min walk to a small park
The hotel is near shopping and restaurant area, but it needs maintenance, the elevator is not working had to carry the luggage all the way to the third flower. Internet services stopped working once. You can hear the TV sound from the neighboring rooms easily and that is annoying The ceiling is made of wood so anyone in the above room walking you can hear the noise of their movement The breakfast room is very small and get crowded easily, they don't offer much coffee, tea, juice, toast and jam.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This was the worst hotel we ever stayed in. Every bad review you read is true. totally run down, torn up carpet, small rooms, horrible breakfast. stay clear of this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice hotel but could do with an upgrade

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location, room comfort
Cons: Facilities and staff attitude
Given what we paid to stay at this hotel it was surprisingly good. Room was comfortable and had all the basic facilities that a person wants for a hotel. The hotel could however do with an upgrade so that the facilities are more modern. Breakfast was very disappointing - we got given a bag full of food we didn't even really want to eat so we just stopped collecting breakfast in the morning. The hotel staff were mostly friendly, however, sometimes certain staff were not very pleasant to deal with and were unorganised. The hotel is in a convenient location.